1989 Ford Fiesta L 1.3 carbed

Summary:

I want a new one

Faults:

Clutch.

Half shafts.

Front and rear brakes.

Rear wheel bearings.

Tires.

Timing belt.

Water pump.

Alternator.

General Comments:

Bought the Fester in 2005 for $200, at 182,000 miles. Now at 287,000 miles. Still getting good mileage. Total investment less than $1500 plus routine maintenance. Not shabby for a vehicle Ford considered a five year throwaway model.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th July, 2010

15th Jul 2010, 18:30

Fiesta 1300 engines don't have timing belts.

1993 Ford Fiesta GL

Summary:

Wonderful cars, if taken care of

Faults:

Oh. My. God. First off, she would shake when you made slight left turns... I knew I needed to replace the ball joints, but I didn't know how soon until the whole wheel unit fell off while I was driving this car. I got that fixed, and then the clutch went. And once that was fixed, buddy called me up like "The clutch is fixed, but you need a new transmission." So I replaced that. So here we go: new everything... so I take her on a road trip... get 360 miles away and the wheel feels like it's going to fall off again. I get off the express way and I felt like I had no brakes... luckily they were just really poorly working. I parked in a parts store parking lot and had random guys look at her (thank god I'm a girl and could get guys to help me)... I have NO wheel bearings. None. So we go through about 8 hours trying to get the thing away from the control arm and *damn it all* the wheel bearing needs to be pressed in. Can't do it by hand. I said screw this and left her in Kentucky... took a greyhound home.

General Comments:

I love Festivas. This is the second one I had... my first one was destroyed by some idiot. This one actually had minimal heat! They are a ton of fun to drive, and excellent on gas. After that 360 miles, I still had 1/4 tank of gas! I would recommend this car, but beware. Make sure she was kept up by her previous owner. My first one was wonderful, minimal problems... this one, I took it in for the clutch and buddy said "who worked on this before? it's pretty messed up." So just know what condition the car is in. If she'd good to go, go for it!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 26th February, 2006

1988 Ford Fiesta LE

Faults:

Tonight when I was driving, it was raining really hard. My car died and I tried to start it. It would not even turn over, but the lights inside the car still turned on.

General Comments:

What could be wrong? The battery, the starter?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 22nd August, 2004

24th Aug 2004, 07:14

The problem could be wetness on the distributor and HT leads. I had 2 mk2 fiestas (an '84' and an '87), and I remember those parts were quite exposed on those old fiestas. I had to replace my leads a number of times when they got a drowning.

1980 Ford Fiesta Decor 1.6 modified to XR2 specs

Summary:

The best engineered and most connected

Faults:

Well, since the car was modified (in 1991), the only things that have gone wrong were simple adjustments, which had to be made in order for it to run properly, such as re-jetting the carburetor. The worst thing that ever happened was when I replaced the lower ball joint and didn't seat the locking bolt properly. The joint let go when I was slowly pulling out of a gas station. It was an easy fix, though.

General Comments:

The Mk1 (1978-80) Ford Fiesta is a wonderfully engineered car, which is simple to work on. It has a bullet-proof 4 speed transmission and comes stock with an in-line 4 cylinder, all-iron, Formula Ford (Kent) racing engine. All 78-80 Fiestas have this engine! Once you get past the Fiestas problem areas (brakes and engine cooling), you'll have an indestructible and inexpensive little pocket rocket. There are a few companies which are still dedicated to selling Mk1 Fiesta parts. Parts are inexpensive and most are readily available.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 10th July, 2003

22nd Jul 2004, 22:51

Could you tell me where to find such hi-performance parts thanks.

22nd Jun 2007, 21:05

6/22/07-

1978-1980 Mk1 Fiesta parts are becoming scarce in the USA. There are only a few places to buy new and used parts; B.A.T. (British American Transfer in Sarasota, FL.), Fiesta-Centre.co.uk in the UK, RockAuto.com, and eBay.com. Most performance parts are virtually impossible to find.

THIS JUST IN...

Ford will be reintroducing the Fiesta to the American Market in 2008. While it is nothing like its great grandfather, the Mk1, it is still a great economical rocket of a car.

Dean- US FIESTA ENTHUSIASTS MODERATOR

http://autos.groups.yahoo.com/group/US_Fiesta_Enthusiasts/