Ford Fairmont Reviews from North America - Page 4 of 4

1979 Ford Fairmont Futura 3.3 Inline 6

Year of manufacture1979
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.3 Inline 6 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Most recent distance70000 miles

Summary:

Good first car

Faults:

The valve cover gasket needed to be replaced.

The rear end gasket was replaced.

Paint is getting worn.

General Comments:

This was my first car during high school and it worked very well. Was reliable, got decent gas mileage, and could get me from point a to b. Not very fast, but this car is heavy. Good cruiser. Good in snow.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th December, 2002

1980 Ford Fairmont 4 door sedan 200 inline 6 cylinder

Year of manufacture1980
First year of ownership1988
Most recent year of ownership1992
Engine and transmission 200 inline 6 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired116000 miles
Most recent distance159000 miles

Summary:

I still miss it and I wish I would have taken better care of it so I could keep it forever

Faults:

Lost oil pressure at 159000 miles.

General Comments:

A very tough car my dad gave me when I turned 16. He was a good owner, but I beat it to death. When it lost oil pressure, I got another cheap car and sold it to a junkyard because the interior and body were trashed, the air conditioner did not work, and I felt that it was not worth fixing.

It was an excellent car to have because it was reliable, rear wheel drive, and I always enjoyed driving it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th December, 2002

1981 Ford Fairmont 200ci in-line 6 cylinder.

Year of manufacture1981
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership1999
Engine and transmission 200ci in-line 6 cylinder. Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired97000 miles
Most recent distance120000 miles
Previous carDodge Ramcharger

Summary:

Best $250 I ever spent

Faults:

Nothing short of routine oil changes and brake replacement.

General Comments:

Worst looking car I've ever had. Lots of rust, and had previously been wrecked. However, it ran perfectly, even the air conditioning worked.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 26th October, 2002

27th Nov 2004, 01:17

I am 16 years old and have the same car. It takes me everywhere even through fields of mud I discoverd. It is the ugliest car ever, but the nicest runing engine I believe Ford has ever made.

~Peter~

7th Mar 2005, 13:34

My 16 year old son bought a 1981 Ford Fairmont for $300.00. and then later just gave it to me when my Chevy Van broke down. It has a good body with very little rust, though, there are a few places. The paint has faded and now the red is two toned. I would like to find someone to paint it. I did have to replace the fuel pump and a starter, and also the oil gasket seal. though I have put about $500.00 (That includes the towing fees) I think it was worth it. The old car runs great. Now my son wishes he hadn't given it up!

I once had a 1978 Ford Fairmont Futura when I was a kid and that car also ran great. Just wish I had some information on where I could get interior parts and other things to fix the one I have now up. If anyone has any ideas write me at ladyjane58@mchsi.com. Thanks. JJ.

1978 Ford Fairmont Station Wagon 200 c. i.

Year of manufacture1978
First year of ownership1985
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 200 c. i. Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired23000 miles
Most recent distance99500 miles
Previous carFord F100

Summary:

A bargain, I mean, $750 of initial investment and I still drive it 17 years later?

Faults:

Transmission went out at 80,000 miles, but that was when the car was about 15 years old, not a big deal.

2 water pumps on it over the years.

Alternator went out at 85,000 miles.

Brakes last about 5 years or so.

(The parts guys cringe when I buy the stuff with the lifetime warranty.)

New carburetor at about 90,000 miles.

General Comments:

I bought the car at auction for $750.

That was 17 years ago and it still gets me back and forth to work daily for pennies. Not the prettiest, or fastest, or best handling. But I'll hang onto it till it squats down and refuses to move for the final time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st August, 2002

27th May 2007, 11:26

I've also replaced the water pump, and alternator in mine so reading this was great.

I bought mine in 1996 and still have it today. Great car.

1978 Ford Fairmont 2 door sedan 3.3 inline six

Year of manufacture1978
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.3 inline six Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired71000 miles
Most recent distance95000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Monte Carlo

Summary:

Reliable!!!

Faults:

I broke a brake line once in a panic stop. Cost me $16.53 to fix myself (easy).

That's about it..

General Comments:

This car is great, it isn't fast, but it is so reliable!

I change the oil on time every time.

The in-line six is torquey and very smooth. The car drives and rides like new, not only like when it was new, but even compared to new cars I have driven! It even handles well!

This car was WAY ahead of its time!

Well not the engine... but that is why it is so reliable-it is simple!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th June, 2002

1980 Ford Fairmont SVT 3.3 inline 6

Year of manufacture1980
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.3 inline 6 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance0 kilometres
Previous carFord Marquis

Summary:

An extremely indestructible car

Faults:

The first day we had it, the brakes failed.

General Comments:

This car, other than the brakes failing, is absolutely indestructible. We have hit a lot of trees and rocks with the car. The engine has taken a beating, and still runs. The transmission has constantly been shifted into reverse to stop the car, and still works just fine.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th July, 2001

26th Jan 2004, 11:59

Apparently you never fixed the brakes, which is why you were hitting a lot of trees and rocks?

What is the SVT model, never heard of that designation associated with the Fairmont.

12th Nov 2005, 15:55

Could it be an acronym for Should Void Trees?

1992 Ford Fairmont Futura 2 Door Sport Coupe 5.0, V8

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 5.0, V8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired34000 miles
Most recent distance97000 miles
Previous carChrysler Laser

Summary:

A big boat with big performance

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

2 Door Sport Coupe, very fast 5 star white alloy rims. Blue with white GTS racing stripes.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th October, 2000

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 15 reviews