Peugeot 207 Reviews - Page 4 of 5

2007 Peugeot 207 16V 1.4 16v petrol from UK and Ireland

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.4 16v petrol Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired11 miles
Most recent distance6000 miles
Previous carSuzuki Swift

Summary:

A triumph of style over substance

Faults:

Various electrical faults.

Air conditioning fault.

Problem with the gear selector.

Clutch judder.

Wiper faults.

General Comments:

This car was purchased to replaced my wife's accident-damaged Suzuki Swift (new type). This is the first French car we have owned, having previously driven Japanese cars. We had heard bad stories about older Peugeots, but were led to believe the 207 was a leap in quality.

Unfortunately this is not the case. Build quality is a long way from Japanese standards. There have been various niggles with the car, and the gearbox and clutch remain awkward to use. The dealer is unwilling or unable to fix faults, and any minor issue requires at least 2 visits (one to 'look at' the fault and another to actually do anything about it). The car is less than a year old and has done only 6k, and yet the stitching on the driver's seat is already pulling apart.

My wife is quite small (5'4") and the driving position suits her. I am 6'3" and find the steep angle of the windscreen and A-post restrictive.

Performance and economy are acceptable, but nothing special for a modern 1.4 16V. The 207 is not particularly cheap, and for the money we could have done better I think. For performance, reliability and driving enjoyment our old Swift 1.5 was in a different league.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th September, 2007

12th Sep 2007, 06:16

The way they shut Ryton, their most productive plant at the time, and threw production of this car at the lowest bidder says all you need to know about how they prioritised quality.

20th Sep 2007, 11:55

Bought a 207 in jan 07. Has been it the garage twice, once for rear wheel bearing, and just now for the pedals sticking.

Has anything like this happened to anyone else.

5th Apr 2010, 15:23

Hi. Gearbox went, and 2 MONTHS down the road it's gone again and Peugeot will not fix.

Anybody else had trouble?

2007 Peugeot 207 CC GT THP 1.6 turbo from UK and Ireland

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.6 turbo Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance1000 miles
Previous carFiat Stilo

Summary:

A great driver's car

Faults:

None.

General Comments:

This car is fantastic, uses a 150bhp version of the new Mini Cooper S engine and it pulls well from any speed.

Has a huge amount of torque for a 1.6 petrol and the mid range acceleration is pleasingly quick. Averages around 36mpg.

The cabin uses very high quality materials, and the black seat leather has contrasting white stitching.

Equipment levels are very good, as standard I got: Automatic directional headlights, MP3 CD, Fully electric roof, electric folding heated door mirrors, 17" alloys, dual zone climate control and a auto dimming rear view mirror.

Drives and handles fantastically, never short of grip.

2 adults can sit in the back at a pinch, but it wouldn't be worthwhile going anywhere further than about 30 minutes away.

Overall the 207cc GT THP is a fantastic car and I would certainly recommend it over any of it's competition.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th May, 2007

2006 Peugeot 207 SPORT 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired4 miles
Most recent distance5555 miles
Previous carVauxhall Corsa

Summary:

The best in it's class

Faults:

NO FAULTS.

General Comments:

This car is very Stylish, it has French flair and does turn heads.

Everyone that has sat in the 207 comment on how comfortable it is and how much room there is for its size.

My wife drives a new Fiesta, it isn't a patch on the 207

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 24th April, 2007

25th Apr 2007, 08:37

I very like French style of design, and I am big fan of Peugot 406,but I hope that 207 is lot better than 206,because that car have very litle space...

24th May 2007, 07:11

Only 8 months old-207 Sport and 2 recalls by Peugeot.

Also small niggles meaning further trips to dealer.

13th Aug 2007, 12:11

Park the 207 and Fiesta side by side and compare the sizes. The 207 cannot reasonably be called a small car!!

8th Nov 2007, 07:15

I've had my 207 Sport for 7 months now and had no recalls.

What was wrong with it, wouldn't like to think they have forgot about me!!

2006 Peugeot 207 Trendy 1.4 16v from Greece

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
Engine and transmission 1.4 16v Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired5 kilometres
Most recent distance13000 kilometres
Previous carSkoda Fabia

Summary:

Not a wild lion, but a smooth cat!

Faults:

The plastic cover on the right rear suspension used to felt down every 2 or 3 days. The problem is now solved.

General Comments:

Nice ride, very comfortable, but with average accelerations. Very roomy cabin for driver and co-driver. Not too spacious in the back seat. Fuel economy is good. The dashboard is well designed and made from good quality plastics. Very good equipment as well even from the basic model which I own, with 6 airbags, ABS, electric front windows, electric adjustable door mirrors and radio-cd with steering wheel operational buttons. Maybe is not the best super mini, but a very decent choice.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 2nd April, 2007

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 15 reviews