2001 Hyundai Santa Fe Reviews - Page 5 of 5

2001 Hyundai Santa Fe LX 2.7 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.7 V6 Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance0 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

A great SUV for under 22 thousand

Faults:

Absolutely nothing. Everything is running smoothly.

General Comments:

This SUV has been a joy to ride since the day I bought it. The V6 has power and great performance. I recommend it for people who are looking for a Ford Explorer or a Toyota Highlander. Just one thing, I really think they should have put a sun roof.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 2nd September, 2001

2001 Hyundai Santa Fe LX 2.7 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.7 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired40 miles
Most recent distance1040 miles
Previous carChevrolet Corsica

Summary:

My dream car!!

Faults:

1 1/2 weeks into ownership the CD player went wacko. I was in the middle of listening to a CD and it would just start and stop on its own. I changed to another CD thinking that one had some problems. Well halfway into the first song of the 2nd CD, the player just spat out the CD. The green "CD in" light stayed on and the CD motor kept running. This continued even after I turned the car off and took out the key.

I called the dealership and was able to bring it in the next day. They disconnected the CD part from the radio. They had to order a new CD play/radio, which took about a week and then they replaced it.

General Comments:

I love my Santa Fe. I get so many comments while either I am at the grocery store, the bank, the library, and even in my own driveway while I'm washing it. I have the Pine Green color, which is a "rare bird", but that's what I had to have. It's AWESOME!!

Handles great!

Great value for what you get.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st August, 2001

8th Mar 2004, 12:38

I also had the same problem with my Sante Fe. I had the battery changed, the alternator changed and the computer reprogrammed three times. So far, no problems.

They did have to recenly replace the rear struts because the driver side was lower than the passenger side in the back.

I wish I would just get good gas mileage on my tank. They changed one of the floats in the gas tank and I did get almost 385 miles on a tank of gas for about one month, but now I am back to 200, 250 if I am lucky.

8th Feb 2011, 16:34

I am in the market for a Sante Fe and want one really bad, but I do not want to buy something that is going to give me problems... I have two children and want the space.

What do you guys think?

2001 Hyundai Santa Fe GLS 1.8L V-6 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.8L V-6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance1400 miles
Previous carChrysler PT Cruiser

Summary:

The Hyundai Santa Fe exceeds my expectations every day

Faults:

The only service required so far was the CD player. It would not eject a played CD, and then, suddenly released it the next day when the ignition was turned on. The dealership replaced it promptly and cheerfully.

General Comments:

I am very satisfied with the performance, gas mileage, ride, and handling of my new Santa Fe.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th July, 2001

8th Sep 2003, 09:15

Good for Hyunday -- unlike Opel/Vauxhall (see my comment on the Zafira/Vectra/Frontera Engine Control Unit fault), they seem capable of solving the problems they create: the 2003 Santa Fés -- as sold in Spain in September 2003 -- all come with Alpine audio systems to replace their buggy ones.

2001 Hyundai Santa Fe from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance16000 miles
Previous carHyundai Elantra

Summary:

An awesome price and ride!

Faults:

Nothing!

General Comments:

This is a must have for anyone who wants a tough SUV!!! I LOVE IT!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th July, 2001

2001 Hyundai Santa Fe GL 6 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 6 cylinder Automatic
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired167 miles
Most recent distance220 miles
Previous carHyundai Sundance Duster

Summary:

Excellent Vehicle. Would recommend this SUV to all!

General Comments:

I absolutely love my Sante Fe. Runs excellent and a luxury ride! Hyundai backs their automobile 100%.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 18th June, 2001

2001 Hyundai Santa Fe 2.4 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.4 Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired20 miles
Most recent distance6212 miles
Previous carHyundai Toyota Corolla

Summary:

Awesome!

Faults:

Absolutley nothing! We love, love, love this inexpensive SUV!

Heads turn every time we drive by. It looks like an expensive car. But it really is very affordable.

We are even thinking of buying another one, for his and hers.

The ride is very comfortable and is bigger than a lot of the more expensive SUV's out there.

General Comments:

This is a wonderful car.

So far it has been well worth our hard earned money!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th April, 2001

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 23 reviews