1987 Skoda Rapid 130 Coupe 1.3 from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Wonderful who has the last laugh

Faults:

Needed a new gearbox, one found at a Skoda specialist for £100 fitted at 50,000 miles.

Electrical problem when all gauges stopped working and the engine wouldn't tickover, found to be one fuse blown!!

General Comments:

Skoda, now who has the last laugh? Bought the car from a Skoda main dealer for £195 with a full MOT, ran it until May 2001 when I traded it in for a newer car. Never enjoyed a car so much, excellent handling as well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd May, 2001

1988 Skoda Rapid 130 G 1.3 from Malta

Summary:

Look after your Skoda and it will never let you down

Faults:

Nothing. The Rapid just never missed a beat.

General Comments:

The Rapid was my first car and it has been an excellent everyday transport. Besides it I now own a Rapid Cabrio, an S110R (under restoration) and a Mk.1 Estelle 105L.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd December, 2000

1988 Skoda Rapid 136 1.3 from UK and Ireland

Summary:

For a small cc car it has great performance, cheap economy and deserves a full thumbs up!!!

Faults:

Generally carburation, starter motor, master cylinder, clutch master and rear slaves.

Most of the problems were due to the car standing in my yard for a year and a half.

General Comments:

My Skoda has been lowered so it handles great on corners. The engine - I would give top marks for acceleration and economy, the car is very easy to service and very cheap as well.

I rebuilt the starter motor for £0.10 (the electricity to run the drill).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th August, 2000

21st Jul 2001, 13:09

What kit did you use to lower your Skoda?

1988 Skoda Rapid 136 1.3 from UK and Ireland

Faults:

Head gasket. All year antifreeze/inhibitor is a must for these alloy head engines otherwise corrosion sets in and the head gasket blows. Carb needed setting up to achieve a good emissions/mpg/idling compromise.

General Comments:

More fun than a Mini Cooper. Handling on dry roads is excellent. On wet roads it's good but you need to concentrate! Performance is a puzzle. The engine spec is nothing to shout about but hell does it go! Typically 35 mpg on lead replacement petrol for my 58 miles per day commute. Unleaded can be used but advice varies so I'm playing safe. The 136 head was developed for the Favorit so some engine spares have to be for the later vehicle. Hugely underrated.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th July, 2000

1988 Skoda Rapid 136 1.3 petrol from Malta

Summary:

If you cannot afford a Porsche 911 buy a Rapid

Faults:

Not much! Some overheating problems, it is not unusual for temperatures to reach 40C in the shade here. Coolant thermostat needs changing every couple of years. Blown cylinder head gasket after eight years.

General Comments:

An excellent car if comfort is not your main priority. Not much luggage space and not much head and leg room on the rear seat. Otherwise highly recommended. Handling is very good and road holding with 185/60/13 tyres is very impressive. Looks good too.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th March, 2000

1988 Skoda Rapid 130 G 1.3 petrol from UK and Ireland

Faults:

A mysterious hole appeared in the fuel hose, causing it to break down 4 times before it was discovered, otherwise this vehicle has been ultra reliable.

I do over 30 miles a day, everyday, and it never misses a beat. Cheap to repair at main dealers. True budget motoring.

General Comments:

This is a much underated true coupe. It is worth owning, if only on its timeless looks alone. It will also carry 5 passengers in absolute comfort. It effortlessly scoots along at 80 MPH all day if need be. At that speed, the cabin is surprisingly quiet. The handling is very predictable once you know how to drive one. Goodyear tyres a must for wet driving. Avoid cheap tyres, and make sure all wheel pressures are correct. Great coupe.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th June, 1999

1989 Skoda Rapid 136 Sport 1.3 petrol from UK and Ireland

Faults:

Blown head gasket, carb needed cleaning (stalled when should be idling). Tyres needed inner-tubes putting in after slightly-rusted alloys started cutting a little into the tyre.

General Comments:

Fairly nippy when it wants to be - at times has a 'turbo-style' lag when accelerating with foot hard down. Not so good at speeds above 70mph, but excellent for minor roads. Also, this car has the best handling out of any car I've driven, and this makes it a pleasure to drive.

You may lose them on the straights, but you'll definitely catch 'em round the corners..

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th May, 1999