2007 Chevrolet Spark LT 1.0 petrol from India

Summary:

Not suitable if you don't have a chauffeur to get it fixed every fortnight

Faults:

1. AC is simply useless. 2 tweaks by GM workshop, and it still refuses to cool the car.

2. Dashboard makes weird noises while accelerating.

3. On complaining, Dealer/Company give you a snob look, asking why you were cheap and bought their cheapest car.

4. Maintenance costs comparable with cars costing 3 times as much.

General Comments:

An OK car with good looks, but frequent problems ensure that a fortnight never passes when you don't have to worry about getting something fixed in a Spark.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th June, 2008

29th Jan 2009, 12:03

I am from Indonesia, Jakarta, and my yellow 2006 Chevy Spark has been around for at least 2 years.

To be honest, the Spark is too minimalist for me, but it works fine for my wife.

Anyway, I never found anything similar to your complaint, the air-con works okay for 2 years in a row. Yup, some noises did came from the front dash, and all I did is put something in the gap where the rattling noise came from. Well admit it, it is not a lavish car such as Aston Martin or McLaren.

And the way GM people welcome us is quite warm and friendly. They understand that they are dealing with economy car, not a cheap car.

Well, we come to no conclusion, it is a mere different perspective on the very same object I suppose.

Regards.

22nd Sep 2009, 10:31

I am from the Philippines. My spark is now almost a year, but I too have no problems with my aircon. It provides cool even during high noon. No rattling sound on the dashboard as well. In fact, I feel that it runs and performs better now that the first time I bought and used it. Of course, I follow the preventive maintenance service. It's possible that the problems in the thread are factory-related issues.

2007 Chevrolet Spark spark A/C 1.0 SOHC 8v MPFI from Venezuela

Summary:

FUN for trip only in town!

Faults:

Few minor details of workmanship, front wheel dis alignment not possible to be corrected since new... defect in both sides, one side caster and in the other other side bad camber value... toe corrected, but car still go to the right...A/C work fine, but... chevrolet may rethink A/C compressor start temperature value, too hot for my country, maybe good for economy, but its uncomfortable.. once it started, cabin cooling cycle its quick.

General Comments:

The its small, but feels solid, good balance, very cheap car, but impressive performance for this small engine...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th April, 2007

19th Jul 2009, 12:03

Yes totally agree with you, it's a really nice car, the best in the segment as well as in upper segment too. The truth is its actual name is Daewoo Matiz II 1.0 litre engine which came in 2003 all over the world. When GM bought Daewoo than Chevy came up with the Spark, which is nothing but a Daewoo Matiz II. Spark is 99.9 % taken from Daewoo Matiz II with just little cosmetic changes in the model with the looks that's it. I own Daewoo Matiz since 9 years; it's a complete masterpiece, no car on this earth can compete this one.

2006 Chevrolet Spark from South Africa

Summary:

Absolutely awesome! I love my car to bits!

General Comments:

Absolutely awesome, funky little car. The only problem that I have is after getting a puncture, trying to find a 145/07/13" tyre is an absolute mission.

Surely the dealers should keep some tyres in stock.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th August, 2006

19th Dec 2006, 01:30

Great, great, great, great - what more can one say. After driving a BMW 318i, 1998 I was greatly surprised by the Spark LT. I've been driving my Spark LT for two months now and have not missed by BMW. Fuel consumption is great. One must understand this is not a performance vehicle. If you want performance get yourself a BMW, etc. This is a lovely little car for driving from point A to B. It must be agreed that the Sparky is not a family vehicle, but can most definitely fit into any little space. My husband drives a BMW 528i, and what a mission to find a parking space. He prefer driving MY Sparky in town. I will have to end my comments with - GREAT, GREAT, GREAT, GREAT.