1999 Infiniti G20 Reviews

1999 Infiniti G20 from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired98000 miles
Most recent distance144000 miles
Previous carMazda 626

Summary:

A great car, if well maintained

Faults:

At about 140,000 miles, the transmission completely went out, after lengthy trouble with it.

More recently, after having the transmission replaced, the car sputters when the gas tank is at, or below half full. Not sure how serious or common this is. I've tried to clean the injectors as well, seems to be reoccurring.

Sometimes when it rains the back of the car makes a growling sound, especially going around curves at a higher speed (like on the interstate).

I've replaced the brakes several times, and they seem to run down quickly.

The trunk sometimes does not want to close.

General Comments:

There isn't much that I dislike about this car. For its age, the car does not show it, it's very well made!

It's roomy and comfortable on even the longest of trips.

The front window is very large and easy to see out of, though the back end of the car sits higher, making the back window more difficult to see through.

It drives well, and aside from an occasional issue with the shifting, it has good pick up and is usually easy on gas.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th February, 2010

1999 Infiniti G20 2.0 from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired58000 kilometres
Most recent distance140000 kilometres
Previous carDodge Neon

Summary:

Good buy

Faults:

Starter gave out at 130K, usual brakes and tires. Original lasted 100K.

General Comments:

Very happy with this purchase and no complaints. The back seats aren't made for 3 people, but my family got bigger after a few years I bought the car, I now use it to commute and the stereo and seats are great. I have a little rattle noise under the dash, but nothing serious.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th May, 2007

1999 Infiniti G20 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired17000 miles
Most recent distance30000 miles
Previous carLexus ES250

Summary:

A great performance oriented luxury vehicle

General Comments:

This car is a very reliable car.

I have not had anything go wrong with the car.

The car has a very reliable engine (SR20DE) known for it's performance.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th March, 2004

1999 Infiniti G20 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired300 miles
Most recent distance104231 miles
Previous carMitsubishi Eclipse

Summary:

Too bad they stopped making it

Faults:

A week after I purchased the car, the trim around the shifter detached. Drove to the dealership and they fixed it for free as I waited. Have not had the problem since.

Last week the brake light came on for about 10 minutes then turned off. Still don't know why.

General Comments:

I have had the car for 4 years and have had no major problems with it. I have changed the brakes once, tires twice, and oil every 3000 miles. That is it.

Wish the engine had more power for city driving. However, most of my driving is highway, and the comfort and great gas mileage make up for the lack of power.

You can't beat an Infiniti dealership for customer service. My uncle has recently purchased and 2004 Infiniti M45 because of my great experience with my Infiniti.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th November, 2003

1st Apr 2004, 19:54

Check the brake fluid level or the sensor on top of the master cylinder.

30th Dec 2007, 01:08

While my G is a 91, I have over 220,000 miles on it and it runs strong (doesn't leak or burn up any oil). I'd like to get a new G, but this one won't die on me. I figure this one will last at least another 50K miles.

1999 Infiniti G20 2.0 4-Cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 4-Cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.2 / 10
Distance when acquired12000 miles
Most recent distance35000 miles
Previous carDodge Intrepid

Summary:

Service managers dream

Faults:

Air conditioner compressor.

Airbag light goes on and off.

The car rattles all over.

Transmission "whine"

Check engine light has came on 16 separate times.

Once while hand washing the car, I was scrubbing mud off the rear wheel well and the plastic faring popped off. Turns out it was being held on with the corner of one screw. Poor quality control at the factory.

General Comments:

This car is the noisiest, most anoying car I have ever owned. It has rattles in the trunk, under the hood, in the dash, glove compartment door, ect..

This car has no power whatsoever with the automatic transmission. It can never decide which gear to switch to when passing.

What's with the goofy lights on the front fenders?

The one good thing I can say about this car is that it handles really well. Tight steering, predicable limits. However, the ride is a little rough.

If you want a car that handles good, but has little or no power, and you like sitting in a dealership waiting room, This is the car for you.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 4th August, 2002

21st Mar 2006, 01:09

First off, do you know the previous owners and how they treated the car. Secondly does 2 Liter 4 cylinder mean anything to you?!?!? Just because it is a division of Nissan does not make it fast buddy.

20th Feb 2013, 16:47

Why did you buy the car? Did you not test drive it? Did you not look at first? You are complaining about stuff that you would have seen or should have inspected when you first saw the car.

I have a 2002 G20, and have had none of these issues, and have over 200,000 miles on my car.

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 5 reviews