2005 Chevrolet Equinox Reviews - Page 7 of 9

2005 Chevrolet Equinox LT from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired19500 miles
Most recent distance29300 miles
Previous carKia Spectra

Summary:

I am very upset with the durability and the head gasket blown with under 30,000 miles

Faults:

My head gasket blew at 29,300 miles.

General Comments:

The car has a very good feel inside. Comfortable.

One bad thing is the turning radius.

I can't believe the head gasket blew with under 30,000 miles on it. It's practically brand new and this problem is unheard of!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 2nd February, 2009

2nd Apr 2009, 20:02

You're not alone, mine went too -- at 40,000km. Love the form factor, hate the unreliability.

5th Jun 2009, 22:31

The 3.4 L is always been a blower upper... Surprised there are not more comments on these engines and SUVS!!!

2009 ford fusion owner+driver+carsurveyblogger.

CHAMBERS.

27th Feb 2010, 15:47

Blown head gasket again after I finished replacing the whole engine in December.. it went again 2 months later.. I am at a loss with this car. GM, never again!!

2005 Chevrolet Equinox from North America

Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Don't Know

Faults:

We have owned this piece of crap for 4 years now, and have always wished we hadn't bought it in the first place.

We just had to drop 2,000 on a new head gasket at 49,000 miles, which should not happen at this low mileage. We were told by the dealership that this has become a common occurrence on this model and year, but that it is not quite to the point where they will have a recall. We have received all the "we're really sorrys and I know this stinks... but" we can handle. If this is a known problem by GM and is not the fault of the owners, then why should we be held responsible to spend thousands fixing a defect?? I will never buy American again, and I really would like to.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 17th December, 2008

19th Mar 2010, 19:08

My 2006 with 88,000 kms needed new head gaskets... warranty over at 80,000 kms. Dealer offered no discount and wanted $2000 to fix, so I fixed myself for $800 including sending the heads out to be reconditioned.

2005 Chevrolet Equinox LT 6 cylinder from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 6 cylinder Automatic
Previous carVolkswagen Jetta

Summary:

Great, comfortable, solid feeling, safe car

Faults:

Gas gauge was not as accurate as I thought it should be. It was fixed and covered under warranty. The only thing to go wrong so far -- nearly 40,000 miles.

General Comments:

I have got to say this is the best car I have ever owned. I like sitting higher up (SUV) and feeling safer in the car. Side/front airbags. Great trip car, great driving during a snow storm -- cruises right through. Seats are comfortable, and seat heaters are nice for Minnesota winters.

I wish it got better gas mileage (20-28 mph). When driving my little Jetta, I felt vulnerable on the freeway because it's a pretty small car.

Turning radius could be a little better -- it's a bit clunky to turn in tight parking lots.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 27th November, 2008

2005 Chevrolet Equinox from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance68000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Equinox

Summary:

I love it

Faults:

Replaced brakes.

General Comments:

I've been reading all the comments about the 2005 Equinox. I ordered mine sight unseen and never regretted it for a minute. Yes, I replaced the brakes and tires. But I never had another problem. I traded it in late 2006 (because my car salesman husband told me that I needed to trade before 70,000 miles. I bought a 2007 Equinox. I love my Equinox!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th August, 2008

2005 Chevrolet Equinox LT from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission  
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.4 / 10
Distance when acquired300 miles
Most recent distance70000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Silverado

Summary:

Bad News

Faults:

Brakes started making noise after the first month.

I am having trouble starting and I took it to the dealership, and the mechanic told me my one of my fuel injectors was bad, and he would have to keep the car to find out which one it was. He said labor alone was going to cost me $510.00.

Driver side door will not shut off the lights or radio. Took it in twice for this repair.

Numbers/letters have worn off the radio and anywhere else they were supposed to be.

Leather seats have worn badly.

Had to replace windshield wipers after 5,000 miles, and it hardly rains in OK.

I have had so many problems with car, I just want people to know that if they are thinking about buying one, they should steer clear of this one. Dealerships are not going to help with anything when it comes to repairs. Especially if you keep taking it back in for the same thing over and over. I know I'll never buy from the dealership I bought this car from, ever again. Seems like they would treat a regular customer better than what I'm being treated. And I was a regular customer.

General Comments:

Never again will I buy a Chevrolet, especially from the dealer I bought this one from.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th August, 2008

Average review marks: 5.4 / 10, based on 28 reviews