2004 Ford F350 Reviews - Page 3 of 3

2004 Ford F350 Lariat 6.0 turbo diesel from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 6.0 turbo diesel Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired14240 miles
Most recent distance18900 miles
Previous carFord F350

Summary:

This is the best truck you can buy

Faults:

I have had no mechanical or electrical problems with this truck.

General Comments:

This is a very well built and designed truck. The new 5 speed transmission finally shifts well pulling heavy trailers. 6 litre diesel is strong and quiet. Interior is comfortable and well designed. I do miss the air operated lumbar from 10 years ago. Visibility out of this truck is excellent. A super truck all around.

I like the feel of the dually, the ride is stiff yet smooth.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th May, 2005

2004 Ford F350 Lariet 6.0 from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 6.0 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired13 miles
Most recent distance27500 miles
Previous carDodge Grand Caravan

Summary:

This truck has been the best vehicle I have ever owned

Faults:

Fuel moisture sensor failed- replaced at no charge.

Oil plug has leaked twice after oil changes.

General Comments:

This truck is everything I wanted as a tow vehicle for my 32' 5th wheel trailer.

Good performance with trailer or empty.

Very comfortable for long distance driving.

We drove this truck 15,000 miles last year, most of it pulling our trailer. Our fuel mileage averaged 12.5 miles per gallon. We covered 23 states in six months with no vehicle problems and the tires still look like new.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th April, 2005

22nd Mar 2013, 06:56

Your oil plug does not sound like an issue. Most likely the O-ring was bad or missing. If you changed your oil, look into that part and replace it every time, and if you took it in, don't go back there.

2004 Ford F350 Lariet 6.0 from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 6.0 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired450 miles
Most recent distance6000 miles
Previous carFord F150

Summary:

It's a great truck and I love it

Faults:

Nothing!

General Comments:

Surprisingly quick for a diesel. Very roomy and loaded with features.

The only draw back for this dually, long bed is the turning radius.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th December, 2004

12th Mar 2005, 20:00

I personally know 12 (twelve) people here in my town with new Ford pickups, and EVERY one of them has had transmission problems. There is something seriously wrong with that. All of these trucks are new enough they are still under warranty luckily, but that doesn't make it right. I actually really like the powerstroke, but what is up with Ford and their transmissions?

12th Apr 2005, 18:59

Can anyone verify the calims of poor transmission on the Ford 350 Diesel?

6th Apr 2006, 19:22

I personally think that ford has the best truck on the road and that the transmission and the power stroke diesel might have problems after 100,000 miles due to wear, but nothing before. The '04 had a few problems, but every single truck and person that I have talked to agrees that the problems are over and that the truck is a beast. Built Ford Tough.

31st Jul 2007, 16:02

I have had my '04 Superduty since it was new. It has a EDGE chip in it and has been used to tow since day one. Average load ranges are from 10000 to 30000 lbs. This truck now has 90,000 miles on it and has never had a problem either transmission or motor wise. Been a great truck all around, now if I could just keep theives out of it...

1st Dec 2007, 19:29

Ford F350 - Amazing trucks, but they do have a tranny problem. I love my truck, but I still haven't figured the problem out.

Average review marks: 6.0 / 10, based on 9 reviews