2003 Renault Scenic Reviews - Page 3 of 3

2003 Renault Scenic Dynamique 2.0DOHC from Australia and New Zealand

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0DOHC Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired10200 kilometres
Most recent distance17000 kilometres
Previous carFord Falcon

Summary:

Fantastic roomy car for work or family use

Faults:

Nothing car has worked well.

General Comments:

This is a great roomy car that I use for buisness and leisure. The safety is great with side and front air bags.

The partial leather seats are great and not to cold in winter.

Plenty of space in side for up to 5 adults.

Pretty good on fuel around town and on long trips.

Overall great car to own.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd November, 2005

2003 Renault Scenic Fidji 1.6 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.6 16v Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired29000 miles
Most recent distance32000 miles
Previous carToyota Surf

Summary:

Very disappointed. Not at all reliable

Faults:

Accelerator stopped revving while in a line of traffic.

Sunvisor snapped and wouldn't go back up.

Car stops as no revs when driving.

No warning lights when this happens.

General Comments:

We bought this car for comfort and reliability.

We have had this car back to dealer twice. They say there is nothing wrong.

Could be very dangerous if the car accelerator fails to work on the motorway.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th August, 2005

2003 Renault Scenic Expression 2.0 Litre 16v from Australia and New Zealand

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0 Litre 16v Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired33000 kilometres
Most recent distance43000 kilometres

Summary:

Brilliant

Faults:

We had a dodgy transmission solenoid replaced and a new motor installed for the automatic locking on the fuel flap within 1 month of getting the car. Apart from that, it runs like a dream.

General Comments:

We wanted a car with lots of internal room, that wasn't too big outside, had a 5 star safety rating, was very comfortable and we could use for long road trips with kids - and we got it. My wife is a new driver, and she loves this car. I have been driving for years, and also love it. It's smooth, quick, handles well, is a great ride height, perfect for kids in booster seats and has a fantastic stereo!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th August, 2005

2003 Renault Scenic RX4 Fidji 1.9 DCI from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.9 DCI Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired12000 miles
Most recent distance20000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Vectra

Summary:

Great fun! on or off road..

Faults:

Exhaust Gas Recirculation Valve was dirty. Also the car required re-programming which as carried out by Renault garage free and resolved the problems.

General Comments:

The RX4 is a great family utility vehicle providing comfort, space and reliability. On motorways the RX4 whilst cruising comfortably at 70, just under 3000 rpm can run at 50-55 mpg fantastic considering the weight of the vehicle. Fantastic caravan towing vehicle also averaging 30 mpg and with the 4 wheel drive... enough said. Love this vehicle. Shame Renault are not carrying on with the concept...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th August, 2004

2003 Renault Scenic fiji 1.6v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.6v Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired9 miles
Most recent distance5000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Polo

Summary:

Great family car

Faults:

The brake disc arrived from new with surface markings on inner disc faces.

When braking at low speed the the brakes are very noisy, this has apparently been reported with more Scenics of late.

The handbrake continues to stick when release after being stationery overnight. This I have been advised is due to adverse weather conditions and again has been noted with other Scenics.

When I purchased the car these problems were not highlighted by the dealer. I still have the problem and the dealer seem happy to leave it as it is not a safety issue. Cannot say I am very happy!

General Comments:

The car is lovely to drive and is very good as a family car.

I purchased it as I needed to use 3 car seats and have managed very well.

However I have found when needing to use the hazard warning lights it is very difficult to press the button as the steering wheel seems to block you view. This can be worrying especially with motorway driving.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th April, 2004

15th Apr 2004, 10:03

I too have the same Problem with the Brakes, but coming from a higher speeds 40 mph+ the brakes become very noisy I have a 2001 Model Scenic. It has been to the dealer twice with the excess brake noise, but they have failed to put it right so it's going back a 3rd time next week.

2003 Renault Scenic FIDJI RX4 1.9 DCI from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.9 DCI Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance18000 miles
Previous carRenault Scenic

Summary:

Super family transport

Faults:

Water leak the in boot from the rear window seal.

EGR valve failure at 12000 miles.

Paint flaking from bumper.

All changed or repaired under warranty.

General Comments:

Excellent car, especially on long journeys, the journey to northern France from the north of Scotland is covered effortlessly twice per annum with ease and no fatigue to the passengers. An enjoyable car to drive with all the things I look for in a car. Unfortunate that no replacement is planned for the RX4.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th April, 2004

18th Aug 2004, 16:16

I agree a totally great car for the family, being a great utility vehicle providing great space and comfort during long journeys for everyone on board. Caravan driving with this vehicle is also a pleasure with great road holding, very little disturbance during motorway driving owing to the weight and short distance between the rear wheels and the tow hook, not to mention the 4 wheel drive. I think that Renault were certainly onto a winner here. Real shame that the Fidji model is going to be the last of the RX4s, a fantastic vehicle...I'm keeping hold of mine..

7th Feb 2006, 18:00

Although I have not owned a Fiji model, I owned the 1.9 DCI Sport Alize version. It's a great mover for a car of this size, very comfortable, even with 4 kids in the back. Very spacious boot and not to mention great pulling power.

The RX4 is a well designed car, looks great, and sounds great over 2000 revs. This car moves with great ease and is one of the best cars I have owned.

2003 Renault Scenic Fidji RX4 1.9 DCI from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.9 DCI Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance3000 miles
Previous carRenault Scenic

Summary:

Spacious, reliable, flexible, comfortable and economical to own

Faults:

Small water leak in the boot, other than that nothing, although not too many miles yet.

General Comments:

This car was purchased as a replacement for my 3 year old, 43000 mile Scenic Sport Alize 1.6 16v, this car ran totally trouble free all of the time I had it and apart from a few minor rattles, performed extremely well. I found the fuel economy on long distance driving to be up to 44mpg, the best I achieved being 47mpg. I would personally recommend the Scenic as a good family car, that is the reason I bought another one.

To date my new RX4 Fidji DCI is returning 42mpg on average peaking to 45mpg, I have not experienced the body roll reported by some other owners. I would however agree that the engine becomes a little noisy, although not excessively so at motorway speeds.

I am also a little concerned at the lack of a spare wheel cover and the effect that U.V. from the sun will affect the tyre rubber over a long time.

I like the part Alcantara upholstery and it doesn't have the same rattles at a very early age that my last Scenic did.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th May, 2003

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 13 reviews