2000 Mazda 626 Reviews - Page 8 of 8

2000 Mazda 626 ES V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.4 / 10
Distance when acquired15 miles
Most recent distance60800 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Too costly to maintain

Faults:

At 57,000 miles I had to have all of the wiring redone in the engine. This cost about $950.00.

The radiator cracked and was leaking radiator fluid at 54,000 miles. Repairing that was luckily covered by the warranty.

The "leather" seats started cracking at 22,000 miles.

And now at 60,800 miles, exactly eight hundred miles out of warranty, my transmission is eating itself from the inside, out. So far the estimated cost of this repair would be $2,600.00.

The car is actually only worth around $6,000.00 at most.

General Comments:

Never again will I buy another Mazda.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th June, 2004

17th Nov 2005, 23:15

Yes, I bought a 99 mazda 626 two years ago with 64,000 miles on it. o/d light flashed on first trip, but then two years go by. I am evacuating for a hurricane and transmission fluid starts pouring out onto my engine block smoking like crazy. I had it drained and refilled, never happened again. even stranger when I took it in for diagnostic test it show nothing wrong. My check engine light came on twice and turned off after an oil change both times, loose wire I guess. louisiana girl with no luck, the trans. says ford right on it!

2000 Mazda 626 LX 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance101000 miles
Previous carPlymouth Neon

Summary:

I love this car and will stick with Mazda when I make my next purchase

Faults:

Air conditioner stopped cooling last summer, but was quickly repaired for under $100.

General Comments:

I drive a lot and this car has held up really well over the 4 years I have had it.

It is the best car I have ever owned and the only complaint I have about it is that the riders side seems a bit cramped for someone with long legs. Other than that, I love my 626!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th April, 2004

2000 Mazda 626 LX 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired11 miles
Most recent distance81000 miles
Previous carMercury Cougar

Summary:

Reliable, Great price, Great value

Faults:

Around 30000 miles a knocking noise appeared in rear when I roll over small bumps, garage says it is rear shocks and mounts, due to lack of funding I decided to wait on repair and just live with the annoying noise or just avoid all bumps on the road.

At 80000 miles a small piece on the Transmission cable that allows driver to change gears from park to drive to reverse, etc broke off. This piece broke while the car was in reverse, so that when the engine was shut off the car wouldn't start again since the engine can't start unless the car is in park. Problem quickly identified and repaired at a cost of only $131.

General Comments:

4 cylinder is very economical for some one who has been driving at least 25000 miles per year. On the other hand a V6 would have been worth a little more money. The 4 cylinder growls loud when accelerating, but it does get the job done.

I really can't complain, this car has been extremely reliable and comfortable, and nicely loaded for a low price brand new. Buying my first Japanese car has been a great experience. I didn't buy an extended warranty and with my Mazda I really didn't need it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th November, 2003

13th Sep 2004, 19:36

The bump you hear is the bushings. Not the shocks. I have a 626 and had the same problem. The bushings are a lot cheaper to repair. Believe me.

17th Aug 2005, 18:01

A V6 would probably not be more expensive. In fact it could even be cheaper on gas since a V6 is stronger and would not use all of it's power to do the same operation as a 4 cylinders.

29th Sep 2005, 02:35

2000 Mazda 626 is an overall great buy.. interior is classy, the external look is genuine. Better than that same old boring Camry or Accord. 30000 miles and nothing has been wrong with it once, just change the oil. 2.0 L 130 hp is just not enough for a car that heavy, acceleration is poor. And a 2.5 L V6 160 hp is just plain sad. Engine and power wise back then Mazda just couldnt compete with the competition. 1.6L Protege 100 hp? what is that a geo metro and a geo was smaller too.

2000 Mazda 626 GLX 2,2i doch from Sweden

Year of manufacture2000
Engine and transmission 2,2i doch Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired176700 kilometres
Most recent distance206000 kilometres
Previous carMazda 323

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

The car is nice to drive and, but it's a little bit noisy in the cabin.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th May, 2002

2000 Mazda 626 ES-V6 2.5 Liter from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.5 Liter Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired33 miles
Most recent distance14669 miles
Previous carChevrolet Celebrity

Summary:

Luxury, power, options... a great bargain

Faults:

No problems in a year I've had it.

General Comments:

The car has excellent acceleration and power, especially above 3500 RPM.

The automatic transmission has some lag between gears, but gears three and four provide excellent and smooth power, during passing for example.

The interior is very classy. The wood-like accents with leather seats make the interior appear as if they are from a $35,000 car.

The steering is not as smooth as in a Chevrolet or Honda Accord, but it is responsive and very quick. The car turns nimbly, but the same suspension that provides the comfortable ride causes a lot of yaw.

The V-6 has 170 HP and is one of the weaker V-6s of similar cars like the Accord or Toyota Camry, but it is fairly adequate for the 626. The four cylinder for this model is not recommended.

Overall, the 626 is a good investment. It is an excellent car for its price and it will impress your friends.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th September, 2001

7th Apr 2003, 08:58

I've got to be honest. You couldn't be any more incorrect in your assessment. I have a 2000 Mazda 626 with 77,000 miles. In a three week period, the heater, transmission and two door locks all busted. About $2,800 in repairs.

Mazda, because of Ford's ownership, is an awful investment and they've lost a customer for life.

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 25 reviews