2009 Nissan Qashqai Visia 1.6 petrol

Summary:

Useless

Faults:

Ignition failed after 26 days and less than 1,000 miles.

CD ejection button broke after 3 months and just over 2,000 miles.

Driver's electric window motor failed after 5 months and 4,000 miles.

Air conditioning was slow from the start, and finally failed after 6 months and 5,000 miles.

Head gasket blew on motorway after 8 months and 7,000 miles.

General Comments:

Biggest heap of garbage I ever owned.

Cost nearly £14,000, and couldn't have wasted my money in a worse way.

Had a Peugeot 307 for five years previously, and that was far better.

Horrible to drive.

Will never buy another Nissan ever again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th February, 2011

2008 Nissan Qashqai Tekna 2.0 turbo diesel

Summary:

Don't buy the Nissan Qashqai

Faults:

Interior light bulb blew 5 times.

Leaked oil on 7 occasions after 5,000 miles.

Clutch worn and needed replacing after less than 10,000 miles.

Gearbox became faulty and needed replacing after just over 12,000 miles.

Window motor on front passenger side failed just days after gearbox was replaced.

CD ejection jammed after 15,000 miles, and the whole stereo had to replaced.

General Comments:

Bought one because I kept hearing about how brilliant the Nissan Qashqai was, and how it was a new breed of family car.

But it's been the biggest letdown I've ever shelled out for, and I would never touch a Nissan again.

Apart from being unreliable, it was nowhere near as good to drive as I had been informed it was.

I had a Renault Laguna before, and they were notorious for mechanical and electrical problems, which were expensive to correct, but mine wasn't bad, and it was actually far better than the Nissan Qashqai.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th November, 2010

27th Dec 2012, 19:56

This is because of the diesel engines!! The petrol engines were made by Nissan and the diesel engines by Renault. I was after a diesel Qashqai until I found this out, and now I have a 1.6 petrol and it's never let me down.

I think the build quality went downhill when Renault took over!!

14th Jul 2014, 19:34

Well I have been an owner of 2 Qashqai, namely a 1600 and a 2000. Both were petrol units. Km traveled: the 1600 - 185000km, the 2000 - 275000. Both were fantastic vehicles.

I am busy purchasing a 3rd one, a diesel 1500 DCI. Hope to get the same service out of it.

David Hird from South Africa.

2007 Nissan Qashqai Tekna 2.0 turbo diesel

Summary:

I really like this car, and would buy it again

Faults:

Passenger door started to stick at around 30000 miles (would not open), and was fixed at no charge.

Heat shield under car came loose around 5000 miles - fixed at no charge.

General Comments:

I really like this car, and would buy it again - I would probably get the 1500 diesel and non-Tekna version to save money. It's a pleasure to drive, comfortable and feels safe. Only 3 minor things I would change on it

1. Windscreen takes ages to demist.

2. There is few interior storage spaces.

3. Visibility out the rear window is not good (parking sensors are essential!)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd November, 2010

2008 Nissan Qashqai Acenta 1.6 petrol

Summary:

I will never buy a Nissan again

Faults:

Clutch plate broke at less than 5,000 miles.

Interior light bulb broke at 7,000 miles.

Driver's side window motor failed at 10,000 miles, followed by malfunction of stereo buttons.

Oil leaks started at around 15,000 miles, and resulted in valve cover gaskets needing replacement.

Clutch worn out after 17,000 miles.

Engine needed replacing, following fire at 22,000 miles, brought on by leaking water cooling pipe.

General Comments:

Not a bad car to drive, but the Qashqai has been terribly unreliable, and so different from the Nissans I owned in the past. I had a second hand Saab 9-3 before, and I'd rather have kept that instead of buying this heap of junk.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 11th January, 2010

5th Jun 2011, 09:07

Had a disappointing experience with my Qashqai -- first brand new car ever - never had as much trouble with any secondhand car previously owned - have completely gone off Nissan..

25th Sep 2011, 06:00

Had a 1.5 diesel since March of 2011, and a few minor problems, one - the bluetooth kept freezing and not working properly, two - the driver's door kept forgetting that it had a full-auto mode, and I had to keep reprogramming it.

It's a good drive, not as good as the adverts say it is on fuel, unless you want to go everywhere on tick over!!

The paint is thin and scratches at the slightest hint of being rubbed or on leaned on.

Yes, you will bang your head every time you get in it unless you're shorter than five feet five.

Overall, I like this car and all it has to offer as a driver friendly vehicle.

Oh, and the glass roof makes the black leather seats become hotter than my old mum's spiral oven rings!!