1992 Ford Sierra GLSi Sapphire 2.0L twin cam from UK and Ireland

Summary:

A good all rounder

Faults:

In 3 years nothing at all except brake pads and discs (once).

General Comments:

The best used car I have ever owned in 23 years of motoring. Also a very safe and ample towcar.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th May, 2001

1992 Ford Sierra LX 1.8 CVH from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Cheap and nasty... big mistake

Faults:

Water pump - first week.

Fuel pump.

Head gasket.

Stem seals.

Piston rings.. (oil control).

Battery.

Brake drums, discs, pads and shoes.

Brake pipes.

Handbrake cable.

Petrol tank.

EEC module twice!!!

General Comments:

When it runs, it runs well, but when it don't, it really don't!!

I just want more reliability.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th April, 2001

28th May 2001, 16:59

Bought mine for 400 quid. Have done 36,000 miles since, and only had to replace clutch and a seized caliper. The car has now done 110,000. What you whinging about...

27th Sep 2002, 12:55

Have caravan 1.8 cvh 1992. It is noisy, but so far reliable (156 000 km). Spends oil at high revs, does not like high revs. Hard suspension, ABS responses far to premature. Bodywork good, not rusty, rear door squeeking at every bump.

1992 Ford Sierra GT Estate 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Summary:

An estate car with excellent performance

Faults:

Clutch unit failed, mechanical.

General Comments:

Seriously quick, handles well, one of the rarer models, bodywork still very, very good.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd April, 2001

7th Jan 2003, 13:57

This is one of the most exciting cars I have driven. Before I got my GT, I had a 318i automatic BMW. The BMW was a lot slower than the gt and also used more fuel.

1992 Ford Sierra LX 1.8 CVH from UK and Ireland

Summary:

A comfortable, economical, indestructible workhorse

Faults:

Rear light cluster suffered corrosion, cheap to fix.

1 battery.

Apart from tyres, exhausts (only on its third) and one set of shox at 75K, it's bombproof and still gives 40mpg when driven gently.

General Comments:

Dynamically prehistoric, but when you want to get from A to B in great comfort, with reliability and use little fuel it can't be beaten.

One of the last Fords (or any car) that you can easily service. Apart from cambelt changes it never saw a dealer from 36k to 148k, and I'm a mechanical dunce...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th February, 2001

12th Jan 2002, 06:14

I too still have my 1992 Sierra coming up to 100K and its still one of the most comfortable work horses around, mainly used for the weekly Tesco trip but still drives superbly even with half the store in the boot.

23rd Jul 2002, 11:36

My 1991 Sapphire 1.8LX has Just completed 132K and requires another battery. The duff battery is 5 years old now. Have had a maximum of 49.5 m.p.g. Great practical motor.

1992 Ford Sierra LX from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Good value for money

Faults:

Having not had a service since I got it, the car has done remarkably well needing only a complete new set of brakes, a water pump and 4 new tyres. Recently the car has started back firing and missing very badly for no apparent reason. Service next week should cure that.

General Comments:

Paid £2500 for it 2 years ago. Very quick for an 18 year old and only £100 more to insure too! It handles like a fish with the rear end swinging about in the wet. You have to become something of a rally driver to keep the thing on the road!

The engine rattles after 100,000 miles but that can be expected with the mileage and age.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th February, 2001

1992 Ford Sierra Sapphire Ghia 2.0i DOHC from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Luxury at a bargain price

Faults:

None.

General Comments:

Very comfortable family car, extremely economical for its size, I am averaging 34 mpg and I do not drive slowly.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th January, 2001

1992 Ford Sierra XR4x4 2.9 V6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Unknown quality to most

Faults:

New front suspension bushes.

Various locks changed due to wear.

New alternator and battery.

General Comments:

Car has all the power required for any function.

Handling is second to no other car in its class and above.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th January, 2001

1992 Ford Sierra LX Estate 1.8 from UK and Ireland

Summary:

A good workhorse, where a van is not practical

Faults:

So far the car has been faultless.

General Comments:

The old girl drives very well and brings about 30mpg.

Running costs are low.

Can carry a large amount things in the rear.

Does not burn or leak oil (yet).

Body work is mint.

Look out for good ones as there are a lot of crap ones out there.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th November, 2000

1992 Ford Sierra Sapphire Classic 1.8 CVH from UK and Ireland

Summary:

An unbreakable workhorse

Faults:

All four shockers had to replaced for an MOT along with the rear brake hoses.

Six months ago it needed new front brake discs, pads and anti roll bar bushes.

General Comments:

The car has a full service history and performs admirably for a car of this mileage.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st November, 2000