1968 Ford Galaxie 2 door hard top 302 V8


Best everyday car ever


Most of the things that went wrong with this car was do with how old it was.

Radiator cracked and had to be replaced.

Master cylinder started leaking and it had to be replaced.

Lower ball joints had to be replaced.

Exhaust manifold cracked.

General Comments:

This car was the most reliable car that I have ever owned.

The car handled as if it were a boat. It leaned in to the turns and you could not make the rear tires spin if you wanted to. This car would drive far better if it had a 390.

The car was 213 inches long and 80 inches wide. Because of that you could fit 3 people in the front and 3 people in the back legally.

Sadly I can no longer drive it because a person ran into it an totaled it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th November, 2004

24th Jan 2005, 17:56

Nice to hear someone else had a great experience with a Galaxie 500. Mine was also totalled, but thanks to this tank I am alive!

12th Feb 2005, 20:13

Wow. Some one would have to hit you very hard with a newer car to total an old ford like that. Back then cars were big enough to be safe with out those dredfull air bags.

29th Jun 2012, 07:51

Uh, no. When the car's market value is less than $1000, it doesn't take very much damage to "total" it, even if it is still drivable.

1969 Ford Galaxie 500 302 2v


Solid, powerful, reliable, comfortable tank


The alternator went out at 80,000.

Car had to be repainted at 75,000.

Upholstery had to be replaced at 75,000.

No other problems, ever.

General Comments:

This Ford Galaxie 500 is perhaps the most reliable car ever built (that I can attest to).

It always starts and runs perfectly, even though it is now 35 years old.

It sat outside for 20 years and thus needed new paint and seat covers, but all other interior material is still intact and looks new.

Even though it has about 220 horse power and about 295 foot pounds of torque (with that little 302), it still gets 20 mpg with nice driving. My 1974 Lincoln had a 460 with 195 hp and 250 torque, but got about 10-12 mpg.

I love this car. We have new cars that we drive daily, but they are not nearly as reliable as the old Galaxie. Oh, well. Those were the days.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th August, 2004

19th Nov 2008, 10:50

This really is a great car. I'm 16 and my dad bought me one. It is comfortable, reliable, and amazing we still have the original 302, but with major change for more power. I added a new EFI system and I took the two inside headlights out for a forced air intake, and just ran straight headers. Pretty soon I'm getting a direct port fogger system. It looks really good with 70" raised white walls in the back, with 60"s on the front on chrome reverses with out caps.

"THIS CAR IS NICE", even better as a hot hod and it still has almost the original interior, except I took the bench out and put in buckets from a 67 Mustang.

1972 Ford Galaxie 500 351 Windsor


This car is a keeper!


This 1972 Galaxie 500 did need a few fresh parts as age had taken it's toll here and there. I replaced all hoses and belts and upgraded to radial tires. I did have to replace the radiator; I feel 25+ years from the original was pretty good! I upgraded the failing original distributor with a billit aluminum electronic distributor and replaced the single exhaust with a dual set-up complete with Dynamax Flowmasters. I also had to put new gas shocks all around, too. Otherwise it's just been regular maintenance.

General Comments:

I purchased the car from the original owner who purchased it new when he retired in 1972. He felt at 92 years of age that he just couldn't drive it anymore. The 351 Windsor with a two barrel carb and automatic transmission make this large car a good, solid performer. I feel this car is a wonderful road car; a large comfortable cruiser that makes long trips a real treat. I have to use 93 octane fuel for the best performance; but I do get 24 MPG while cruising along at 70 MPH. This is my second 1972 Galaxie 500 two door hardtop and I find them to be very reliable and durable. Most repairs so far have been from parts failing as the result of age or to modernize an antiquated part. In the years I have owned this car it has never let me down.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th February, 2003

30th Aug 2004, 19:45

I also have a 1972 Galaxie 500 with a 351 2-V. I am getting 11.5 mpg in town with air conditioning, sometimes only 8mpg. Is that what yours gets too? I haven't taken it on a long highway trip. There is approximately 39,500 miles on it.

8th Jun 2007, 20:03

I bought my 72' Ford Galaxie 500 over a year ago for only $700. I also get about 12mpg on highway. 24mpg I just don't see.