2000 Ford Ranger Reviews - Page 4 of 10

2000 Ford Ranger 4x4 Ext Cab Sport 4.0 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 4.0 Automatic
Distance when acquired145000 miles
Most recent distance150000 miles
Previous carJeep Grand Cherokee

Summary:

Not trustworthy

Faults:

Transmission problems/transmission shifts hard from first & second gear. Fluids have all been changed at 145000 miles.

Runs good, looks good, just don't feel safe driving it. Constantly worried the trans could go at any time. Any suggestions?

General Comments:

This is a very nice truck. I just wish Ford would do a recall & fix the transmission, seeing how there seems to be a lot of people that own these Rangers with the same problem as I have.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th January, 2009

13th Jan 2009, 06:57

I just hate it when high mileage used cars and trucks fail.

16th Aug 2009, 13:38

Automatic transmissions used in Rangers are plagued with problems. The manual transmissions are, from what I understand, bulletproof. You might be happier with a 5-speed, as long as it's driven properly.

2000 Ford Ranger XLT 4.0 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 4.0 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired95000 miles
Most recent distance106000 miles
Previous carChrysler Eagle Vision

Summary:

Excellent

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

I've had this truck now for nine months. I have put 10,000 miles. on it. I have not had one thing go wrong with it. It handles excellent, has a nice smooth ride and it looks sharp. It rides a little better after I put the camper shell on. The little extra weight gives less bounce on their rear end. I have the five-speed stick. My only complaint, which I already knew about going into it was bad gas mileage. It got 15 to the gallon before and after the camper shell. I love this truck.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th August, 2008

2000 Ford Ranger XLT 3.0L V6 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 3.0L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance99000 miles
Previous carFord Ranger

Summary:

Reliable mid-sized/compact truck

Faults:

60,000 miles oil pan gasket leak. Took dealer a week and a half to replace under warranty. Once replaced, no problem since.

60,000 miles ball joints replaced. Common Ranger/Explorer problem. Dealer said it was "in my head" and refused to replace under warranty. Took it to private mechanic, ball joints completely worn out. Replaced ball joints, and they are greased at every oil change. No problem since.

80,000 alternator starts to die approximately 50 miles from my home. Got home no problem, and started up in 20 degree weather with little relative problem. Replaced alternator, no problem since.

97,000 foam in driver's side seat begins to wear.

Check engine light goes off at 98,000 miles. Scanned codes, cylinder 6 misfire. Tune up performed, fixed problem. Spark plugs show normal wear, no sign of any problems. Increased performance. Nearly 100,000 miles on stock plugs and wires, not too bad.

General Comments:

This is my second Ranger, and will definitely not be my last. Since it was a used fleet vehicle when I purchased it, I cannot be sure of how it was maintained and/or abused. Everything that went wrong is normal wear and tear, and despite everything it has never left me stranded on the side of the road.

As stated before, this will not be my second Ranger, unless I decide to upgrade in size and move on up to a F250 Diesel.

My only real complaint with this truck is the dealer I purchased it from.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd March, 2008

2000 Ford Ranger XLT 3.0 V6 FlexFuel from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 FlexFuel Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired50008 miles
Most recent distance65498 miles
Previous carGMC Safari

Summary:

Satisfied with power, economy, and 4X4 capabilities

Faults:

Since I purchased the vehicle I have only had to replace the slave cylinder in the clutch system.

General Comments:

Generally the truck is reliable and I was impressed with the capability of the four-wheel-drive. The fuel economy is pretty good, at about 19mpg city/23mpg hwy; with a 3.0 V6 that's not too bad. I was glad to have bought my Ford Ranger. And to any of those who have tons of problems with their Ford automatic transmission, try a 5 speed manual. Automatic transmissions are a joke!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th January, 2008

2000 Ford Ranger cab plus 3.0 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired89000 miles
Most recent distance98000 miles
Previous carMazda B4000

Summary:

Twin to the mazda

Faults:

Temp control heater valve, cleaned # 2 bank O2 sensor.

General Comments:

Comfort is great, rides good for a truck, but has so so gas mileage. could be better for a 3.0 cold a/c. If you are buying one good for the 4.0 its worth the extra money.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th May, 2007

2000 Ford Ranger XLT V6 Flex Fuel from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission V6 Flex Fuel Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired35500 miles
Most recent distance48500 miles
Previous carFord Focus

Summary:

Dependable, reliable truck

Faults:

Absolutely nothing. I bought this car used as a utility vehicle and owned it for 3 years and never had a single thing go bad on it. I would definitely give it an A+ for reliability.

General Comments:

This car won't accelerate or stop quickly. It won't make sharp turns. It will run forever. This was one of the most reliable cars I have owned. If you want a solid, dependable workhorse the Ranger is for you. It isn't flashy or quick, but it will start-up no matter how cold it is and it will get the job done. If you are big on reliability and quality this is the truck for you.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st August, 2006

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 37 reviews