1972 Ford Galaxie 500 351 Windsor

Summary:

This car is a keeper!

Faults:

This 1972 Galaxie 500 did need a few fresh parts as age had taken it's toll here and there. I replaced all hoses and belts and upgraded to radial tires. I did have to replace the radiator; I feel 25+ years from the original was pretty good! I upgraded the failing original distributor with a billit aluminum electronic distributor and replaced the single exhaust with a dual set-up complete with Dynamax Flowmasters. I also had to put new gas shocks all around, too. Otherwise it's just been regular maintenance.

General Comments:

I purchased the car from the original owner who purchased it new when he retired in 1972. He felt at 92 years of age that he just couldn't drive it anymore. The 351 Windsor with a two barrel carb and automatic transmission make this large car a good, solid performer. I feel this car is a wonderful road car; a large comfortable cruiser that makes long trips a real treat. I have to use 93 octane fuel for the best performance; but I do get 24 MPG while cruising along at 70 MPH. This is my second 1972 Galaxie 500 two door hardtop and I find them to be very reliable and durable. Most repairs so far have been from parts failing as the result of age or to modernize an antiquated part. In the years I have owned this car it has never let me down.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th February, 2003

30th Aug 2004, 19:45

I also have a 1972 Galaxie 500 with a 351 2-V. I am getting 11.5 mpg in town with air conditioning, sometimes only 8mpg. Is that what yours gets too? I haven't taken it on a long highway trip. There is approximately 39,500 miles on it.

8th Jun 2007, 20:03

I bought my 72' Ford Galaxie 500 over a year ago for only $700. I also get about 12mpg on highway. 24mpg I just don't see.

1966 Ford Galaxie 500 289 V8

Summary:

A Galaxie 500 is a great and inexpensive muscle car.

Faults:

The carburetor needed new seals and a new float shortly after I bought it.

The old cork valve cover gaskets went out on it recently.

The original u-joints didn't have grease fittings on them, so they went out.

The steering wheel somehow got crooked on it before I bought it.

The Cruise-O-Matic transmission dripped fluid for a while, but the transmission fluid pan just needed tightening.

The choke sticks once in a while, but its no big deal.

That's about it.

General Comments:

The bench seats are very roomy and comfortable.

It feels and rides like a Cadillac. It just floats over bumps.

It sounds and drives like a muscle car, but wait... it is a muscle car!

The little 289 has got more torque than any jap car, and it sounds a lot better too!

A Galaxie 500 in the same shape as mine also makes a great show car! It seems to turn heads everywhere I go.

The car doesn't have a radio, but the sound of the V-8 sounds better to me than any music.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th October, 2002

12th Aug 2003, 21:01

My Galaxie now has 33,000 on it and its still doing good.

5th Oct 2004, 02:28

Great cars have one my self. a 1966.

7th Mar 2005, 05:22

Had my 390cu Convertible for 20 years and I love it. always started and never has failed a mot test. model is a 1966 car and I am only the 2nd owner. would never part with it as in excellent condition, however may consider if a 1966 XL with the larger engine became available, but would also have to be in a1 condition.

1965 Ford Galaxie 500 390

Summary:

Everyone should have one!

Faults:

Seats are worn badly.

Upper control arms had to be replaced.

Fuel sending unit had to be replaced.

Weatherstripping is beginning to deteriorate.

Distributor had to be replaced.

Timing chain and gears had to be replaced.

General Comments:

This car is truly a joy to drive. As you can plainly see from the problems I have experienced, the only repairs needed are routine maintenance required after many miles of driving and general wear and tear. My next goal is a little corrosion control and new paint for the body. I plan to keep this car for a very long time. When the doors fall off, then I may look into driving something different.

The car runs and drives like a new Cadillac. Truly, it is difficult to see where automobiles have improved enough over the past 35 years to justify the massive increase in costs off the lot. A new car with an equivalent engine and drive train would get around the same fuel economy and wear out much sooner.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th August, 2002

23rd Jan 2005, 09:24

I don't necessarily agree that a new car would wear out sooner, but could not agree with you more that the price of new cars has gotten to be absolutely ridiculous. It is because people go out and finance everything, just throwing caution to the wind. We are an "I have to have it now" society. I refuse to buy a new car on account of them being horrendously over priced, as you stated. I do not want to feed/enable the insanity. Good luck with your car.

13th Sep 2007, 14:52

I live in North central Illinois. I drive a 67 with a 289 20 miles to the gallon. I have a 65 LTD I'm willing to sell needs assembled. 2 dr hardtop any one wants more info call me Ray at 815 2529700. Reman 390, perfect frame fron AZ plus many other parts etc.