1989 Nissan Maxima Reviews - Page 4 of 5

1989 Nissan Maxima SE 3.0L from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.0L Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired156900 miles
Most recent distance160000 miles
Previous carSubaru Brumby

Summary:

An amazing 4 door sports car.

Faults:

Not one thing has gone wrong yet. I have a little bit of rust. The front drivers side fender and the kick panels are rusty. The fender will have to be replaced.

General Comments:

Interior is near perfect. Everything works. What great cars these are. Sporty, fast and reliable transportation. I get better gas mileage in this than my Subaru BRAT/Brumby!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th March, 2003

1989 Nissan Maxima SE V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired90000 miles
Most recent distance141000 miles
Previous carDodge Neon

Summary:

This is the oldest, but best car I've ever owned

Faults:

In 51,000 miles I have had no major problems.

The only thing that doesn't work is the tachometer.

I had a 1995 Dodge Neon before my Maxima, it was nothing but problems so it is nice to finally own a reliable car!

General Comments:

I love this car!!

I bought this car for $1900 (almost mint condition) and it was worth every penny!

My Maxima has never leaked or burned a drop of oil, it has been very well taken care of by the Nissan dealership.

I would recommend this car to anyone, it is comfortable, reliable, fast, and fun!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th December, 2002

1989 Nissan Maxima 3L V6 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired117000 kilometres
Most recent distance119000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Cressida

Summary:

A low price performance family car

Faults:

Rubber boot on steering needed replaced.

General Comments:

This is a well built and designed car, it rides well and handles great. For a 3L V6 auto it has tones of power and toes a trailer just great.

It's a drivers car.

It's also a very comfortable car to ride in.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th August, 2002

1989 Nissan Maxima SE 3.0L V6 fuel injection 160HP from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1992
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.0L V6 fuel injection 160HP Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired27000 miles
Most recent distance189030 miles
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

A life-saver

Faults:

The clutch went out at 80,000 miles.

General Comments:

This car has been the best car I could have ever had.

It ran perfectly until I was hit by a tractor-trailer, which did $10,000 worth of damage.

However, even after the accident, the car ran perfectly, and I got out un-hurt.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th October, 2001

1989 Nissan Maxima SE 3.0 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired188000 miles
Most recent distance195800 miles
Previous carBuick LeSabre

Summary:

A great car with plenty of room and power.

Faults:

The temperature gauge is broken.

Smoke was coming off of the engine one day, but it was caused by oil leaking from the loose valve covers. This was something that was easily fixed by tightening them with a screwdriver.

General Comments:

Even though this car is 12 years old and has almost 200,000 thousand miles on the odometer it runs excellent.

There is a lot of power in the 3-4 thousand RPM range which allows for easy passing.

In mixed city/highway driving this car typically gets 24 mpg, which is good for an older V6.

When I first got the car driving it was a little difficult. The steering was much heavier compared to my Buick and the shifter took some getting used to.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th July, 2001

1989 Nissan Maxima GXE 2.4L 160hp from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.4L 160hp Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired184000 miles
Most recent distance222000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Blazer

Summary:

A high performance, full-size, luxury bargain

Faults:

Muffler switched when I bought the car.

Water pump and timing chain done because of a water pump failure.

Alternator at 222,000 miles

General Comments:

This car is incredible. I have generally heard very good things about the 3rd generation (1989-94) Maximas, but this is a testament. I am up to 222,000 miles with no engine problems and the car rides and performs with perfection.

This car is VERY FAST. One of the faster cars on the road period.

I have recently added 4 new Dunlop SP 5000 tires in a size 235mm/60/15. I would recommend these tires to anyone.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th June, 2001

6th Jun 2013, 20:45

Dude, can you post a picture of the Maxima on the SP 5000 Dunlops. Those are the fat tires, right?

Thanks.

1989 Nissan Maxima GXE V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Most recent distance201000 miles

Summary:

A great car that'll last a long time!

Faults:

The automatic antenna stopped functioning.

The rear speakers had to be disconnected due to a loud ringing.

The transmission slips in hot weather.

The knobs on the radio have fallen off.

The tape player makes noise while playing.

General Comments:

This car drives like new!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd June, 2001

1989 Nissan Maxima GXE 3.0 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired141268 miles
Most recent distance141845 miles
Previous carIsuzu I-Mark

Summary:

Luxury, performance and quality

Faults:

Changed the water pump and the power steering hose when I first got it.

I have the digital dashboard on my car, and that's the only thing that I haven't been able to fix, I have taken it to a couple of mechanics but they don't know what's wrong with it. It turns on once in a while, but most of the times is off.

Besides that everything else runs perfectly, no big mechanical problems yet and I hope it stays that way.

General Comments:

I would recommend this car to anyone who wants performance, reliability and good looks in their car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th June, 2001

Average review marks: 8.1 / 10, based on 27 reviews