Buick LaCrosse Reviews - Page 4 of 5

2006 Buick LaCrosse from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Distance when acquired100 miles
Most recent distance22000 miles
Previous carBuick Century

Summary:

Good car other than previous problems

Faults:

I have had rotors Go bad to the extent of needing replaced at 10,000 miles I was told it was because I had lifetime brake pads and something had to wear. I also did have window problems, but mine was related to back window, on a hot day the window had just shattered. The cause was found to be a combination of things, weather related and the fact my air was on full. Since then I have had the window replaced, the installer also informed me they thought the "original" rear window may not have been installed correctly stating that because of the tempered glasses nature if it was slightly misaligned or twisted upon installation, it would not take much to cause it to shatter.

General Comments:

Hopefully problem stays fixed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 24th October, 2007

25th Oct 2007, 15:30

I have a '06 CX and all works wonderful, let me cross fingers. I'm very pleased with my car. My only complaints are that the interior space is too small and the visibility is poor. The ride is awesome.

26th Oct 2007, 15:05

Why cross your fingers? Buicks are great cars and you don't need luck to keep yours problem free. Buick is currently rated number 1 by J.D. Power and Associates for long-term reliability.

2005 Buick LaCrosse CX 3.8 from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.2 / 10
Distance when acquired20 miles
Most recent distance20164 miles
Previous carBuick Mercury Sable

Summary:

Over oil consumption, when driven in a non aggressive manner

Faults:

Since this Buick LaCrosse hit 17,000 or 18,000 approximate miles, the oil light would come on. We took it back to the dealer and now GM has come out with a bulletin stating that some GM cars, 1998-2007 and gasoline powered light duty trucks will use oil every 2000 miles or less, which is normal. I also own a 1998 Mercury Mountaineer which can go 5,000 miles on an oil change. This Buick LaCrosse was purchased in May, 2005. We now have to return it to the dealer, which is 17 miles east from my house where I live, taking time out of my day, which is 30 minutes, not to mention the gas also. If this is the way GM products are going to be, I will be selling it and buying a Toyota Prius Hybrid. I have purchased Ford and Mercury products, and was disappointed in them, but not like General Motors. I had a Chevrolet Corsica, 1988, I traded in which was overheating because the computer module was situtated to close to the engine block, causing the motor to overheat, then it would stall. The automakers don't realize how dangerous these situations can become, putting the drivers at risk.

Very disappointed in Indiana...

General Comments:

For the price I paid for this Buick LaCrosse, it wasn't worth it... very disappointed...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th July, 2007

19th Sep 2007, 08:47

Trade it on a Camry or Avalon; you'll love it. Trust me.

19th Sep 2007, 15:27

Only if you like driving cars with all the enthusiasm of a refrigerator. Toyota will never match Buick in luxury or style. The Avalon is known as the "Japanese Buick" but I'll take the original AMERICAN Buick thank you very much. They are just better all around cars. Anyone who is not blinded by Toyota loyalty can see this.

2005 Buick LaCrosse from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Previous carChevrolet Monte Carlo

Summary:

Very nice car, but can't stand to drive it with windows open

General Comments:

I like this car very much, however, find it almost impossible to drive with drivers side window down! The wind comes in as if you're in a wind tunnel. Also, standing still at a drive through in the rain, window open while ordering, no wind, rain coming in a lot. Is it the aerodynamics? Anyone else have this complaint?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th July, 2006

28th Jul 2006, 07:43

I have a similar GM car that is very difficult to drive with only the driver's window down. Creates unbelievable buffetting. I found it helps by dropping the rear seat (driver side) window down an inch or two--makes all the difference.

30th Jul 2006, 01:26

Aftermarket window visors are available at parts stores and catalogs (JCWhitney). They're like little plastic awnings that snap in on the outside of the window. They deflect rain and wind and also look sporty. I'd recommend getting 'em.

30th Aug 2006, 11:53

Aerodynamics? Please. You should know in EVERY car you are supposed to crack your rear windows when you have the front one open. Therefore, some air comes towards you, the rest flows out the window. It is not aerodynamics, its common sense.

27th Sep 2006, 13:00

OK, some people should not be allowed to have the privelege of commenting on reviews. Rudeness! Anyway, cracking or completely lowering the driver's-side rear window will definitely help keep the wind from smacking the side of your head while driving. You probably notice a lot of rain water coming in with your window down because the side windows are very sloped inwards, which creates more vertical area for the rain to fall through and into your car. Older cars with straighter, more vertical side windows did not have this problem as badly.

1st Dec 2006, 10:19

As comment 01:26 recommends, the window visors are a great fix for rain coming in the windows. They go on every vehicle I get because I enjoy driving with the window down in hot weather even in the rain if the A/C is not on. I drive a Pontiac and have never experienced the severe buffeting mentioned. I suspect the styling of your car (which, incidentally, I find very pleasing) is to blame. Air flow is effected by a number of variables.

Average review marks: 6.7 / 10, based on 12 reviews