2001 Pontiac Aztek Reviews - Page 8 of 16

2001 Pontiac Aztek from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.2 / 10
Distance when acquired26000 miles
Most recent distance80000 miles
Previous carFord Mustang

Faults:

Tires and brakes had to be replaced at 32000.

Ac line broke and was leaking onto the carpet at 35000.

Wheel bearing assemblies had to be replaced on three of the axles by 50000.

Had to replace transmission valve body at 68000.

Wiring corroded above gas tank @ 70000 causing car not to get fuel.

Corroded wires in engine compartment causing reliability issues. 72000.

Gas cap allows dirt into filler neck.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th June, 2005

2001 Pontiac Aztek from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance79000 miles
Previous carGMC Van

Summary:

I would not buy this car again as the cost to maintain is too high

Faults:

Air conditioner has been replaced three times and is currently broken again.

Lights go off and on while driving, but do not stay off. Due to lights not staying off diagnosis has not been available.

Gas must be kept at 1/2 tank or better to run car. If gas falls below 1/2 tank car dies and will not run. Mechanic could not diagnose problem as car started after towing by wrecker.

Driver's window will not stay up.

Mirror fell off while car was setting in the driveway.

General Comments:

In its defense the car handles well on any surface and can pass anything on the road when it is running.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd June, 2005

2001 Pontiac Aztek from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired250 miles
Most recent distance29000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Venture

Summary:

Great car, but GM should take care of the A/C problems

Faults:

My air conditioning went out at approximately 29,000 miles.

General Comments:

I really like this car, but everyone seems to be having problems with the A/C unit. That is very disapointing.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 17th June, 2005

9th Sep 2005, 23:51

Yes I also own an 2001 Aztec and my A/C unit had a hole in it which needed replaced.

6th Aug 2006, 21:20

I purchased my Aztek used with 13,000 miles and after 2 months of driving the A/C went out. All of the parts for this vehicle are very expensive. I had to fix a leak in both the upper and lower intake manifolds. It also overheated three times so I replaced the radiator. The hatch lift gate failed to work 1 month after purchase. I could go on, but I am preaching to the choir.

2001 Pontiac Aztek from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired34000 miles
Most recent distance78000 miles
Previous carPontiac Aztek

Summary:

Very bad

Faults:

Don't ever buy this car - highly unreliable and horrible resale value.

General Comments:

The car is only 4 years old, yet its air-conditioning broke twice.

Gas gage broke. Radio monitor broke.

Right now I'm looking at 2,000$ worth in repairs.

Also it looses 75% of its price after just 4 years.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th April, 2005

7th Oct 2005, 18:16

We own a 2001 Aztek and love the roominess and the way it drives, but we have had problems twice with the air conditioning condensor. We have 75,000 miles on it now and the condensor is leaking again. The first time was in 2003 and here it is again leaking once more. Also had problem with the rear lights, the finish was flaking off as well as the back up light on top of the hatch. NO ONE with GM wants to correct these problems that we all are having. They don't want to take care of the customer once they sell them that vehicle.

2001 Pontiac Aztek GT 3.4 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.4 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired19251 miles
Most recent distance91563 miles
Previous carBuick Regal

Summary:

I love my Aztek, I am buying a newer model today!

Faults:

Air conditioning went out 2002 right after I bought car, but was fixed by dealer and has had no problems since.

Rear defogger was defective and was replaced immediately by dealer.

General Comments:

Even despite all the bad ratings I have encountered by reading magazines, I love my Aztek!

I am buying a 2004 model today because of the mileage on my 2001 model.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th March, 2005

2001 Pontiac Aztek 3.4 sefi from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.4 sefi Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance108710 miles
Previous carPontiac Sunfire

Summary:

Very great recreation vehicle

Faults:

Well the starter went bad at 85,000 miles, and now the battery.

General Comments:

Very reliable would definatly get another one, but family is bigger now.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th March, 2005

2001 Pontiac Aztek 3.1 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.1 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.5 / 10
Distance when acquired34000 miles
Most recent distance49300 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Faults:

Intake gasket leak. Kept loosing coolant.

3 weeks later the air quit. Bad condensor.

Smelling antifreeze. Plastic radiator splitting at the plastic to aluminum seam.

Back hatch won't open.

Seat frame bending.

Brakes squeel.

General Comments:

I liked the Aztek, but I just can't afford keep paying $700 then $1400. I traded it in and got a truck. Had zip. Rides real nice. Repairing anything yourself will be very hard cause everything hard to get to.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 27th February, 2005

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 62 reviews