2005 Subaru Legacy Reviews - Page 3 of 3

2005 Subaru Legacy R 2.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance43000 miles
Previous carMazda 6

Summary:

Excellent and strangely rare

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

This is a company supplied car and has done high mileage, mainly at speed.

Handling is superb although the 2.0 engine is underpowered. I would have liked the 2.5 but couldn't afford the tax!

One negative is that the interior plastics are very easy to mark and not easy to clean.

Economy is not great with permanent 4wd, but will hit 40mpg on a motorway run.

I also like the scarcity value. Mine is the only saloon I have seen in the UK in 15 months! Makes me feel I know something others don't.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd June, 2006

2005 Subaru Legacy Sedan 2.5L from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.5L Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.0 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance35000 miles
Previous carLincoln Mark VIII

Summary:

Stay away from Subaru !

Faults:

Driver's side power window stopped working at 600 miles. Radio quit working 2 weeks after I took delivery. Engine developed cooling system head gasket leaks at 31,000 miles. Air conditioning takes 15 minutes to cool down car in 85°+ weather.

Dealer warranty fixed all except poor performing A/C. Getting approval and parts lead-times for Dealer Warranty service experience was like having root canal and/or wisdom teeth removed.

General Comments:

This was my first and thankfully my last Subaru Automobile.

Subaru is the most incompetent car company I have ever had the displeasure of doing business with. Their Customer and Dealer Service is horrible.

I will never look at another Japanese car if Subaru is any example.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd May, 2006

29th Mar 2007, 23:37

It is unfortunate that you have had such a hard time, but usually the Legacy is problem free, and can be made faster for very little money. Perhaps you will next time think about the fact that not every car that comes off the assembly line is exactly the same.

2005 Subaru Legacy Limited Wagon 2.5 from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.5 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired15 miles
Most recent distance2650 miles
Previous carMercury Mountaineer

Summary:

Great car with different back rest

Faults:

Drivers back rest has real bad contours. Gave me back problems. Had two power lumbars installed. Made it better, but still not good enough. I had to trade the car in. Bang for the buck this is a great wagon except for the back rest. The Impreza's are also like this. Battery had to be jumped by me three times. Dealer found no problems.

General Comments:

If you have any back problems - do not purchase this car. It has power seats that I thought I would be able to find a sweet spot. I didn't. I'm driving and Audi Allroad that rides great. I also like the C & E class Mercedes for my back, but not the BMW (3 & 5 series) not the Jaguar.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 11th February, 2006

28th Mar 2006, 04:53

I couldn't agree more. I had the standard 2.0R wagon which is a fantastic vehicle to drive, except for the awful seating. I'm 6'-5" and suddenly started getting back problems every time I drove it for one hour plus. In the end I sold it and bought a Mondeo - back problem immediately went!

2005 Subaru Legacy 3.0 LTD spec.B 3.0 petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.0 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance250 kilometres
Previous carVolkswagen Passat

Summary:

Excellent

Faults:

Nil.

General Comments:

Excellent quality and build. Superb ride and handling. Running costs high as maintenance intervals are short (i.e. 5,000km first service then 10,000km after) and 3.0 engine thirsty. Cabin spec fantastic with the best audio system (McIntosh) I've heard in any car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th December, 2005

1st Jan 2006, 22:04

I think you need to spend more than 250 km behind the wheel before writing a review.

The 5000 km service is free (Check for coupon in your service booklet) except for parts/fluids, so if you provide the oil of your choice the grand total of your service will be the cost of oil filter & drain plug, which is probably less the a couple of pints from your local.

10K service intervals are nothing unusual, 15K is too long in my opinion.

2005 Subaru Legacy GT 2.5 turbo from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.5 turbo Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired21 miles
Most recent distance3000 miles
Previous carSubaru Outback

Summary:

A stunning car at a reasonable price

Faults:

No trouble at all yet. Not even a rattle.

General Comments:

This car is a great all around performer. The turbocharged 2.5 liter engine is suited perfectly to the thin air in Colorado. The all-wheel drive is simply amazing any time the road surface is less than ideal. The interior is tastefully designed and well put together. This car is very quiet and comfortable when cruising around town. Step hard on the gas and this car will instantly respond. The performance capability of this car is stunning! All this for a very reasonable price. My Last Subaru was trouble free for 145,000 miles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd August, 2005

15th Jan 2006, 22:14

I just bought an '06 GT and in 2000 miles have been very happy with it. The only problem I've had is a glove box that is a little tough to close, but I am sure it's just an adjustment. All and all an amazing, fast and comfortable car, worth every penny!

2005 Subaru Legacy 2.5i wagon 2.5i B4 from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.5i B4 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired25 miles
Most recent distance1300 miles
Previous carAudi TT

Summary:

Very impressive all around

Faults:

Tires would not stay in balance and the dealership kept failing to balance them properly. I solved the problem by purchasing a another set of wheels and tires... bigger and stickier. Overall the car is beautifully designed and assembled.

General Comments:

The only short comings on this car is a high clutch engagement and the most uncomfortable seats I have ever experienced. Having owned a WRX the refinement of the Legacy is welcomed, but the performance of the WRX is missed. The GT model was a little out of my price range at the time and having to use 93 octane is a bummer considering I drive 650 miles per week. I enjoy the great gas mileage these days over winning stop light drag races.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th May, 2005

21st Jun 2005, 14:17

Steven.

The uncormfortable seats explained in detail as requested: I have isolated the uncomfortable part of the seat to the "seat" part exactly where my skinny rear-end is situated. Lumbar is good as is thigh support.

Wheel/Tire balance problem was corrected. it was isolated to the right rear tire. The tires are the stock Potenza R92's...no, the dealer did not check the wheel balance without the tire.

Hope this satisfies your curiosity. Thanks for your comments.

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 16 reviews