1996 Ford Aspire Reviews - Page 5 of 5

1996 Ford Aspire from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired45000 miles
Most recent distance53000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

This car is good for people who only want to use it to get around town, and have no car seat kids.

Faults:

The brakes started to go bad at 51,000 miles.

At 53,000 miles the transmition is going out.

My muffler is also in need of replacing at 53,000 miles.

General Comments:

This car has good gas mileage.

It is reliable, and I have taken it on several long freeway trips.

It has no power, especially when excelerating. I have to floor it to get up to speed when pulling out of my driveway.

I have a child now, and it is very difficult taking the infant seat in and out of the back seat.

The front seats are comfortable, but the back seats lack leg room. Three people in the back seat are squished.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th May, 2002

21st Jan 2006, 20:30

As an owner of a 4-door 1996 Aspire, I can attest to the fact that the rear seats are NOT designed for 3 people! Exceeding the design capacity in ANY vehicle will result in people being "squished", and is not the fault of the car.

17th Mar 2006, 17:46

Yea if you look in the manual it says sits four that's why there isn't a fifth seat belt in the back.

18th Mar 2006, 11:19

The Aspire was the model to replace the wonderful Festiva, a small car, so it shouldn't surprise anyone that the Aspire is designed to only seat four. My old Festiva could fit four, but it was really designed as a two passenger commuter car.

1996 Ford Aspire from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired56000 miles
Most recent distance67000 miles
Previous carPontiac Sunbird

Summary:

It is a great little car, very happy with it!!!

General Comments:

A faulty connection that would not allow the car to start.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 16th March, 2001

1996 Ford Aspire from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance65000 miles
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

A waste of money in the long run

Faults:

Well many many many.... immediately the CV joint went out, I had an ignition problem, my speedometer has a popping which no dealer can figure out, the hood was not level. I am most unhappy that I can't find an Aspire on a dealer page, I have to look under its other name, the KIA Avella which has all of the same problems. I wish I had never bought the car. It was supposed to be an economy car.... Look at what I spend on repairs.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th June, 2000

29th May 2001, 20:03

Speedometer in back where cable goes in needs to be packed with grease and it will stop the noise.

1996 Ford Aspire 1.3 from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership1999
Engine and transmission 1.3 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired300 miles
Most recent distance86000 miles
Previous carFord Festiva

Summary:

Big car in a small car shape!

General Comments:

This was a great little car until that mammoth of a SUV rear ended the poor little thing. Never had a chance. Luckily none of my kids were with me in the back seat. I never had any problems with the thing it just went and went and went like a good little car should.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th March, 2000

14th Oct 2001, 15:16

The first year I had my 1997 Ford aspire someone made a left hand turn right in front of me at 45 miles per hour and completly totaled my front end. It was considered totaled. The good news was it did exactly what it was supposed to do in a accident. Deployed the two air bags and crumbled properly!

1996 Ford Aspire 1.3 from North America

Year of manufacture1996
Engine and transmission 1.3
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10

Faults:

Airbags deployed when I hit a small pot hole, luckily no one was hurt. Rear bearings have gone out.

General Comments:

Car is pretty good but with this automatic tranny it's really just not powerful enough for todays roads.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd October, 1999

1996 Ford Aspire 3dh 1.3 from North America

Year of manufacture1996
Engine and transmission 1.3
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10

Faults:

The keys warp, the exhaust system is rusted. The vents don't often stay in one position.

General Comments:

You know, I have 50k on it and it's never given me a problem. It's the butt of many jokes, but, it's been reliable and cheap to own.

Ford, well, they could work on there service, but, regardless of what folks say, I like it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 18th September, 1999

1996 Ford Aspire 1.3 from North America

Year of manufacture1996
Engine and transmission 1.3
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10

Faults:

Nothing yet, besides new tires.

General Comments:

The car is really good, Ford however is quite rude, they need to have some customer service training. But this car is wonderful.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 18th September, 1999

Average review marks: 6.4 / 10, based on 22 reviews