1993 Nissan Pulsar GTi-R 2.0 turbo charged 16v

Summary:

0-60 5.5secs, top speed 155mph+, 4 adults and their belongings, 3 doors, this car speaks for itself!

Faults:

When I got it, it had 220bhp and the only problem I had was the turbo which got a hole on it. The roof shakes and the electric windows played up, but nothing too dramatic.

General Comments:

I had the car for under a year now and it's pushing 350bhp out and is a beast. My previous Impreza WRX STii is no way as powerful as this. For a hatchback it's the king of the road and can fit 4 people and luggage in perfectly comfortably.

This car modified and is one pocket rocket, there's no denying that!!! The ultimate.

Reliable like all Nissan's and cheap parts, always do an HPI check cause these cars are normally imports.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 26th January, 2002

9th Feb 2005, 23:55

Cheap parts???don't think so.

12th Apr 2005, 06:58

The Standard Pulsar Parts will be the cheap parts, that is the ones that also fit standard non-turbo pulsars.

15th Sep 2005, 23:45

How many Kilometers can you do on a tank of fuel on average? City driving and country driving? I want to get one, but the way petrol costs are these days I don't want a car that's really thirsty.

11th Oct 2005, 15:42

Don't buy one of these if you are worried about fuel consumption! Mine does 16mpg round town and 21mpg on a run it's running 310bhp at last dyno run. You have to expect these sort of figures for cars that do 0-60 in 5 seconds...

18th Mar 2007, 06:42

Alright guys I've been looking at a few of these monsters and just wanted to know how much of a big job it is to replace the clutch pedal and box? also do these have a mojor prob with blowing head gaskets?

20th Mar 2007, 09:23

Hi guys. I'm buying one next month. My work mate is selling it to me quite cheap, but it still needs to have some work done on it. Need to change all lock sets, all doors and ignition. How much do you reckon it could cost for the parts and the change job itself? And driver's side door needs to be changed as well. How much is that? Thanks.

1993 Nissan Pulsar GTi-R 2.0i 16v twin cam turbo 4x4

Summary:

I think for 5000ukp you can't get a car faster than this

Faults:

Roof shakes at high speeds, but this is common with GTi-Rs.

Handbrake cable snapped.

Brakes needed changing due to hard driving - the GTi-R standard brakes are no good if you planinng on modifying the engine.

General Comments:

This car is really fast compared to my VR6, it outran a Subaru Impreza WRX STi when I was using 1.3psi. This car you can modify easily and parts are easy to get. I was going to get a Impreza but I fell for this and have no regrets at all.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 8th January, 2002

23rd Sep 2002, 07:04

Sometimes I hate myself for being so pedantic... but for that money you can get something faster than a GTIR. Two friends of mine.. One owns a GTIR the other a Mazda Familia GTR (there is also a GTX, but the GTR was produced in limited numbers with higher specs for racing purposes) It has been accepted by the GTIR owner after many heated discussions, and strip challenges that the outright winner (both for performance and handling) is the Mazda. Both have identical slight mods ie Exhaust, Air pod, bigger intercoolers. Yeah... Id never heard of the GTR Famila now I want one.

1991 Nissan Pulsar GTi-R 2.0 turbo

Summary:

The fastest 4x4 turbo you can buy for under 6,500ukp

Faults:

Nothing, this car has been a great buy.

General Comments:

I have owned around 65 cars from Sierra Cosworths to Nissan 300ZX twin turbos, and this brilliant machine out performs and out handles them all... Go buy one NOW.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th May, 2001

1991 Nissan Pulsar GTi-R 2.0 turbo

Summary:

Tarmac terror

Faults:

Tyres needed changing.

Front pads wore down quickly.

Actuator not fully opening.

General Comments:

This car eats WRX's and Evos for breakfast, and moves on to bikes for dinner.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th April, 2001

1990 Nissan Pulsar GTi-R 2.0

Summary:

Furiously quick, but fragile

Faults:

Radiator burst.

Plugs needed changing.

Filler cap release mechanism faulty, big end bearings collapsed (bottom end rebuild required - £2000)

Oil pump died.

Wheel bearing collapsed.

General Comments:

Nice car to drive, very quick, comfortable and fun.

Engine stressed even at standard level of boost, no bottom end strengthening over a normal GTI.

DO NOT chip this car, it won't last, no matter what any tuner tells you.

Made before 2.0 litre turbo engines got reliable (Subaru).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd February, 2001

9th May 2001, 04:03

Rubbish, these cars are strong. I have seen many upgraded, some to 350bhp and be fine at track days too. You just need to know what you are doing and upgrade the right parts together.

19th Aug 2001, 21:33

I totally agree, I have replaced the intercooler, computer, exhaust system, suspension and filter with mostly after-market items (primarily Trust) with a few custom mods (cold air box and high flow turbo), on a dyno it puts out 263.8kw on 98 octane (which is the highest rating in NZ).

The only thing I had to replace due to wear and tear were the tyres, and suspension (although this was mainly due to the new rims).

The best ride you can get for your money. How cheap are your Lancer GSRs?

1992 Nissan Pulsar GTiR 2.0 turbo

Summary:

The ultimate Japanese car

Faults:

Since purchasing this car as an import I have had no problems at all with the car.

This car is totally outrageous, I would recommend that if you have a spare £7,000 lying about that you go out and buy one of these mental machines.

The car is also supplied from the factory with a fairly high spec including air conditioning, umbrella holder, constant 4 wheel drive and lots of other goodies.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th February, 2001

1991 Nissan Pulsar GTi-R 4WD 2.0 turbo petrol

Summary:

Best of the grey imports

Faults:

Electrical problem causing rapid discharge of the battery (fully charged to flat in three days), traced to a short in the interior light system.

Slight rumble from rear wheel bearings.

Aircon unit suspect.

General Comments:

Incredible performance. Will outrun anything on the road apart from Skylines.

Basically a rally car with extra seats and carpets.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th July, 2000

1991 Nissan Pulsar GTi-R 2.0 turbo petrol

Summary:

Hell of a lot of car for the money

Faults:

Gearbox problems, due to increased bhp.

General Comments:

This car is a LOT of car for the money. It out handles anything else on the road and the performance is crazy!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th July, 2000

1991 Nissan Pulsar GTI R 2.0 turbo petrol

Faults:

Turbo not boosting properly - needs checking, possible wastegate problem, steering pulls to left.

General Comments:

Very very very quick car - 280 bhp, only needs a few more mods and I will be flying to the moon.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 24th January, 1999

1997 Nissan Pulsar VZ-R SR-16VE 1.6 litre petrol

Faults:

Don't know yet. Car is only 8 months old so it's still running great!

General Comments:

Great handling and visibility. Steering is very responsive due to a more solid body (30 % stability increase). Viscous LSD provides stable traction through rain or snow, as well as corners.

If the car came equipped with bucket seats to support drivers through cornering, I would have given it a 10 in comfort.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th August, 1998