2000 Ford Ranger Reviews - Page 5 of 10

2000 Ford Ranger XLT 4.0 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 4.0 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Most recent distance79000 miles
Previous carFord Ranger

Summary:

Great truck for the price

Faults:

This is actually my brother's truck. He bought it while in training in Arizona. He bought the truck with around 50000 miles or so. It is a 4.0L extended cab 4 by4.

So far nothing has gone wrong with it.

General Comments:

Great 4wd.The autolocking hubs still works fine. My brother made a 2500-3000 mile trip from Arizona to Ky with no problems. Then to N.C. and back to Kentucky again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th June, 2006

11th Jun 2006, 13:18

Meant back to KY. Sorry.

2000 Ford Ranger XLT Supercab 2X4 4 door 3.0 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired65000 miles
Most recent distance92000 miles
Previous carFord Ranger

Summary:

Overall reliable truck

Faults:

2nd gear shift solenoids in the auto transmission: cost $500.

General Comments:

Great truck. Minimal repairs. The mileage could be better. Only get 20 mpg. The mid-sized v-6 lack power for the mileage. My previous Ranger got 27 mpg with the 4 cylinder, 5 speed, which had nearly as much power as this one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th October, 2005

2000 Ford Ranger XLT 3.0L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.0L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired62000 miles
Most recent distance75000 miles

Summary:

Overall, it's a very solid and reliable truck!

Faults:

The truck would hesitate, die out, and/or just bog down. Took it to the dealer and they said I needed a new emissions system which cost $500.

Just keep the oil changed and you'll be fine.

General Comments:

Overall the Ranger is a good running and reliable truck. It is very easy to park and back up with. The cab is pretty roomy for being a compact pickup. Gas mileage for me is about 18mpg. My truck doesn't have any power options though I have become accustom to cranking up the windows. The biggest plus for me is all the exterior and performance modifications that can be made on it. One can really make their Ranger stand out with exterior modifications though I rarely see another ranger that looks like mine. The only downside is that no matter what you do to the engine, you will never be able to keep up with a muscle car or a car with a turbo. But if your just looking for a reliable vehicle that will start every winter morning and last in the long haul, the Ranger is a great choice. I'm sad to say that I'm selling mine, but only do to the lack of speed. It's a great vehicle to learn how to drive in.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th August, 2005

2000 Ford Ranger XLT 6cy 4.0L from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 6cy 4.0L Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired38000 miles
Most recent distance71000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen GTI

Summary:

It's fine, but I will consider another brand next time around

Faults:

At 70,000 miles the head-gasket and transmission had to be replaced. I put absolutely no stress on this truck. I chalk it up to poor manufacturing.

General Comments:

In general the truck has performed well, but costs are simply too high to keep it running.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th June, 2005

19th Jan 2006, 12:50

I have one, and not only does it have over 70000 miles on it, it is a very easy truck to work on. Mine has been very good. Gets good gas mileage and is reliable.

23rd Mar 2007, 12:30

I have a 2000 ford ranger (XLT) 4X4 and it still runs as good as when I got it new. It has over 100000 miles and still running, the only little problem I have is the check engine light, ran a check on the computer and it is the O2 sensor. Replaced it and had no other problems.

2000 Ford Ranger XLT 2.5L from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.5L Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired74000 miles
Most recent distance88000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Nova

Summary:

Great truck, I would reccommend this to anyone who wants a truck for light work around the house

Faults:

Nothing really, the door ajar light does come on and stay on occasionally, I may need to get that looked at, nothing big though.

General Comments:

This truck has been very reliable for me.

The 2.5L 5 speed manual is a great combo. It may not be the most powerful truck in the world, but you can't beat 25 mpg with a truck. The manual transmission cuts down on a lot of the maintenance problems that some people have the automatics.

I got this truck to get me to and from college. It's not the best interstate traveler in the world, but I love it and plan on keeping it through the rest of college, which is another 3 years.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th March, 2005

2000 Ford Ranger XLT 3.0 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired86000 miles
Most recent distance106000 miles
Previous carFord Ranger

Summary:

The best light truck on the market

Faults:

Door ajar light comes on and stays on some times. A 16 dollar switch from Ford.

General Comments:

Great truck!Have owned 5 different rangers in the last 18 years and all of them have been great trucks.I'm an ASE certified mechanic with 25 years in the automotive field, my last Ranger had 254,000 miles on it and still going strong when I decided to buy this one. You can't go wrong buying a Ranger.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 19th March, 2005

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 37 reviews