1988 Pontiac 6000 Reviews - Page 2 of 6

1988 Pontiac 6000 from North America

Model year1988
Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Most recent distance68000 miles

Summary:

This car is great!

Faults:

Antifreeze leak.

Oil leak.

Gasoline leak.

Transmission slipping.

Faulty alternator.

General Comments:

I got into an accident with this car, and all I had was a dent in the trunk and the faceplate of my light fell off. This was a $27 fix. The person that I hit had a 2003 Ford F150, and I caused over $3,000 worth of damage. This car is indestructible.

It has lots of leg room.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th June, 2006

6th Jun 2006, 17:50

I wouldn't gloat.

What you saved on collision repairs, you'll probably end up paying in higher insurance premiums, since you state that you hit the other vehicle.

1988 Pontiac 6000 2.8 litre from North America

Model year1988
Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.8 litre Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.7 / 10
Distance when acquired425000 miles
Most recent distance601000 miles
Previous carPontiac 6000

Summary:

Awesome

Faults:

Front Knuckle had to be replaced.

Both ball joints were just replaced.

General Comments:

All I have to do is turn the key and she starts. I would definitely get another one if I could find one. It is a very reliable car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th March, 2006

1988 Pontiac 6000 LE 2.8 Multiport from North America

Model year1988
Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.8 Multiport Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired160000 kilometres
Most recent distance240000 kilometres
Previous carChevrolet Caprice

Summary:

It's a Smart affordable, reliable yet powerful little workhorse of a car, with nice lines to boot..

Faults:

Rack and pinion at 220,000km.

Brake lines in rear at 220,000km.

Lower engine mount at 218,000km.

Water pump at 225,000km.

Heater core at 220,000km.

Serpentine tensioner at 210,000.

Front axles at 220,000.

Fuel injectors clogged at 210,000km.

General Comments:

Great car, use it for work, play, travel..

Cheap on gas, and insurance...

Has enough power when needed..

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th March, 2005

1988 Pontiac 6000 tec 4 2.5 liter from North America

Model year1988
Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission tec 4 2.5 liter Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired86000 kilometres
Most recent distance111500 kilometres
Previous carChevrolet Celebrity

Summary:

Slow, but indestructible

Faults:

The rad sprung a leak.fixed it with stop leak.

Wiper control board flaky.have to hit it with my snow brush from time to time.

Front struts and springs where changed.

Rear brakes grab. the extra power is good for trailer towing.

Valve cover gasket won't stop leaking. engine block will never rust

General Comments:

The 2.5 liter engine doesn't like the cold to much (below -20c).

Engine sounds like a type writer all the time.

Good on fuel.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th March, 2005

1988 Pontiac 6000 LE Safari 2.8 from North America

Model year1988
Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.8 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired162000 miles
Most recent distance204050 miles

Summary:

Just keeps going and going and going

Faults:

Replaced rear shocks at 185,000

Replaced steering rack at 174,000

Replaced power steering pump at 174,000

Replaced gas tank at 200,000

Driver side mirror inside control was broken when I got it. I have to stick my hand out to adjust it.

General Comments:

Good running dependable car. Handles well. Mid 20s for gas mileage. I figure I put an average of $300 a year in repairs to keep it on the road. Way cheaper than a car payment. Never left me stranded. Not pretty - woodgrain is peeling, surface cancer, numerous parking lot dings, etc - but this thing will never die.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th February, 2005

4th Jan 2010, 23:48

To the person who replied with a comment on an 88 6000, there are books you can get. Go to e-bay and go to Pontiac 6000 and you will find plenty of books. This is for July 13, 2005 at 10:16 in the evening.

1988 Pontiac 6000 from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired88000 miles
Most recent distance88864 miles

Summary:

Awesome

Faults:

I have not had any problems with the car. The only problem that i had is if moisture gets in the engine, the service engine soon light appears.

General Comments:

I love the car. It handles like a dream, more power than i had previously thought.

I was happy the day i beat a brand new mustang out of the toll booth.

The car is one of the most comfortable car i have ever taken for a long trip.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th August, 2004

1988 Pontiac 6000 LE 6 cylinder. from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 6 cylinder. Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired161000 kilometres
Most recent distance162000 kilometres

Summary:

Great first-car!

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong at all, all it needed was a new windshield and an oil change when I got it. The only problem I have sometimes is starting it up, but it has always started for me. It just takes a little bit. Body is in GREAT condition, absolutely nothing wrong with interior or exterior. I have also noticed, however, that it is a bit harder on gas than other vehicles, but that comes with the size and weight, I suppose.

General Comments:

I really like this car so far. It is extremely comfortable inside, easy to clean, has a nice factory radio/tape player in it. It is older, but the air conditioning is still working like a darn (heater, as well) and I like how it handles on turns and on gravel. I'm not a big fan of the brown interior, but I was willing to risk it for this car, as it is reliable and easy to maintain (although it does go through gas pretty quickly).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th May, 2004

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 23 reviews