2001 Renault Scenic Reviews - Page 5 of 7

2001 Renault Scenic Expression 1.6L 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6L 16v Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance10800 miles

Summary:

An MPV which thinks it's a sports car

Faults:

Nothing at all.

General Comments:

Good car full of space and good acceleration for a car of this size with only a 1.6L engine. I've done 105 mph in it and it could go on more, but I decided not to push it right to it's limits it was good doing 105 mph I overtook a BMW M3.

The inside of the car could be a bit better put together, but apart from that great car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd September, 2003

19th Oct 2004, 17:00

Well had it up to 119 MPH the other week on the Autobahn.

2001 Renault Scenic Expression 1.6L 16v 110 bhp from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6L 16v 110 bhp Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired1000 miles
Most recent distance10000 miles

Summary:

Fiesta beater

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

I'm 19 and I drive my Mums Scenic my friends used to laugh at me all the time when I drove it. they have 1.2L Corsas and a 1.4L Fiesta. so one day I decided to say lets have a little race so I did.

They overtook me on the roundabout, but when I put my foot to the floor the car shot from 30-50 mph in no time and I was overtaking them.

And my foot wasn't to the floor. so overall great performance for a 1.6L MPV I love it now they don't take the micky out of me now.

I love this car I wanna put some alloy wheels on it.

Overall great car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th August, 2003

15th Aug 2004, 02:35

I've also just found out that I can beat a 2.7L Hyundai Coupe in 1st gear and it had trouble overtaking me when I was in 3rd. The driver of the Hyundai coupe gave me a surprised look when he did eventually overtake me.

2001 Renault Scenic Expression+ 1.6L 16v 110 Bhp from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6L 16v 110 Bhp Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired149 miles
Most recent distance10000 miles
Previous carProton Proton

Summary:

Great car

Faults:

Nothing at all.

General Comments:

Great car would give a 1.6l Ford Focus and Vauxhall Astra a good run for their money. :)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd August, 2003

2001 Renault Scenic 1.4 1.4 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.4 petrol Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance29000 miles
Previous carRenault Espace

Summary:

Good practical all-rounder

Faults:

Igniter Coils and Spark Plug sets; after 1st year, they misfired badly. Different advice/policies from Renault had them replaced firstly one at a time, then all 4 together, then 1 at a time: all within 6 months! (Cost £400ish) 6 trips to garage.

Trouble is, when an igniter fires wrongly, it fires in the wrong cylinder at the wrong time, causing a severe brief stoppage of the engine, at any speed (usually on acceleration). This appears to be a common problem. Warranty honoured OK so far.

General Comments:

A very good all-round vehicle.

Stylish and good looking.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th May, 2003

24th Aug 2004, 17:45

I like the design of my Renault scenic 1.4 very much, but it has been mechanically unreliable. (ignition coils etc) Renault have been very good with aftercare service, but I would prefer to see less of their garage workshop.

Marie-Anne

2001 Renault Scenic rx4 2.0 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance52000 kilometres
Previous carSubaru Forester

Summary:

Perfect Family Car, pity about the engine

Faults:

Whole Transmission was replaced with 44000 KM.

Air Bag Warning stickers cannot handle Australia Heat.

General Comments:

I was looking for a Family Car (have two your kids) with some 4WD capabilities. I do like European cars since they do handle better than Japanese ones. The vehicle is almost perfect in that sense, pity about the engine. The engine cannot handle even soft 4WD work (like sand/dunes), the lack of low range makes the whole issue worse.

The 4WD System is not really all time, it drives the front and will engage the rear via a Viscous LSD after the front skids (which does not happen because of the traction control)..so it does not give the same assurance as for example the All Wheel Drive System from Subaru.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th February, 2003

27th May 2003, 10:58

I see your Point your better off with a 1.6L Scenic Experssion + as it's Quicker than the 2.0l Rx4 I've raced one and I beat it. the 4x4 mode really sucks power. go for a 1.6/1.8L/2.0L Expression+ and my scenic's only a 1.6L.

2001 Renault Scenic RX4 2.0 petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance35000 kilometres
Previous carSubaru Forester

Summary:

Best looking soft 4WD around town

Faults:

Air Bags warning stickers on both sun visors were not made to resist the Australian hot summer.

When first start in the morning (cold) very difficult to engage reverse gear.

General Comments:

Better of both words. Flexible enough to take the family and allow you to adventure in some trails (soft).

The dual sunroof is must.

The 4WD System is not really All Wheel Drive like the Subaru, it works well, but on wet roads I would feel better using the Subaru system.

What happen to the 101 Kw? It does not show...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th July, 2002

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 27 reviews