2004 Skoda Superb Comfort 1.9 TDi PD

Summary:

Does Exactly What It Says On The Tin!

Faults:

A couple of minor niggles in the shape of bulbs and recalls, but generally a well screwed together vehicle.

General Comments:

As soon as I took it for a test drive I wanted to buy it. The car is a large size, but quite easy to get used to. Parking could be a problem without the rear parking sensors.

Loads amount of kit for a mid range model.

The seat fabric is not as good as I would have hoped, but the rest of the car is simply brilliant and full of nice touches like door handles that light up at night, 'Cat Vision' which gives an ambient red glow over the inside of the car at night.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd May, 2006

4th May 2006, 14:48

What recalls are there on it, and what bhp?

5th May 2006, 02:04

The BHP is 130.

The recalls have been to check the fuel tandem pump, then another recall for the mounting bolts for the pump.

13th May 2006, 09:01

I like the look of the Superb and believe they are the best value for money car out there, the only worries I have is if they are like the Passat, they might share their good range of economical diesel engines and bad things like their faulty front suspension, cv joints door handles, but with a bit of luck they may use different parts, and then your looking at a better car than the Passat, both visually and in engineering standards.

2005 Skoda Superb 1.9 TDI turbo diesel

Summary:

Looks good

Faults:

Nothing so far.

General Comments:

It is a nice crisp muscular design.

Limo like space in the rear.

The one and only worry I have is that it is a stretched Passat, meaning it uses the same suspension parts, door handles, locks etc, so will it turn out a nightmare like 90% of Passat owners reckon theirs is?

There should be no stigma attached to a Skoda, but there should be to a Passat.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 23rd November, 2005

8th May 2007, 11:26

What is this guy scuttering on about the Passat?

The Passat is one of the best cars available.

10th Jun 2007, 06:08

Suppose he is worried after reading the owners reviews about the Passat; they are not that good; in fact they may be the opposite with plenty of faults to their owners angst.

2005 Skoda Superb Elegance 2.5 diesel

Summary:

A very classy car

Faults:

All OK.

General Comments:

A very fast saloon, you can meet a lot of traffic coppers if you do not keep your eye on the speed. This is a very good car for going a long way in comfort. Whoosh 70 to 100 so smooth, and keeps going.

A very special car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th September, 2005

26th Dec 2006, 04:56

Totally agree with comments. I have the 2.5 V6 TDI and it is a pleasure to drive. No stigma with the name - be proud and enjoy.

26th Dec 2006, 12:04

I so wish Skoda would come to the US. They seem to have better reliability than the VWs they are based on, and I never considered VW any type of prestige brand anyway.

I know it will never happen as VW continues to have problems here (the new Passat can reach $40K which is just insane, and that's before you start talking about quality issues).

2005 Skoda Superb Comfort 1.8 turbo

Summary:

Absolutley Brilliant

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with the car yet (I've only had it 250 miles), however, it wasn't delivered to me clean, the nearside rear alloy wheel has a gouge in the metal, and the radio's volume knob has white marks on it. The first aid kit was missing from the boot as well.

General Comments:

This car is excellent value for money, and is continuing proof that the image skoda used to have is no longer deserved.

It's cabin is enormous and well thought out, the engine is responsive, and the ride is very smooth and quiet.

The value for money mark is off the scale.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th July, 2005

22nd Aug 2005, 07:46

I have been reading quite a lot of 'energetic' stuff with regard to the Skoda range. I am due to get the Superb model, not through choice, which I believe will be Diesel. Although I'm really impressed with the engineering and the reviews that I've seen, I still have reservations with regard to the 'stigma' that's still attached to the name in certain circles.

I have read somewhere that launching a new badge would make the change in Skoda complete from an appearance standpoint.

Anyone care to comment.