Vauxhall Insignia Reviews from UK and Ireland - Page 4 of 5

2010 Vauxhall Insignia Exclusiv 1.8i

Model year2010
Year of manufacture2010
First year of ownership2010
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 1.8i Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 0 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.7 / 10
Distance when acquired14 miles
Most recent distance160 miles
Previous carVauxhall Vectra

Summary:

Undriveable

General Comments:

The build quality of the Insignia is extraordinary. Very, very good indeed. The car is smooth and very quiet at motorway speeds.

Economy is not quite as good as the Vectra at around 33mpg. Steering is vague & the car feels very American to drive i.e. feels like a motorised barge, & tends to 'wallow' round corners.

Transmission; again very good, and gear change exceptionally smooth.

One big problem however. Like the Omega, the Insignia is an ergonomic disaster.

Even after hours of seat adjustment, it is impossible to find a comfortable driving position.

The headrest, irrespective of adjustment, inclines the head forward at 45 degree, and there is nothing you can do about this, as the headrests sit around six inches forward of the back of the seat. Even with lumber support fully extended, it is impossible to avoid a 'cricked' neck and bad back. The clutch pedal is some distance in advance of the accelerator pedal, requiring you to drive sideways.

Quite ironic that both the Diplomat & Vectra are/were such good cars to drive, yet Vauxhall have repeated the mistakes of the Omega in the Insignia.

It's a disaster!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th August, 2010

11th Sep 2010, 11:26

If the Insignia is half as good as the Omega, it will be a great car.

13th Sep 2010, 14:11

The Insignia was designed on the Epsilon II platform and it was intended to be sold in North America, which explains why the car "feels American" to drive.

2nd Oct 2010, 13:22

I actually thought the Insignia was the first Vauxhall I'd driven in ages with a chassis that wasn't made of bog roll and old socks. Steers well, rides well, and doesn't understeer off the road if you push on.

Add this to the build quality you mention, plus the classy styling and generous spec, and you have a very impressive car, which in a different stratosphere to the Vectra.

The first new Vauxhall I've driven since a 1988 Astra GTE 16v, that I would spend my own money on.

2009 Vauxhall Insignia Exclusiv 1.8

Model year2009
Year of manufacture2009
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance5000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Vectra

Faults:

Rattle seems to be down driver's side, lost half wheel nut covers, been back to Vauxhall who stuck tape around pipes box etc rattle went, now back again.

Noticed a nut missing from a holder holding air con pip, secured but still have rattle, battery cover box secured down as bagging, water in tread of doors, and wind noise through drivers door not bad for a brand new car.

Anyone else had these problems, please advise as Vauxhall will soon have my keys back if they don't fix it.

General Comments:

Nice looking.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 5th April, 2010

13th Apr 2010, 15:49

I have had the same problem with water collecting on the door sill. After a year of complaints, Vauxhall have fitted new door seals and it has cured the problem.

Wheel nut covers; I have lost 6 of them, but Vauxhall has replaced them. They told me to blu-tack them on. Not lost any more so far.

13th Aug 2010, 06:48

I have had the same problems with the wheel nut covers coming off, and water on the door sills. Vauxhall has sorted the problems out after a year of complaints.

I have a problem with very stiff gear changes from 2nd to 4th; it is intermittent. Has anyone else had the problem with the gear changing?

2009 Vauxhall Insignia Exclusiv X-Pack 2.0 CDTI 160 turbo diesel

Year of manufacture2009
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 2.0 CDTI 160 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance1200 miles
Previous carVauxhall Astra

Summary:

Great looks, comfort and mpg

Faults:

Nothing as yet.

General Comments:

Although I get an average of 48mpg if I drive conservatively (which is very good for a large car), I cannot achieve 60+ mpg as a previous review stated. Maybe after a few thousand miles, when the engine has settled down, it will increase.

The car comes into its own on motorway type roads, excellent drive quality & seating.

However, the ride can become very uncomfortable at low speeds on uneven road surfaces. Cruise control is easy to use and still returns decent mileage.

When the gearbox is cold, I have to force 2nd gear. After visiting local dealer and driving a similar car, I found the same problem. This car also had the same slight pull to the left as my own. It is very camber sensitive, as are most Vauxhalls.

The electronic handbrake has taken a lot of getting used to. I have driven other cars that have this facility, but it can be set to operate automatically when the wheels are stopped with the footbrake, so you don't have to check if your handbrake is on. I have to peer over the steering wheel to check if the handbrake logo is lit up on the dashboard. I think it should also apply automatically when the engine is switched off.

This is the 10th Vauxhall I have owned, and is the nearest I have got to the ride of the Carlton CDX.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th November, 2009

5th Dec 2009, 15:14

Took me a while to figure out the cruise control after coming from other Vauxhalls, but eventually sussed it! I'm the one who wrote the previous review and averaging 58 mpg per tank, although I do 90% motorway driving and try to keep it 60-65 mph... and I have a very light foot... I'm challenging myself now to see if I can do better!

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 14 reviews