Dodge D250 Reviews - Page 2 of 4

1992 Dodge D250 SLT 4x4 5.9 12 Valve Cummins turbo diesel from North America

Model year1992
Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 5.9 12 Valve Cummins turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired189000 miles
Most recent distance476652 miles
Previous carDodge D250

Summary:

Best truck I've ever owned

Faults:

Clutch (from racing).

Transmission (racing).

Brakes.

General Comments:

I love this truck I have hauled 12,000 lbs with this truck and still ran 18 mpg and could run about 72 mph comfortably.

Stiff suspension, but a very reliable work truck off road and on. This truck has proven itself. Rain, snow, ice, sleet, I have driven this truck in the Missouri Ozarks through 14 inches of snow without chains and had minor slipping problems. Great truck!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th December, 2008

1992 Dodge D250 LE 5.9 Cummins from North America

Model year1992
Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 5.9 Cummins Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired227000 miles
Most recent distance389000 miles
Previous carDodge Ram Pickup

Summary:

The best truck I have ever owned

Faults:

The truck leaks when sitting in the rain, I guess the windshield gasket is the problem.

Rear wheel seals needed to be replaced when I bought the truck. The cruise control quit at about 300,000 miles.

General Comments:

After installing 4" exhaust, K&N filter, and having Cummings do little bit of work to the pump, the truck having an automatic transmission, you have to really watch what you're doing because I am afraid of tearing it up.

It is the fourth Dodge I have owned, all being diesel. The truck is better than having payments on a new one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 26th July, 2008

1981 Dodge D250 318 cu in from North America

Year of manufacture1981
First year of ownership1982
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 318 cu in Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance244500 miles
Previous carDodge Challenger

Summary:

A good heavy duty truck

Faults:

It has had a new transmission at about 150,000 miles. Other than that, the truck has been very good.

General Comments:

This truck has been very reliable for 26 years. It has been a work truck and has towed many loads.

It doesn't have to much punch at take off, but it will get it up shortly.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th June, 2008

2002 Dodge D250 2500 V8 magnum from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission V8 magnum Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired6 miles
Most recent distance200000 miles
Previous carDodge D150

Summary:

Sad that it's a nice truck with a bad problem

Faults:

At or around 30,000 miles, the front end would shake when hitting a bump at speeds higher than 50 mph. The dealer replaced the front shocks. That did not solve the problem. Took it back and they said they could not find anything wrong. Took it to another shop, and they replaced a worn track arm. Now the pickup steers hard and the front end still shakes the same way. What is the problem??? Am I the only one who suffers from this trouble?

General Comments:

If the trouble with this front end is not solved, I will trade it in for a different make pickup.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th May, 2007

22nd Jan 2008, 11:54

2007 2500 diesel. 3500 miles front end shake after hitting a bump at highway speed... here I come Ford dealer!!!

6th Oct 2009, 21:19

Had the same thing...long story short, it's the tires.

1992 Dodge D250 LE 5.9 turbo diesel from North America

Model year1992
Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 5.9 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired145000 miles
Most recent distance205000 miles
Previous carCadillac DeVille

Summary:

This is one of the strongest, most reliable vehicles ever built

Faults:

My transmission bearings went out at 175,000 miles.

The injection pump developed a leak at 200,000 miles.

No other problems at all since I have owned the truck.

General Comments:

This is a 14 year old truck that I still pull my 5th wheel travel trailer all over the United States every summer without any worries.

It will pull any load you want to hitch it to without any hesitation.

I get 20 miles per gallon empty and 15 miles per gallon loaded.

It can out pull and out run any new diesel pickup on the road today.

I have never owned a more reliable, safe and strong vehicle in my life.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th October, 2006

1992 Dodge D250 d250 LE from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired280000 miles
Most recent distance310000 miles
Previous carDodge Power Ram

Summary:

This is one of the best trucks I have bought used for the money

Faults:

Had rear end rebuilt last year and upgraded to a posi.

Drivers seat could stand to be recovered, but rest of interior is in good condition.

Right now am having a problem with the blower motor on the AC. When you run the motor on high it makes electrical wires on the ignition heat up. Will get very hot to the touch. Can run it on low for extended time, just not on high.

Speedometer Quit working.

Cruise control does not work.

Front windshield leaks very little only when parked.

General Comments:

Truck is very solid and in good shape for the miles on it.

Cummings turbo diesel runs great. Always cranks right up, does not smoke, and has decent fuel mileage.

Drives great down the road, but does have a rough ride if the road is not smooth.

It does not have any oil leaks at all at the engine, transmission, transfer case or anywhere else.

The 4-wheel drive works great and the truck has never left me broke down on the side of the road.

One note: the miles are as close as I can estimate. When I bought the truck it had 244,000 miles on it. The speedometer worked, but it was not counting miles anymore. The guy I bought it from said if he had to guess, he would think it had at least another 30,000 miles on top of that. I have owned it a 18 months and I have put another 30,000 or close to it on the truck as well. Thats a estimate, but I drive 100 miles a day to work and back round trip.

I also added a K and N FIPK system to the truck. They don't make one for this year model, but I used one for a 2004 Dodge 2500. I had to cut the tube a little, and secured it to the Alternator bracket. Looks like it was made for the truck. With that and the straight pipe exhaust the truck runs very well for as many miles as it has on it. I hope to get many more.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th August, 2006

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 15 reviews