Daewoo Lanos Reviews from Egypt

2001 Daewoo Lanos SE 1.5

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 1.5 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance140000 kilometres
Previous carFiat 128

Summary:

A very good car

Faults:

I have no problems with the car or any bad bad comments, except the air conditioning needs maintenance every month (after nine years), but the car still has high performance, and no negative comments could be reported.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th January, 2011

14th Jan 2011, 09:09

What kind of problem are your facing in AC maintenance? You must have mentioned that as well... in the review!!!

2004 Daewoo Lanos S 1.5

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.5 Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance14100 kilometres
Previous carPeugeot 405

Summary:

Accelerating and Quality must get better

Faults:

A\C didn't work after fixing it 3 times it finally started to work.

Very Poor quality inside some buttons started to break.

General Comments:

REALLY POOR acceleration.

No problems (break-downs) in the motor.

Strong body compared to better cars.

Seats are not comfortable.

Japanese cars would be a better choice.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th March, 2006

24th Jan 2007, 12:38

A very good practical car with powerful engine I have one and it run for 100000 k. m up to date also it has a very fine A/C. Its' stable on high ways within high speed (more than 120 k.m/h)

2nd Aug 2008, 17:14

The problem in daewoo car is the corosion..

20th Jan 2009, 03:22

I like the car, but the A/C is weak, not efficient, especially in high temperatures.

The weak points are the front right and left sides, most of the cars are hit there.

Otherwise it is a good car compared to its price.

20th Aug 2009, 17:02

The problem with this car and anyone that drives them they need to ask one question it is WHY?

2004 Daewoo Lanos SE 1.5

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.5 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance8500 kilometres
Previous carFiat 128

Summary:

A good product destroyed by terrible after sale service

Faults:

The dealer's service is terrible.

When I did the 5000 km service, I complained about something wrong with the gearbox (manual). They told me later the problem is over.

It wasn't over, indeed!

I checked at another service place to discover there is too few oil in the gearbox and the guys told me you're lucky it is not dead.

Something else, when I bought the car, the engine was not working well when the A/C is on. When I did the 1000 km service they told me it will be better, but until now when the A/C is on, I lose much of the engine power.

I tried with the main Daewoo service and another accredited centre to fix it, but in vain!

Finally, I think I was cheated. When I bought the car, the warranty said "3 years or 50,000 kilometers" In 2005, I learned that the three-year warranty covers long-life parts only.

General Comments:

Spacious, comfortable and fast car. The after sale service is too bad.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 2nd September, 2005

3rd Dec 2005, 16:10

I have the same problem with my Chevy s-10, its because the AC takes up so much power to run. With the small engine, a lot of the horsepower is taken away when the AC is on. I asked a couple of people and they say that it is normal for the engine to lose some power when the AC is on.

29th May 2007, 05:18

It's impossible for me to say if there is anything wrong with your AC, but the Lanos has little power especially low end power. I'd guess that when that AC kicks in on full like when it's a hot day and you put it on full, you'll notice it to the point that it may become an irritation.

I rented a Hyundai Atos with that puny 1.0. The fun part was that it actually had an AC, although not a very efficient one. When that thing kicked in, boy, it was like we were hauling a 10ton trailer. The car barely moved especially up hills. We had to turn it off in the mountains unless we would move in first gear all the time. Guess the same happened to you. Small engines and AC doesn't go very well together.

I can notice the AC even in my Buick having the 3800 series engine. But not much though.

19th Sep 2008, 06:13

After reading nearly all the comments on the Lanos I would definitely not buy any Daewoo product. The company would not have gone bankrupt if it were creating a good product. The fact GM bought the product speaks volumes about GM.

1999 Daewoo Lanos SE 1.5i

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.5i Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance31500 kilometres
Previous carVolkswagen Beetle

Summary:

The best value for money you can get with excellent after sale service

Faults:

The fuel pump needed replacement after 13000 kilometers, but it was done under warranty and it coasted me nothing.

General Comments:

The car consumes too much fuel for a car with electronic fuel injection.

The engine is good, but would have been better if it had more valves (12 or 16)

The suspension is comfortable, but it seems soft on fast driving or maybe the standard tires are too small (175/70R13)

The engine is too loud.

The power steering is a bit heavy on low speeds.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st December, 2002

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 4 reviews