Honda Jazz Reviews from Australia and New Zealand - Page 2 of 4

2005 Honda Jazz 1.5

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.5 Automatic
Previous carVolkswagen Golf

Summary:

Everyone should own one! That said, I am worried about the CVT though

Faults:

Gearbox shudders at take off and coming to a halt.

General Comments:

Fantastic design, can fit anything in it, yet it's so compact.

Back sets are magic also; they fold away to nothing, giving a very spacious boot.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th February, 2008

5th Mar 2008, 13:44

Seems the Jazz is not as prefect as people make out, I have a 2004 CVT SE that sounds like a small diesel when cold its done just 25000 miles. The engine gets quieter when warmed up, but sounds quite disturbing when cold. Honda are trying to hold the problem at arms length at the moment!

5th Apr 2008, 20:59

CVT shudder on takeoff is normal. it seems to take a second to realise you want to move off. The next MY09 Jazz is rumoured to have either a torque converter on the CVT (missing on this model) or a conventional 5-speed automatic. I guess it depends on which specification will be sold in your home market.

Just change the CVT fluid every couple of years, that's all you can do to mitigate the risk.

2007 Honda Jazz VTi 1.5 vtec

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.5 vtec Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance9000 kilometres
Previous carHonda Prelude

Summary:

An honest and reliable vehicle that will be around for a while. It will never be sporty or luxurious

Faults:

Some creaks and a rattling noise have developed inside the dash not long after taking delivery of the car. It gets worse on warmer days.

Electric air con could be cooler.

General Comments:

Think of Jazz as a scaled down van and you will not be disappointed. It's spacious and frugal.

The primitive rear suspension layout and rock hard setting compromise both comfort and handling.

The EPS (electronic power steering) feels lifeless.

The relatively tall seating position allow you to get in and out of the car with ease. While the oversized controls on dash are cartoonish, they are easy to use.

It is probably the better representation of small vehicles. But design compromises mean it is not as refined or evolved as vehicles in a bigger class.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th December, 2007

30th Apr 2008, 08:35

For a basic model Honda the Jazz is very good. The car is economical to buy and to run. The car is also roomy when the seats are folded down. Good torque for a small car. My biggest issues with the new car were the noises it made 3 months after purchasing. My mechanics needed to re-tighten the engine mount screws, the screws fixating the license plate and something to do with the brakes.

For a brand new car one does not expect such noises. It took 6 months for my mechanic to even take any notice of my concerns. So if you have noises coming from your Jazz, make sure your mechanic checks everything before the warranty runs out.

2006 Honda Jazz Sport 1.5 Vetec

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.5 Vetec Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired20 kilometres
Most recent distance8500 kilometres
Previous carHonda Jazz

Summary:

Great fun

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

I bought a new Honda Jazz Sport because I had so much fun in my 2003 1350cc model.

Unfortunately the Sport only comes in CVT auto, but it does have a manual mode in both Sport and Drive.

I have used this occasionally, but it is unnecessarily complicated and a manual would be much better.

However it goes extremely well (25% more power than the 1350 model) and on a recent trip with 3 adults in the car I had no complaints about the performance, particularly if I used the "Sport" mode"

Car came with very dull mag wheels which were changed for 17" 8 spoke wheels with low profile tyres. Ride is affected a little, but not unpleasant. Steering is much better on the new model and feels much more precise.

Economy is not as good, best I have had is 40mpg whereas the old one did 48/50mpg on a run.

I think the 1350 manual is a better balanced car, but I would miss the extra performance of the Vetec 1500.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st March, 2007

2006 Honda Jazz VTI-S 1.5

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.5 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.7 / 10
Distance when acquired19 kilometres
Most recent distance100 kilometres
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

Fantastic little package - best in its class that looked at by some margin

Faults:

Nothing - but only had it one day!

General Comments:

Great little car - exactly what I was hoping it would be.

Roomy inside, albeit with a bit of a shortage of storage space for CDs etc - which is fair enough given it is so small!

Great quality finishing throughout.

One of the first things I noticed is how quiet it is in the cabin, even doing 100kph on the freeway - amazing. Don't have to have the stereo cranked up to max to drown out the world outside, unlike my previous car (Toyota Corolla).

Fuel consumption is showing 7.4 L/100kms, but I expect this to improve as it gets driven and worn in over the next few hundred Kms.

The dealer included seat covers which I wasn't expecting - pleased with that - though they are a rather shocking pale blue, which is not a choice I'd have made. Still, with kids it is a useful add-on and free, so can't complain too much.

Seats are little on the firm side, but again it may soften up a bit with time.

Handling is good - tight and responsive with a pleasant "nippiness" about it. I am used to bigger cars so this is a good change.

I also checked out other possible buys, such as the VW Polo (nasty, retro/70's, cheap, plasticy inside - very disappointing!), Toyota Yaris (weird central console for the dials, general cheap feeling about the finishing inside - and absolutely tiny inside, especially in the rear) and am sure that the Jazz was the best of the class by a fair degree.

All in all, I am very pleased with all aspects of it so far.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th August, 2006

5th Feb 2007, 03:54

I have had the same model Jazz for 8 months travelling 15,000km and agree it is a great car. I had a Jazz previously which remained trouble free for 50,000km, this new one (made in Thailand) has had problems with trim and dash rattles from the start. Disappointing in such a well designed and innovative car.

Average review marks: 8.7 / 10, based on 15 reviews