1977 Pontiac Catalina Reviews

1977 Pontiac Catalina 301cid V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1977
First year of ownership1990
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 301cid V8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired8985 miles
Most recent distance299876 miles

Summary:

A great car for Pontiac lovers.

Faults:

My engine gave out on me just under 300,000 miles.

The top of the back seat has started to wear down over the years from sun and water.

The vinyl top had to be replaced a third time. Due to time weather and age.

I had the transmission rebuild right after 200,000 miles.

General Comments:

I love this car it handles like a dream and has never let me down.

I will always cherish this car.

When I was in High School people with ther fancy new cars would always try to race. Then get all upset when I would leave them in the dust.

The cabin is very roomy and the seats are like big comfertable couches.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th May, 2003

16th Jan 2006, 18:21

I think your right hey I'm only 13 and I'm selling my 1980 volare to buy a 77 catalina, thanks 4 the tips.

1977 Pontiac Catalina 5.7L 350 Horsepower from North America

Year of manufacture1977
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 5.7L 350 Horsepower Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired38000 miles
Most recent distance40000 miles
Previous carAcura Acura SLX

Summary:

The car glides like a superior luxury cruiser

Faults:

There was a clog in the air conditioner line. The condensate from the air conditioner drained inside of the car instead of outside of the car. The mechanic cleaned it out in a matter of minutes no charge.

I had to replace the hoses in the car just because they were old. It cost approximately $300.

The carburetor had to be rebuilt. The cost was approximately $200.

The fuel pump was replaced. My Dad's best friend repaired for almost nothing.

The starter was replaced. My Dad replaced the starter. No charge.

General Comments:

I drive the car for pleasure on Sundays. Most people with new cars challenge its speed and ability. The drivers are usually angry and shocked that this old bucket of bolts out performs their new beauty.

The car belonged to my grandfather. I think he would be pleased to see that it still runs like a dream.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 6th October, 2002

1977 Pontiac Catalina from North America

Year of manufacture1977
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired50231 miles
Most recent distance57421 miles

Summary:

A very fast reliable car

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with this car! It could use a new starter, but other than that, the only thing that is wrong with it is its accelerator pump. Even with that it is the best car I've ever had.

It could use a new paint job, also.

General Comments:

This is a pretty quick car. It's got a 400 V8, but doesn't look like it because it's smaller than most 400's.

There is no dome light. There wasn't one when I bought it and I never bothered putting one in.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st October, 2001

1977 Pontiac Catalina 301 c.i. from North America

Year of manufacture1977
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 301 c.i. Don't Know
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired62000 miles
Most recent distance89000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Van

Summary:

Classic cruiser

Faults:

Water pump went at 65000 miles. Spent 40$ on used front and rear seats from a scrap yard. Replaced muffler, tires and brakes.

General Comments:

It's a big ugly car. I really enjoy driving it. It handles very well and has gobs of power.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st May, 2001

31st Oct 2001, 10:16

I've got a Catalina just like yours, but it has a 400. It's a pretty phat car! I know how you feel.

29th Jan 2003, 00:42

Will a 67 gas tank fit a 68?

1977 Pontiac Catalina 350 c.i.d. (5.7L) from North America

Year of manufacture1977
First year of ownership1989
Most recent year of ownership1992
Engine and transmission 350 c.i.d. (5.7L) Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired95000 miles
Most recent distance133000 miles

Summary:

The most dependable thing you'll ever come across

Faults:

Carburettor.

Timing belt.

General Comments:

Extremely reliable and a real blast to drive. I really miss it.

One helpful hint - if the transmission starts slipping get it fixed. I blew the engine because I didn't get it seen to soon enough - MY FAULT!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th October, 2000

Average review marks: 8.4 / 10, based on 5 reviews