2004 Kia Picanto Reviews - Page 2 of 3

2004 Kia Picanto LX 1.1 from Singapore

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.1 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired15 kilometres
Most recent distance40000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

A good car from Pt A to Pt B if you don't mind the slightly slow pickup.

Faults:

My steering fluid container tilt forward more than other car, so fluid keep spill out.

Exhaust create "wow, wow" sound.

Signal will not auto cancel if turnis less than 180 deg.

Forward Passenger's door a bit of rattle sound.

Need to complaint a few times on the defects before the service centre work on it. Bad servicing!

Later batches seen to have less problems.

General Comments:

This car is nippy and no problem in keeping up with traffic till my soundproofing and 175/60/R14 tyre installed. It slow down a little. But still good in fuel consumption. I am getting between 14km/l to 16+km/l on RON95.

Space, no problems for five normal size persons.

Cute little car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th November, 2006

2004 Kia Picanto GS 0.9 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 0.9 Manual
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance30000 miles
Previous carRover - Austin Metro

Summary:

Unreliable, and a complete waste of money

Faults:

Everything.

Catalytic converter packed in.

Fault with oil tank.

Fault with engine cooler.

Fault with tyres.

Emergency tyre inflater blew up in my face while trying to use it.

General Comments:

The Picanto was the worst purchase in my entire life. I've had nothing but problems with it since I bought it. In the past 2 years, I have spent nearly 2000 pounds on repairs, and a crazy amount of money on petrol; I'm having to fill up 10 pounds every day.

I've have been to Kia; they say there is nothing wrong with the car. I have been to other garages, and they find something faulty every time.

I am highly disappointed about this car, and I warn people to steer clear.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 27th October, 2006

20th Apr 2008, 09:25

Faulty "oil tank", "tyres" and the tyre inflator blew up in your face? What is an oil tank - do you mean the sump? Also, as far as I was aware, Picantos came with main-stream branded tyres so please explain what the fault was with those. Sounds like another silly fictional review - probably from some 17 year old hacked off because mummy didn't buy the C2 VTS he wanted and he's now embarassed having to use a Picanto!

2004 Kia Picanto SE 1.1 from UK and Ireland

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.1 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance33000 miles
Previous carRenault Scenic

Summary:

Robust and reliable

Faults:

Stereo broke at 15000 miles approx.

Air con went very smelly at 20 000.

Clutch cable seized at 30 000.

Crankshaft recall at 30 000.

General Comments:

My picanto is a driving school car and takes a lot of abuse.

It fares up very well to this and is proving very reliable.

It is very comfortable and roomy and I can spend all day sat in it with ease.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th April, 2006

2004 Kia Picanto 1.1 LX 1.1 petrol from UK and Ireland

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.1 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired12700 miles
Most recent distance20000 miles

Summary:

Fantastic, Cheap, Highly-equipped little car

Faults:

Nothing it's been fantastic!

General Comments:

I fantastic little value for money car with all the toys you normally only find on a much more expensive car.

Fuel consumption is fantastic.

Handles well and is quite nippy for such a small engine.

An absolute joy to own and run.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th March, 2006

2004 Kia Picanto LX 1.1 from Singapore

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.1 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired60 kilometres
Most recent distance39000 kilometres
Previous carMitsubishi Lancer

Summary:

No frills no nonsense, get you from point A to B

General Comments:

I am getting 13.5km per litre of RON95 petrol on 165/60/R15 tyres/rims.

Happy with its performance.

Pickup from 0-100km is a little slow, but hey, it fuel saving and one of the cheapest car you can get in Singapore.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd October, 2005

31st Mar 2006, 19:58

The handling is fantastic.

2004 Kia Picanto SE 1.1 from UK and Ireland

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.1 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired2000 miles
Most recent distance7500 miles
Previous carRover - Austin 100

Summary:

Well worth it - even if I had paid full price!

Faults:

Paint was blown off of the rear bumper by a pressure wash hose, but fixed without quibble by the dealer.

Rear gear is sometimes difficult to engage.

General Comments:

Generally a great and surprising little car.

I bought it as an ex-demo because it was the newest car I could afford - very short of funds and did not expect too much from it - it has surpassed all expectations so far.

It has all the extras and so far it has been superb.

Reasonable handling, good economy - up to 63mpg - worst was 37mpg, but that was a bad couple of days for traffic conditions etc, very good comfort.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th October, 2005

2004 Kia Picanto SE 1.1 petrol from UK and Ireland

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.1 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired43 miles
Previous carDaewoo Matiz

Summary:

Very good all round car for the money

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with the car since bought new.

General Comments:

The gearbox is very good, but gets a lot of use due to low power from the engine, fifth gear hardly used, exept on motorways.

Alloy wheels are inferior quality and very hard to keep clean.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th July, 2005

Average review marks: 6.6 / 10, based on 14 reviews