Ford Galaxie Reviews from North America - Page 2 of 4

1965 Ford Galaxie 500 289c.i.d.

Year of manufacture1965
Engine and transmission 289c.i.d. Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Previous carDodge Ram

Summary:

My '65 Galaxie does turn a lot of heads

Faults:

The oil pan gaskets leak a little.

The driver's side of the front seat has started to wear badly.

The weatherstripping is old and worn.

General Comments:

The car has an AM radio built in the dash that cannot be replaced. The power and sound this little 289 puts out beats a radio any day!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 22nd April, 2005

23rd Apr 2005, 04:59

A little 289 in a big ol two-ton Galaxie, yet you rate performance a 10/10, hmmmm...

1967 Ford Galaxie 500 390 V8

Model year1967
Year of manufacture1966
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 390 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired78000 miles
Most recent distance85000 miles

Summary:

It's like a boat, only more fun

Faults:

It needed a new convertible top after sitting in storage for 25 years.

The voltage regulator went bad soon after I purchased the car.

One exhaust pipe rusted through.

The original valve cover gaskets rotted.

General Comments:

It handles very solidly at any speed and rides smoothly over bumps and rough roads.

The heater is amazing. It is so strong the car can be comfortable driven the top down even in the winter.

Except for height, this car is as big as most SUV's.

Acceleration is as quick as the nearly two ton curb weight allows for.

Surprising as it may seem, the car takes turns pretty well.

The factory drum brakes are not up to the task of controlling this car.

The engine is simple and easy to service and make repairs on.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th January, 2005

22nd Mar 2005, 12:02

This car is (a 1967 model) was manufactured on 23 June 1966 in Mahwah, NJ.

2nd Oct 2006, 10:30

I just got my '66 galaxie convertible and agree with everything said thus far, especially the braking system. After driving newer cars with power disc brakes, this car could put you in danger if you're not careful. With that said, it is an awesome car, easy to work on, and looks great!

23rd Aug 2009, 13:38

I had a '67 500 two door hardtop that I bought from my dad with 110,000 miles on it. It was a 240 6 cylinder with a three speed auto. It was a great car. The two door body and frame remained tight. The four door hardtop and the two door convertible both seemed to turn into "boats". The 390 that usually came was a dog. I don't know if a higher HP engine was available. My dad had the four door hardtop with a 390 also. I drove it a little. I thought it was a boat.

The two door hardtop was a different story. With the suspension set at the correct height (the Fords would sag, especially after a winter of heavy snow on their hoods), the car responded well on the road. It felt like a much smaller auto. Due to the advertising of the Plymouth GTX and the Hemi engine at the time, the sleeper Ford two door hardtop slept as a secret for those who owned one to enjoy.

1968 Ford Galaxie 2 door hard top 302 V8

Model year1968
Year of manufacture1968
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 302 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 miles
Most recent distance121590 miles
Previous carChevrolet Nova

Summary:

Best everyday car ever

Faults:

Most of the things that went wrong with this car was do with how old it was.

Radiator cracked and had to be replaced.

Master cylinder started leaking and it had to be replaced.

Lower ball joints had to be replaced.

Exhaust manifold cracked.

General Comments:

This car was the most reliable car that I have ever owned.

The car handled as if it were a boat. It leaned in to the turns and you could not make the rear tires spin if you wanted to. This car would drive far better if it had a 390.

The car was 213 inches long and 80 inches wide. Because of that you could fit 3 people in the front and 3 people in the back legally.

Sadly I can no longer drive it because a person ran into it an totaled it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th November, 2004

24th Jan 2005, 17:56

Nice to hear someone else had a great experience with a Galaxie 500. Mine was also totalled, but thanks to this tank I am alive!

12th Feb 2005, 20:13

Wow. Some one would have to hit you very hard with a newer car to total an old ford like that. Back then cars were big enough to be safe with out those dredfull air bags.

29th Jun 2012, 07:51

Uh, no. When the car's market value is less than $1000, it doesn't take very much damage to "total" it, even if it is still drivable.

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 13 reviews