1996 Pontiac Firebird Reviews - Page 5 of 5

1996 Pontiac Firebird Formula 5.7 V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 5.7 V8 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired70000 miles
Most recent distance75000 miles
Previous carBuick Skylark

Summary:

Pay your insurance and buckle up for the best ride of your life!

Faults:

When I got the car the transmission went, the radiator was corroded, and the rear axle broke all in the first 400 miles. My dealer was great and fixed everything around $3500. I got a steal of a price for it...plus fixed the typical issues.

The problem with the Formula cars is that they get hot too quickly in slow moving traffic (Atlanta traffic will over heat your car) and 17 miles to the gallon (real driving) stinks. There is a feature called "skip shift" that forces you from 1st to 4th if you don't have your RPM's high enough. This can be turned off by removing the middle cable off the transmission going to the engine.

General Comments:

My T-Tops do not leak like my friend's Camaro. 6-Speed manual is the coolest thing in the world... a lot better than all those 5-Speeds.

I've only had the car 2 months but it is the best car I've ever driven except the 300ZX (but the new ones don't have T-Tops). Key note to anyone driving in the rain... start in 2nd gear and you will not spin in place.

Be warned if you get this awesome bird that you will not be alone on the road... I pass daily about 25 to 30 Camaro's and Firebird's. At least 5 of those are the same color and one of those is same exact year as mine.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th July, 2001

1996 Pontiac Firebird Coupe 3.8L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.8L V6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired61000 miles
Most recent distance64000 miles

Summary:

Looks great, but not as good as it looks

Faults:

Power window motor is weak (as on most American cars, it has a tiny motor that moves a huge window).

General Comments:

It's heavy, hard to accelerate at low speeds, but once accelerated it's pretty fun to drive, and runs well.

The normal differential does not corner well, but a limited slip differential will.

The suspension is kinda stiff as with most sports cars.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 31st May, 2001

1996 Pontiac Firebird Coupe 3.8L V-6 from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.8L V-6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired46000 miles
Most recent distance49000 miles
Previous carMercedes-Benz 190E

Summary:

Great value for a sporty V-6 car that has the performance to back it up!

Faults:

Antenna does not go work, still under warranty though.

Headlamp motor stays on when going down - still under warranty.

General Comments:

Love this car - great power for only a V-6, handles well for a large American car.

T-tops are a nice change from the sunroof in my old car. And I love the way the seats hold you in hard turns.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th January, 2001

3rd Jun 2001, 00:20

How was headlamp motor fixed? I have one that keeps running when closed, any help would be nice, can this be adjusted?

Thanks,

Aaron.

7th Aug 2002, 12:58

The headlamp motor on my t/a is having the same problem. It stays on after the light closes. What is the fix for this? Thanks Matt.

28th Sep 2002, 12:09

Odd that the other two comments were about the headlamp motor. I was at the dealer a few weeks ago, and the parts specialist heard my headlamp buzzing loudly (after it closed). Without even looking at the car, she said, "Ah! You have a headlamp motor going out, huh? I can tell by the sound it's making." Upon asking her how to get it to stop making that noise, she replied that it needs to be replaced and that such a job is expensive. I thought that I could probably figure out how to do it myself, but it seems that the only places to get headlamp motors are the dealers and junk yards. None of the parts stores like Pep Boys, Auto Zone, or NAPA Auto Parts carries this part.

Anyway, I thought this might help. I hate that I am still faced with this expense, but I love my 'bird! If there is anybody out there who knows something that I don't I would love to hear from them at j_hance143@yahoo.com. Thanks a bunch!

16th Jun 2004, 18:56

Go to www.bfranker.badz28.com/headlightfix/index.htm

Then buy the metal gears for the motor.

Rafy C. 6/16/04

1996 Pontiac Firebird Trans Am 350 LT-1 from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 350 LT-1 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired85000 miles
Most recent distance96000 miles
Previous carGMC Sierra

Summary:

I cannot say enough good things about this car...

Faults:

Brakes (normal wear).

General Comments:

This car is absolutely awe-inspiring! I've had them all... Mustangs, Camaros, Corvettes, hotrods, even an old Jaguar... but nothing comes close to the performance level and satisfaction level that this car provides.

Comfort level is tops for a sports car, although the rear seats are a tad cramped. This is not a family car! Don't buy if you plan on hauling the wife and kids with you everywhere you go. However, if you want to turn heads and attract attention everywhere you go, this is the one!

Power is unmatched by anything other than late model Corvettes, and the looks are absolutely outstanding! The exhaust note is enough to get most muscle-car buffs' hearts pounding, and the handling is enough to impress even a veteran corner-carver.

T-Tops don't leak (a blessing), no rattles in the interior, no signs of tiredness or wear in the drivetrain (at 96K?!?).

I could not be happier with this car. I will definitely buy another when this one decides to go (if ever!).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd November, 2000

1996 Pontiac Firebird Trans Am 5.7L V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1996
Engine and transmission 5.7L V8
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10

Faults:

Oil leaks, manifold replaced, rattles in interior, taillight replaced twice.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th June, 1998

4th Mar 2003, 12:44

Would like to know about the oil leaks and manifold problems.

17th Jun 2003, 12:02

I currently have a 1996 LT-1 Trans Am, and now starting to experience oil leaks. Is there a common leak at certain seal or are the leaks just random?

Thanks, Chris.

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 16 reviews