1998 Dodge Stratus Reviews - Page 12 of 12

1998 Dodge Stratus ES 2.5L V-6 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.5L V-6 Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired3000 miles
Most recent distance106000 miles
Previous carFord Aerostar

Summary:

Good performance in such a cheap package

Faults:

Had to replace the brakes twice.

The air conditioner went out at 90,000 miles.

The door frame under the back right door has detached.

General Comments:

The only other thing really wrong with this car is that the cup holders are hard to sit your drinks in.

Other than that I love this car. The auto-stick in it is magnificent. It's so fun to just be driving and slap it into a lower gear and fly.

The engine sounds the best in the higher revs per minute. A little bit of muffler work could make this car sound wonderful.

The car has a low center of gravity for a sedan, and handles real well thanks to the double wishbone suspension.

Overall this is a great car for the price paid. Though I'd love to have the 200 horsepower of the new Stratus.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd November, 2001

1998 Dodge Stratus Base 2.4 L from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.4 L Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired57000 miles
Most recent distance64000 miles
Previous carFord Tempo

Summary:

Excellent

Faults:

I've had no problems with the car as of right now.

I recently had the cooling system flushed and some paint fixed.

General Comments:

I love my Stratus.

I bought it back in March when my old car was just about to bite the dust.

It's got excellent pickup for a 4-cylinder.

I've achieved 32 miles to the gallon cruising at 75 on the highway on long trips.

The factory speakers in the car are surprisingly nice.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th October, 2001

1998 Dodge Stratus from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired10000 miles
Most recent distance43000 miles

Summary:

Great car but too many mechanical problems

Faults:

I just got back from the dealer. I need a new head gasket at only 43,000 miles. This is a known problem with these cars. The dealer won't cover it under warranty (ran out at 38,000 miles). Eats brakes. Already need new rotors. Paint on door handle is peeling. Have replaced both rear power window motors.

General Comments:

Cup holders are useless. Peppy engine. I really liked this car, but I will not buy again. I am trading it in. I wish I would've heard more about the head gasket before I bought the car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 3rd July, 2001

28th Feb 2002, 10:08

At 56,000 I had my head gasket go out and was charged $250.00 for the replacement when the gasket and labor I was told would be covered mainly by Chrysler. The price listing for the gasket was only $100.00. So I am trying to find out the real coverage by Chrysler.

I know I have been ripped off to some degree by the Chrysler dealer here because on the list of things replaced was the oil and oil filter, and I had changed the oil the night before I took it in to the dealership to have the head gasket repaired. And when I came home I checked to see if the oil filter was the same brand. And low and behold the oil filter had never been changed. That is unless the dealer happened to put on the same "Wal-Mart" brand that I put on it. Hmmmmmmmmmmmm

Thanks Chrysler dealer. No more Chrysler products for me ever!!!

1998 Dodge Stratus 2.4 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership1998
Engine and transmission 2.4 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired450 miles
Most recent distance30000 miles

Summary:

Fairly well engineered vehicle!

Faults:

Nothing has really gone wrong with this Stratus except for the dealer recalls that were sent out.

I'm still waiting for all the bad things that I have heard to start happening, hope I don't jinx myself.

The only thing that I am irritated about with this 98 Stratus is the fact that when the temperature gets down to zero or below, the front and rear suspension creaks badly. Chrysler dealer here says there is no fix.

General Comments:

This Stratus has been a pretty good car so far.

Handles and looks great.

Good performance cruising in town or on the highway.

Other than the suspension and a couple of interior noises, it's a great car!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th May, 2001

4th Oct 2005, 11:57

Oh my goodness, I have the same problem with my 98 stratus. The noise when it is cold out. All in all though, I truly love my car!! Sorry to all those who have had such issues with theirs.

27th Dec 2005, 16:15

I am so relieved to have bought a new car and am getting rid of my 98 stratus. lemon doesn't even touch what that terrible car was to me. I will never buy another dodge car because of this issue. thanks to dodge - I bought a Chevy. that car took more fluids per day than I required for my own body.

1998 Dodge Stratus Base 2.4L from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.4L Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired47000 miles
Most recent distance49000 miles
Previous carMazda Protege

Summary:

Great performance, good used car value

Faults:

Transmission slips a bit (needs a good fluid flush).

Left outer mirror does not adjust electrically.

Front cup holders are barely functional.

All power windows sound like they're straining when they go up or down.

Braking power is functional but not inspiring, sometimes squeaky.

Be sure to follow the "Severe Service" maintenance schedule and do routine inspections of the car (lights, etc.). If you get a domestic car, you have to expect regular maintenance - period.

General Comments:

This car flat out flies! Very good pickup in the low-to-mid-RPM range. Handling is well above average, could be improved by performance tires (I have granny-car Michelins now). I really enjoy the car and would recommend it.

Maintenance is very straight-forward and not terribly complex, parts are readily available and of average cost.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 3rd April, 2001

1998 Dodge Stratus Base 2.4 DOHC 4cyl from North America

Year of manufacture1998
Engine and transmission 2.4 DOHC 4cyl
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10

Faults:

Turn signal switch failed, rear defroster relay failed, headlights had condensation. Nothing major, everything was promptly fixed by the dealer.

General Comments:

Good:

Nice overall package. Fun car to drive, good on gas on the highway. Lots of leg room. Handles well, looks good!

Bad:

No rear headrests, headlights lack range, wipers are too slow. Although the engine *can* be pushed, you can tell that it's aching. It's a heavy car, get the V6. Eats gas in the city. Could go well with wider grippier tires.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 10th September, 1999

1998 Dodge Stratus from North America

Year of manufacture1998
Engine and transmission  
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10

Faults:

I have had no problems with my Stratus.

General Comments:

Handles great. Good gas mileage. Love to drive it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th June, 1998

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 44 reviews