Porsche Cayenne Reviews - Page 5 of 5

2004 Porsche Cayenne V6 3.2 from UK and Ireland

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.2 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance1500 miles
Previous carMercedes-Benz M-Class

Summary:

Looks great, wish they can get it right!

Faults:

Non stop problems since owning the car, which has only been 2 months. The AC does not work properly in the front if the rear is on and vice versa, even cheap cars don't do this. The Battery/Generator comes on at least twice a week, it has been back 3 times for this, the last time, the car was scratched whilst in their care - they have put this right. The window wipers screech, and again the car has been back 3 times for this. Love the car, but am very disappointed in the faults. Altogether in 8 weeks of having it, it has been back to Porsche for 17 days, and needs to go back again!

General Comments:

Love the look of the car.

Handles very well, thinks it's a car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 27th September, 2004

2nd Oct 2004, 14:29

I have purchased a Porsche Cayenne V6 3.2, This has to be the worse car I have owned! The battery generator light keeps switching on, the rear glass (trunk) window won't close, The Central London dealership had gave me false promises and lies from the moment I placed my order regarding delivery times etc, I don't care about the heavy loss of money, this heap is going...

2003 Porsche Cayenne 340 HP from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 340 HP Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance3500 miles
Previous carMercedes-Benz M-Class

Summary:

High performance... highest maintenance of all time!

Faults:

The car is a maintenance nightmare. Door locks, windshield wipers, radio, rattles, engine light on frequently, paint problems, front end alignment, headlight alignment, and on and on... a continual problem and more service than any car I have ever owned.

General Comments:

The car handles well, the dealer has been professional, but the car can't stay out of service -- two months of ownership and 18 days in service for many different problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th December, 2003

4th Dec 2005, 19:33

Just to be clear here. You bought a $50K+ luxury SUV only to have chickens take it over?

Wish there was a lie detector one had to submit to before posting.

5th Dec 2005, 23:51

Chickens DON`T smell- as long as you clean up their droppings regularly- which, after all, is only common sense.

8th Apr 2010, 06:31

I just took one home on apro today, but now like you I am a bit chicken, so will give it back tomorrow.

2003 Porsche Cayenne S Flat 6 from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Flat 6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance640 miles
Previous carPorsche 911

Summary:

Carrera SUV with a few faults

Faults:

First of all; this is not my car, it belongs to a member of my immediate family (parent):

- Had a bad experience with the dealer; they did not get me the car I originally ordered. When they said they could get us a Turbo, it never showed up.

- No instruction manual (car came w/o it, though 100% of other Cayenne S's did) for the PCM/Navigation.

- Car lurches from a halt.

- No head support in the seats.

General Comments:

Those couple of things don't make me believe this is not a great car. It is very fun to drive and handles superbly.

One thing I am not fond of is the way to use the heated seats. In our Carrera 4, you see a light come on signaling they are working. In our Cayenne, it's just a roller. No indication whatsoever they work right till you feel them. Annoying.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 1st July, 2003

16th Feb 2004, 05:34

I believe the engine is V8, not flat 6.

19th Jul 2004, 21:17

Wish I had rich folks too.

22nd Jul 2004, 11:21

You don't need rich parents. Just get a Hyundai Santa Fe, it looks like the Cayenne.

5th Aug 2004, 18:23

Gee, you'd think your parents could afford to send you to a tutor to help with your English skills.

10th Aug 2004, 19:30

Hyundai Santa Fe vs. Cayenne? "Because they look the same." Oh brother. If they'll let you into a Porsche dealership, go drive the two and you'll see the difference. Or perhaps try a Yugo vs. Mercedes for simiar comparison.

29th Sep 2005, 16:48

Just get a Touareg, it's the same thing from the front to the half way back.

12th Jan 2008, 18:05

I bought a 2003 Cayenne just off the boat. I have loved it these last 4 years and now it is out of warranty and guess what, it now has a $2600 problem.

Water pipes must be replaced. I have never heard of this, and with only 37,000 miles on the car, it sounds strange. The dealer now has 2 Cayenne's with the same problem. Is anyone else having this issue?

21st Jan 2008, 16:33

"Just get a Touareg, it's the same thing from the front to the half way back."

Go do your homework; they have very little in common. The only thing the VW and the Porsche have in common is the chassis. The suspension, power plant and hand stitched leather interior are all different.

29th Jul 2012, 15:03

Errr, no you're wrong --- look under the fenders and elsewhere, and you will see PL7... part numbers they are VW part numbers. The V6 is ALL VW. Pull the trim and... PL7 everywhere.

29th Jul 2012, 15:16

On early cars it's common. Metal pipes are available to replace the plastic ones. Don't leave it, as it will take out the alternator and gearbox cont, which are underneath!!

Average review marks: 5.0 / 10, based on 14 reviews