Nissan Titan Reviews from North America - Page 4 of 4

2004 Nissan Titan xe crew cab 5.6L

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 5.6L Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired23 miles
Most recent distance47000 miles
Previous carNissan 2 X 4 Truck

Summary:

A great truck if you can afford it

Faults:

Obvious brake issue. Replaced at 24K and replaced again with the upgraded brake system at 36K.

I think I have a wiring/electrical problem inside the center dash by the radio. Dash lights don't come on unless you adjust the brightness.

Stock radio and speakers do not work properly. Turns on and squeals like a raped pig. Speakers "POP" and "GROWL." I was told by Best Buy that I cannot change the radio without cutting up the dash. Nissan dealer not helpful in any way. Only warrantied to 36K. I have an AM radio from 1970 that works great!!

General Comments:

I do love this truck. If not for the "required maintenance" costs, it would be perfect. The Titan is very comfortable and reliable. Extremely powerful! Best looking full size truck on the market. I have been driving a Nissan for 11 years.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th January, 2007

2004 Nissan Titan SE

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.8 / 10
Distance when acquired30 miles
Most recent distance40000 miles
Previous carDodge Durango

Summary:

Should not be on the market....

Faults:

4 sets of brakes-4 sets of tires-9 front end alignments-back door handle broke- wind shield wiper fluid container cracked-power window on passenger side did not work...

General Comments:

This truck has had nothing, but problem after problem since day 1. It should be pulled off the market. No one should have to go through what we have been through. In all reality I am lucky my family and I are still alive. I think we should be entitled to all of our money back that we have invested in this so called truck. Plus I should not have to hire a lawyer, they should have the common courtesy to take on this problem themselves.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th January, 2006

19th Sep 2006, 12:00

Are you the person that sued McDonald's for receiving 3rd degree burns by putting a open container of hot coffee between your legs?

27th Dec 2006, 13:46

My sister's family had major brake problems with their brand new Titan, but finally Nissan took it back (after he called a lawyer) and gave them a new one and so far so good.

2004 Nissan Titan SE 5.6

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 5.6 Automatic
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired43 miles
Most recent distance18733 miles
Previous carToyota Tundra

Summary:

Great power and nice truck for the money -- once Nissan gets the brake issue resolved

Faults:

Brakes have been replaced and rotors turned 3 times in first 12,000 miles. Lemon law process started at 16,300 miles because it now needs it again. Nissan in negotiation currently.

Everyone we have met up with that owns an 04 or 05 Titan is having the same issues. Nissan assures they will have the 06 model right. They have issued 2 different TSB "fixes" for this issue, but none have been permanent fix.

Great power and love the accessories, but don't try to stop it.

General Comments:

Many rattles on the inside - poorly assembled.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 2nd August, 2005

9th Aug 2005, 21:40

I have 20,000 on my 2004 Titan and am very lucky to say I have had zero problems with my brakes. Sorry to hear you have had problems. Mine is the four wheel drive model with the tow package. Could that be the difference?

20th Aug 2005, 18:38

I have a 2004 Titan LE 2-wheel drive with over 12000 miles on it now. I have had to "panic" stop with it in heavy traffic several times and my brakes are very strong. No work has ever been needed, or done to it under warranty. I also tow a 19 foot ski boat with it and the trailer has no brakes. The Titan stops quick while towing the boat. What a great truck. Lemons are in every brand... Check Chevrolet for a lemon record!

2005 Nissan Titan SE 5.6 Endurance V8

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 5.6 Endurance V8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance10000 miles
Previous carToyota Tundra

Summary:

Amazing

Faults:

Absolutely nothing!

General Comments:

This is one serious truck! It is by far the most powerful 1500 regular production full size pickup on the market!! (minus SVT Lightening and Ram SRT-10 of course). During my first test drive, I became aware that the Endurance V-8 is noticeably more powerful than the Hemi V-8 in the Dodge Ram.

The truck has never failed me yet and gets decent gas mileage considering it is a full size truck.

The interior is immense and provides more than enough room for four. I drove every 1500 on the market and the name Titan speaks for itself. I couldn't resist waiting for the 2006 interior upgrade and facelift! Makes my old Tundra look like a wimp!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th July, 2005

28th Sep 2005, 11:13

Hard to believe it is "noticeably" more powerful than the 345hp Hemi powered Dodge Ram. The Titan is definitely not the most powerful V-8 powered, 1500 series pickup out there.

21st Nov 2005, 20:08

Correct about the Hemi Ram having more horsepower, however, the big difference is in the gearing of the transmission. Both have five-speed automatics, but the Titan is geared to give you more low end power.

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 14 reviews