2009 Nissan Qashqai Tekna 1.5 dCi turbo diesel


Good car, but it could be better


The cover for the speedo and other dials fell off in the first week; had not been clicked in properly.

Rear shocks needed replacing after 18 months.

Rear parking sensor stopped working.

Had to go back for brake recall.

Had the wrong engine plate identity plate fitted.

General Comments:

The Qasqai is great at long runs; we took ours to the south of France, fully loaded with a roof box, and it sat on the motorway at 80-90mph with no problems.

I wish I had gone for the +2 version to get that extra room in the boot.

Can't complain about the fuel economy; on a recent trip I got from Nottingham to Paris on just over half a tank.

One thing is you can't have the radio on while the ignition is off.

I have had the car for nearly 3 years now, and for all its faults, I really like it, but wish the build quality was better, and for more space in the cabin.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 4th November, 2011

31st Mar 2013, 10:28

Just bought a 2009 Qashqai Tekna 1.5 dCi. Nice to drive, but the heater is useless! Been back to the supplying dealer who tells me "they are all like that". Surely this is not true; it is like a 1960's car heater.

3rd Apr 2013, 16:34

I think the problem is (as with mine) because it's a diesel, and the Renault 1.5 dCi engine takes ages to warm up. If you put the temp on maximum, it will take at least 10 miles to start warming the inside up; it's just one of those QQ quirks, and there are a few of em... slow electric window motors, crashing suspension over bad surfaces, rubbish A/C, noisy startup from cold et al... but strangely I do like mine, it's a 2009 1.5 dCi. I should be fed up with its foibles... but so far I ain't!

2008 Nissan Qashqai Tekna 4WD 2.0 petrol




Interior trim started to fall off after less than one year and barely 10,000 miles.

Heater and air-conditioning were slow to work, and finally failed after 15,000 miles.

Interior light-bulb blew after 17,000 miles, and again after 22,000 miles.

Ignition failed after 24,000 miles.

Driver's window motor failed after 26,000 miles.

Stereo packed up after 27,000 miles, and shortly afterwards I traded it in.

General Comments:

This car cost me nearly £20,000 to buy, and I've never wasted so much money in my entire life.

Don't get me wrong, it wasn't too bad to drive, and it was quite comfortable.

But it was badly built and unreliable, and within a year I knew I would be getting rid of it as soon as I'd paid for it.

As soon as I paid for it, I traded it in for a new Mondeo. My previous 3 cars were all Mondeo's, and they were all far better than this trash.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th September, 2011

2009 Nissan Qashqai Visia 1.6 petrol




Ignition failed after 26 days and less than 1,000 miles.

CD ejection button broke after 3 months and just over 2,000 miles.

Driver's electric window motor failed after 5 months and 4,000 miles.

Air conditioning was slow from the start, and finally failed after 6 months and 5,000 miles.

Head gasket blew on motorway after 8 months and 7,000 miles.

General Comments:

Biggest heap of garbage I ever owned.

Cost nearly £14,000, and couldn't have wasted my money in a worse way.

Had a Peugeot 307 for five years previously, and that was far better.

Horrible to drive.

Will never buy another Nissan ever again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th February, 2011

2008 Nissan Qashqai Tekna 2.0 turbo diesel


Don't buy the Nissan Qashqai


Interior light bulb blew 5 times.

Leaked oil on 7 occasions after 5,000 miles.

Clutch worn and needed replacing after less than 10,000 miles.

Gearbox became faulty and needed replacing after just over 12,000 miles.

Window motor on front passenger side failed just days after gearbox was replaced.

CD ejection jammed after 15,000 miles, and the whole stereo had to replaced.

General Comments:

Bought one because I kept hearing about how brilliant the Nissan Qashqai was, and how it was a new breed of family car.

But it's been the biggest letdown I've ever shelled out for, and I would never touch a Nissan again.

Apart from being unreliable, it was nowhere near as good to drive as I had been informed it was.

I had a Renault Laguna before, and they were notorious for mechanical and electrical problems, which were expensive to correct, but mine wasn't bad, and it was actually far better than the Nissan Qashqai.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th November, 2010

27th Dec 2012, 19:56

This is because of the diesel engines!! The petrol engines were made by Nissan and the diesel engines by Renault. I was after a diesel Qashqai until I found this out, and now I have a 1.6 petrol and it's never let me down.

I think the build quality went downhill when Renault took over!!

14th Jul 2014, 19:34

Well I have been an owner of 2 Qashqai, namely a 1600 and a 2000. Both were petrol units. Km traveled: the 1600 - 185000km, the 2000 - 275000. Both were fantastic vehicles.

I am busy purchasing a 3rd one, a diesel 1500 DCI. Hope to get the same service out of it.

David Hird from South Africa.

8th Jun 2015, 10:59

Having a Nissan engine would hardly solve the problems this owner had with the transmission, wiper motor, driver's side window or interior lights.

Would the original reviewer happen to still own the car? If so, would you like to update us on how ownership has progressed in the past 3-4 years?