Renault Clio Reviews from Greece

2003 Renault Clio Expression 1.4

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired1 kilometres
Most recent distance52000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Starlet

Summary:

Very nice super mini which can easily travel

Faults:

The alarm button was damaged at 32,000 Km. Replaced for 18 Euro.

Ignition cable cut off (probably due too bad tightening of the screw holding it) at 35,000 Km. 25 Euro for replacement.

A/B light was on, due to damaged passenger A/B switch. I had never used that switch actually, and we spent some time in order to locate the problem. In the 3rd visit to Renault they finally found it. 21 Euro for replacement.

General Comments:

I liked very much the car appearance.

Quick and good handling.

Not spacious due to its size (3,77m), but on the other hand very good when parking was the issue.

Economical and in general low running costs.

Decent quality.

Good safety kit (4AB, ABS)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd January, 2008

1993 Renault Clio RT 1.4

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.4 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance105000 kilometres

Summary:

Very good, but automatic transmission should be avoided!

Faults:

Automatic transmission at 80000 km.

Had it repaired for 1500 Euro. Two years and 20500 km later, it failed again. My options:

1. to repair it for second time

2. replace it with a new one at a cost which surpassed the car's value.

I chose a third option, did a little Frankestein job and the mechanic replaced the auto transmission with a Megane manual one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 4th October, 2005

2004 Renault Clio 1.2 76hp

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.2 76hp Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired25 kilometres
Most recent distance1150 kilometres

Summary:

A smiling happily car!!!

Faults:

Sometimes when I am in the prosedure of parking, my steering wheel turns very hard. especialy when needed many movements back and forth.

Sometimes the 5th gear can't be put so easily.

General Comments:

I am very satisfied with my selection!

The perfect mix of economy on fuel and acceleration!

And despite its small size, the inner spaces, I think, are OK!

Smilingboygr From Athens, Greece!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th February, 2005

2001 Renault Clio Dynamique 1.2 16v

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.2 16v Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance32000 kilometres

Summary:

A good car for a fair price

Faults:

The car gave me no real trouble so far.

The only real problem was that 2 of the electric windows mechanisms broke, but they were replaced by the dealer for free (as part of the guarantee).

General Comments:

The car has prooven extremely stable on the road and driving it surely is a pleasure.

The 76hp, 1200cc strong engine is reasonably powerful and gives a somewhat sporty attitude to the car when pushed above 3.500rpm, although I feel like I should have opted for the 98hp, 1400cc engine.

Gas cunsumption is also low (6.4liters / 100Km), concerning the bad roads I am using (lots of mountain tracks with slopes and curves).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th June, 2003

1992 Renault Clio Baccara 1.4

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 kilometres
Most recent distance120000 kilometres

Summary:

Luxurious and Very Comfortable

Faults:

I am owner of this car for a year and nothing really gone wrong. Probably the ex-owner make good work with services.

General Comments:

In this car I love to drive, especially in a road full of turns. The brakes are marvelous.

The specific model has full of extra equipment, such as leather, automatic gear, air condition, wood in tableau and rim (disk wheel) from aluminium. A little Rolls Roys.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th November, 2002

2000 Renault Clio 172 Sport 2.0 16v

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 16v Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance7692 kilometres
Previous carPeugeot 106 Rallye

Summary:

Ultra quick

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Superb performance and ride.

Well built.

Lacks some feeling on the steering wheel (well, compared to my previous car). Also the ABS comes in a bit early, but otherwise the brakes are fantastic.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th December, 2000

19th Jan 2001, 15:03

I agree with comments already said, a car with this performance has no right returning a fuel consumption of 47.5 mpg over a distance of 150 miles on rural B and A roads. It is bliss to deal with hotshots who take this car for granted especially White Van jockeys!!!

15th Feb 2001, 17:04

I have a W reg Clio 172 and the whole lefthand side of my engine is being replaced, but yes I agree, very fast.

1994 Renault Clio Be Bop 1.2 8V petrol

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.2 8V petrol Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired10000 kilometres
Most recent distance105000 kilometres

Summary:

When the going gets tough, the Clio gets going

Faults:

Once a pipe of the radiator was destroyed. Nothing more than that...

General Comments:

It is unbelievable how a small and slow car like this is still running like a new one after a very rough life. The best thing with Clio is compatibility, You can buy the simplest version and make it the best.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th July, 2000

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 7 reviews