1965 Pontiac Catalina 2 door hardtop sport coupe 389 cubic inch 2 barrel

Summary:

The `65 has a classic look that can`t be beat

Faults:

The original alternator was in the car, and the bushings dried out and wore away on a 1,300 mile round trip to a car show. this happened at 48,000 miles in 2000.

The original radiator rusted out. The tanks were paper thin. I replaced it in 1999.

General Comments:

Other than the rad and the alternator there has not been anything that broke on the car.

This is a very low miles car which sat in storage from 1973 until 1987. When parts don`t get used, they wear out faster when they finally do get used.

I can cruise all day at 75 mph and it doesn't matter to the car. I get about 19 miles per gallon on the highway too.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 23rd January, 2003

6th Jun 2004, 18:30

The 1965 Pontiac Catalina sounds like an awesome ride, although 1961 Catalinas are my favorite.

30th Oct 2008, 22:15

I liked the '61 Pontiacs too, in fact, I think the 1961 model year stands out for ALL the full-size GM models. Sort of a step back from the crazy-fin 1959-60 models but not so conventional looking as the '62 and later models.

1965 Pontiac Catalina 389 2bbl

Summary:

Most beautiful car, car of the year 10 years in a row

Faults:

Alternator went out at 90,000 miles.

Bushings needed to be replaced after 110,000 miles.

General Comments:

Beautiful car.

Hydraulics for the top work.

Power steering.

Brakes.

For the size of the car, it handles great.

389 is an awesome engine.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd September, 2000

10th Nov 2003, 10:12

The four barrel 2+2 421 would blow you off the road!!

18th Aug 2004, 10:34

Don't speek so soon, my 389 has tri power on it now.

3rd Nov 2004, 13:30

These Pontiacs are really great cars. Very reliable when maintained which results in low operating costs.

My 66 convertible with 389 325hp got 24mpg on the hi-way!

Enormous performance!

2nd Sep 2006, 07:34

My 65 with 79K on the clock got impressive highway mileage too! The longest trip I ever took her on was when I drove down from Rome NY to South Central PA (Lebanon). My figures showed 20 MPG (Carter Thermo-quad)! Thought I made a mistake in my calculations. I guess not...

8th Dec 2007, 23:32

Wow!! Cats really get over 20mpg? I'm looking at a '67 cat now as something that my dad and I can drive/fix this coming summer... maybe this is a good choice... style, power and OK mpg... :)