Suzuki Alto Reviews from UK and Ireland - Page 3 of 4

2004 Suzuki Alto GLX 1.1

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.1 Manual
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 0 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired6 miles
Most recent distance14000 miles

Summary:

Cheap, fuel economic, but otherwise the worst car I have ever driven

Faults:

Annoying knocking sound from rear brakes when braking.

Paintwork becomes tatty very quickly and perforates early.

Windscreen wipers do not sit on window-screens properly when driving and its raining does not wipe the screens properly.

General Comments:

Excellent fuel consumption.

Handles like an elephant. gets blown all over the road.

Noisy interior not very well sound proofed.

The most uncomfortable car I have ever driven.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd February, 2005

15th Mar 2005, 04:11

I really wanted a lightweight car and I got it, averaging 51 to 55 mpg on motorway/town mixture, easy to park.

Only fault was an irritating ticking sound from the rear door when right hand cornering (stopped now after 45000 miles)...something loose that should have been stuck down.

Suzuki spares and servicing are extortionate, virtually 200 quid for an oil change, 50 quid for a set of brake shoes that would cost a Ford driver 20...and the recommended service interval at 9000 miles is not recommendable! So the cheap purchase price and petrol are offset a bit.

However I love my Alto for all that - 45000 miles in 2 years and its holding up fairly well.

24th Nov 2005, 04:42

My Suzuki Alto (2000) has been a nightmare since day 1. Now five years old, here is a list of problems I have had:

Rear wheels freezing solid in temperatures below 0 Celsius

Defective battery

Defective shock absorbers

Broken rear window washer

Broken cabin light

Leaking petrol

Defective muffler

Loose trim

Broken tailgate lock

Window coming loose from window frame (in winter!)

2004 Suzuki Alto GL 1.1

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.1 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance1900 miles

Faults:

Engine pinks whilst it is put under load. Suzuki are aware of problem, but no fix at present.

Also paintwork faulty.

General Comments:

Miles per gallon are great between 50-60.

Would be very good if it was not for above problems, however would not buy another again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd October, 2004

9th Feb 2005, 11:50

We too have had pinking problems (for the past year and a half). No sign of solution for fixing. Would not buy another one.

11th May 2006, 06:18

My 2004 Alto is on it's second ECU. Always happens at the start of hot weather. Dealer has become utterly frustrated with Suzuki UK who won't provide a CURE to the problem. appears to be heat related. ECU is behind dashboard and overheats causing some component failure. I am facing 1000 pound a year bills when the warranty expires.

2003 Suzuki Alto GLX 1.1

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.1 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired42 miles
Most recent distance27000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Astra

Summary:

A great little car that's also fun and cheap to drive

Faults:

Drivers door handle was pulled off by vandals

The foam on the drivers seat side support collapsed.

General Comments:

Seems faster than the manufacturers state.

I get an average of 58 miles per gallon, I use the car for driving instruction and personal use.

Wish it had air conditioning.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th September, 2004

2003 Suzuki Alto LX 1.1

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.1 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance3500 miles

Summary:

Economical, practical and good value for money

Faults:

Nothing has seriously went wrong with this car (yet). The only grumble that I have had so far is that one day when I went to fill up the water compartment that sprays the windows clean, the cap completely snapped off. It wasn't a major thing, but it did make me think twice about how delicate the car is.

General Comments:

The greatest thing the Alto can boast of is running costs.

They are cheap to buy, cheap to tax, cheap to insure and they practically run on air. They do 70 to the gallon, however I'm not to familiar with gallons so from my experience a 260 mile journey costs about £15.

It is quite a dinky looking car with a very simple design. However the interior could do with a few minor adjustments.

I think that anybody who looks to buy a Suzuki is looking for something reasonably priced and practical. And the Alto is precisely that.

It does the job in getting you from A to B. And it does is cheaply.

You also get a lot more as standard compared to equivalent cars in the same price range.

I would probably say that the Alto is more suited to a female driver as the pedals are quite close together, making it an easier drive for people with small feet.

The driving position is a bit higher on the road compared to my other car.

The stereo also sounds quite 'tinny'. Nevertheless, it does the job.

I have also found that the car doesn't actually have any fog lights. Unless I haven't discovered them yet, in which case they are not very visible/accessible.

As a first car it is great and I would recommend it to most.

From the outside the Alto can be quite deceiving. But the inside is quite spacious and the boot is a nice size too.

The sheer size of the car is great for parking and allows you to fit into the tighter spaces you would normally drive past.

If you are thinking of buying this car, be prepared to get a lot of grief from other smart-ass drivers who think their car is better than yours.

In summary, the Alto is better than what you would expect. It's a nice little runaround.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 10th December, 2003

23rd Mar 2005, 03:24

I went to this site after already having had bought the car. For £5000, what do you want? I just hope it lasts until the final payment clears. Does anyone have a car more than a year old? I wonder how it has held up. Thanks

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 14 reviews