2001 Hyundai Santa Fe Reviews - Page 4 of 5

2001 Hyundai Santa Fe GLS 2.7L from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.7L Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired25555 miles
Most recent distance44900 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Am

Summary:

Good looking, but too many problems/headaches

Faults:

I have had the car for almost one year.

These are the problems fixed so far:

-Fog light switch

-Rear door switch/handle

-Rear wiper motor

-Alternator

-Starter (left me stranded at work)

-Front pass. seat belt unit

-Front pass. window assembly (made noise going down)

-Front pass. door locks (lock would get stuck)

-Rear brakes squeal continuously, disk brakes.

-Seat belt chime delay.

General Comments:

I bought a 1st model year vehicle and am paying the price.

Also, the engine is underpowered.

They are slowly rebuilding my car part by part.

Overall, inside of car is comfortable and quiet. Nice features, i.e. cup holders, sunglass holder, map lights.

Transmission rough.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 12th March, 2004

2001 Hyundai Santa Fe GLS V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired54100 miles
Most recent distance54600 miles
Previous carDodge Intrepid

Summary:

A classy SUV - at a reasonable price

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong, but then again, I really don't drive much at all.

General Comments:

I fell in love with this SUV the minute I laid eyes on it.

The seats (leather) are very comfortable.

The stock stereo is excellent.

Even though it is shorter than my previous car, I have more room.

My daughters come up with every excuse why they need to take my vehicle now.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd January, 2004

2001 Hyundai Santa Fe 4wd from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance43000 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Am

Summary:

I would only trade it for another one

Faults:

I purchase my car brand new off the lot, having a SUV with great performance with a look like the Santa Fe was a dream come true, since I had the car I have gotten a lot of attention. It is great on gas and performance, I personally love it. the only problem I have had is my engine light came on once or twice, after making a trip to the dealer I haven't had any other problems, I keep the oil change on regular basis and it runs like it looks, GREAT.

General Comments:

This is a car that I would recommend to any one, especially a Woman.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th September, 2003

2001 Hyundai Santa Fe GL 4.0 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.0 Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.2 / 10
Distance when acquired500 miles
Most recent distance80000 miles
Previous carHyundai Acura Slx

Summary:

I feel my Sante Fe is a complete Lemon

Faults:

Six months after purchasing my Sante Fe, The engine began to seize up and the malfunction light would go on and off over extended periods of time.

For The remaining year I was in and out of numerous dealers for the same problem. Every dealer from N.J. to G.A. has claimed to have fixed this problem.

In the summer of 2002 my Sante Fe cut off while driving on the highway for no apparent reason. Both Hyundai certified dealers in G.A. I towed the car to claimed it was a bad sensor too bad spark plug.

After two months of several repeated incidents they said the car needed a new timing belt. The timing belt was replaced in July of 2002, and now not even 20k miles later the new timing belt snapped on my way from G.A. to N.J. with leaving my children and I stranded in Roanoke Virginia.

General Comments:

My Sante Fe has been in and out of the shop more than I have been in and out of the Doctors office, with 2 small children.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st April, 2003

2001 Hyundai Santa Fe LX 2.7 V6 from Singapore

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.7 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired73 kilometres
Most recent distance1005 kilometres
Previous carVolvo 960

Summary:

Value for money

Faults:

So far it has been excellent. Not a single fault has been detected.

General Comments:

The V6 engine is really smooth and quiet. It has more accessories compared to cars that cost 40% more. Overall, very well built. I believe that I would keep this car for a very long time!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th October, 2002

2001 Hyundai Santa Fe 2.7 V6 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.7 V6 Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance42000 kilometres
Previous carNissan Patrol

Summary:

The most economical, good sized 4X4 on the market

Faults:

Absolutely nothing has gone wrong!

General Comments:

I believe that this 4X4 offers the best size/economy/price/warranty combination on the market.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd July, 2002

2001 Hyundai Santa Fe GL from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired18 kilometres
Most recent distance1600 kilometres
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Performance, looks, safety -- the Sante Fe has it all

Faults:

The air conditioner did not work when I received the vehicle. I took it back a few days later and waited 4 hours for the dealer to connect it properly.

There is a whistling-tinkling sound coming from the driver side mirror. It is something to do with a gasket, I believe.

General Comments:

My Sante Fe rides even smoother and handles better than the 2 Honda Accord Coupes I've owned since 1988.

The grey interior that came with my breezy blue Sante Fe is a bit dull.

Overall, it's a great vehicle with a fabulous body design and I love it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 1st May, 2002

23rd Mar 2003, 23:42

This review is inacurate.

The Sante Fe does not get very good mileage. They claim to get 24 mpg around town. Or over 11 litres used per 100 kilometers.

I drive very close to 2200 km. per month I burn about 330 litres of fuel (the price of which has fluctuated, mostly upward, in price) by my calculations, I am using about 15 litres of fuel in 100 km. Nowhere near the economy Hyundai advertises. Are other manufacturers this deceptive?

The more I look at my Sante Fe, the more I have to question what I was thinking at the time I signed the papers to lease this bizarre looking thing. The bad fuel economy reinforces this regret.

20th Dec 2005, 07:37

"My Sante Fe rides even smoother and handles better than the 2 Honda Accord Coupes I've owned since 1988."

Which planet was that on. have you ever tried going through a bend / curve / corner in your Santa Fe? Its center of gravity is easily 3 feet high! Even with those huge wheels are only just enough to keep it on the road.

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 23 reviews