Renault Master Reviews - Page 2 of 3

2005 Renault Master LWB 140DCI 3.0 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 3.0 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance85000 miles
Previous carFord Transit

Summary:

A tough work horse with great flexibility

Faults:

Central locking key fob only works over a short distance - it's not the end of the world.

34000 miles, immobiliser problem - sorted very quickly by the dealer.

70000 miles, heater blower failed. Sorted by the dealer.

85000 miles, drive shafts have begun to wobble - on going repair.

85000 miles, missed recall for rear axle adjustment - on going repair.

85000 miles, engine pulleys sounding rough - on going repair.

General Comments:

This van is superb. I run a delivery company and this has taken everything we can throw at it. Including one European cannonball run (it's not a race, it's a rally, Ha).

A huge fuel tank and gives great MPG's - around 31MPG on average on A roads around Cornwall and Devon.

The dealer gave a 3 year 100000 mile warranty when I got it, and even though they needed some motivation, always come through with repairs.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th May, 2007

23rd Nov 2012, 05:15

The van is now on 2702000 miles. The gearbox is past its best, but the bodywork and engine are still fantastic. 2 drive shafts at 160000 miles, new injector pump and injectors at 200000 miles. Can't complain at that.

Great van, still leaves our 2 new 2012 model 150 Masters eating dust.

2004 Renault Master 120 2.5 from UK and Ireland

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.5 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired2 miles
Most recent distance29582 miles
Previous carRenault Master

Summary:

Van is good, customer service & attitude are bad

Faults:

Excessive SHORT range of central locking (will not work even from rear of van, problem since new.)

Leaking gearbox.

Windscreen washer failure.

General Comments:

Dealer took 11 months, video evidence, and threats to return goods not fit. Also threats to contact the Watchdog consumer program before they took me seriously.

Previously told to get lost, and to stop wasting their time...

2.5 is under powered if regularly loaded.

3.0 next time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th November, 2005

12th Feb 2006, 16:01

We have the dci100 version and find it pulls well with nearly a ton of kit bolted to the floor in the back of the van.

We've had no problems at all after 18 months and 30,000 miles. Only really annoying thing is the remote central locking, I find it doesn't work from the back of the van also.

14th Mar 2006, 16:33

We have a 100hp and a 3.0 140 hp the first is under powered and the 3.0 is a 100 mph rocket, but loves diesel the computer onbord is recording 20 mpg, but is a hoot to drive. handling is great in whole it's a great CHEAP VAN.

26th Apr 2006, 17:52

I have a 2004 master dci100, I have only had a couple of problems which the dealer sorted very quickly, the first being the clutch pedal getting stuck down, and the second was the passenger electric window being slow to come up, both sorted by dealer.

I am glad I'm not the only one who's remote only seems to work at the front of the van!

16th May 2008, 01:29

I have a 54 plate master 100 dci van; it runs perfectly until clutch is depressed, then cuts out. It can be started in gear and driven. Are there any ideas to problem?

25th Jan 2011, 14:32

I have Renault Master 1.9. The clutch pedal keeps getting stuck. Is this the master cylinder or clutch itself?

2000 Renault Master T35 2.5 D from Finland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.5 D Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance700000 kilometres
Previous carFord Transit

Summary:

Strong car

Faults:

Seats worn out.

No audio system working.

General Comments:

It is a good vehicle for daily carrying works.1600 kg is a high payload for a 3500 Kg class. The engine is solid and economical, but noisy. The comfort is very good for this type of vehicle, but when unloaded the comfort decreases. Also the minibus is very comfortable. Worth the money.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th October, 2005

2003 Renault Master T 35 2.5d from Netherlands

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.5d Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance235000 kilometres
Previous carford transit

Summary:

Big small van!

Faults:

I had to replace the air conditioning system and the central locking.

The horn only works when it feels like it.

General Comments:

Being a commercial vehicle, one can't expect too much comfort. Despite the payload being 1650 Kg, it really shifts. The performance is not very hot, but for a commercial vehicle is enough. I also like the fuel consumption, which is very low, as my company has 27 Renault Masters. Anyway, don't buy the version with Vauxhall/OPEL engine (2.8TDI). As you know the Master is similar to the Vauxhall/OPEL Movano. You'll have troubles. We had 3, and had them changed. The 2.5D is better.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th August, 2005

Average review marks: 6.3 / 10, based on 13 reviews