1987 Toyota Celica Reviews - Page 8 of 8

1987 Toyota Celica GT 2.0 Liter DOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 Liter DOHC Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired185000 miles
Most recent distance188000 miles

Summary:

Is a great running sports car with a few minor performance upgrades

Faults:

The flex pipe running from behind the catalyst was rotted and had to be replaced.

Front struts went bad.

Sunroof panel is rusting.

General Comments:

This car is very quick until you hit fourth gear and then it gets really sluggish.

Wheels are too small.(13 in.)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th April, 2002

1987 Toyota Celica GT 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired110000 miles
Most recent distance285000 miles
Previous carBMW 3 Series

Summary:

A long lasting reliable, yet affordable rocket

Faults:

My father spun the car into a curb and the rim bent. The rim costs way too much.

An oil leak started at 250,000 miles. But it still doesn't effect the cars performance.

General Comments:

This car is so fast for a little four cylinder.

It handles like a dream.

This vehicle has to be the easiest to handle I've ever had.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd April, 2002

1987 Toyota Celica GT-S 2.0 twin cam from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 twin cam Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired220000 kilometres
Most recent distance268000 kilometres
Previous carDodge Dakota

Summary:

Very nice car if well maintained, I give it two thumbs up

Faults:

Clutch, have not replaced it, but I need to soon.

Master cylinder is leaking badly.

Baked my engine at about 255,000 kilometers from over revving.

Replaced water pump and radiator.

Gone through several sets of tires due to heavy foot.

Body rusting on rear quarter panels.

Windows not air tight.

General Comments:

I have had my car for almost a year and even after all that is listed above I have no regrets.

The car has very good fuel economy even at high speeds.

The car is very fast off the line and has very good handling and a high top end. I have had it to 200 kilometers per hour.

For a small car I find the interior very comfortable. Lot's of leg room in the driver and passenger seats.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th January, 2002

1987 Toyota Celica GT-S 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired153000 kilometres
Most recent distance231000 kilometres
Previous carNissan 300ZX

Summary:

A fast and reliable front runner

Faults:

It leaked oil when I first got it @153K. Had the oil and seal gasket replaced.

Most recently got the alternator, clutch, & battery replaced.

The car is very hot in summer because there is no air conditioning.

Winter driving is great. Starts every time!

General Comments:

Fast, reliable, cheap on gas,& less than 5% rust on the entire car.

Minimal wear & tear.

Runs like new with no leaks.

Adjustable lumbar support makes the car very comfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th September, 2001

1987 Toyota Celica GT 2.0 3SF-E from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 3SF-E Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired159678 miles
Most recent distance167267 miles

Summary:

It is everything I ever wanted in a car

Faults:

The radiator was shot when I bought the car.

I replaced the radiator with a used radiator.

The passenger door handle fell in the door.

General Comments:

The car is seriously quick and handles like it's on rails.

However the interior is very gloomy.

The seats were very comfortable.

The power sunroof was a real big in making the car more comfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th July, 2001

15th Aug 2001, 20:00

Yes, those silly bottom plastic moldings always scrape, and it drives me crazy. The front one finally fell off. My other complaint is that to me, the seats are very uncomfortable.

Lastly, when it is very hot outside, and I've been driving for a while, she won't restart for 30 minutes. I've taken my car to 4-5 mechanics, and they haven't a clue as to why this happens.

On a more positive note: I've owned my 87' since 1997, and it's been the best used car I've ever owned. The only major problem I ever had was with the fuel injectors.

I'm creeping up on 200,000 miles, and she is starting to show her age. She is starting to make creeking noises, and overheat badly. And, because I moved to Utah from California, is starting to slightly rust.

I'm now looking for a toyota station wagon, and will soon make a tearful goodbye to my "Beatrice."

1987 Toyota Celica GTi 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired112000 miles
Most recent distance128000 miles
Previous carFord Orion

Summary:

Power and class for a 13 year old

Faults:

Burst radiator one week after purchase.

General Comments:

For a car with 128,000 miles on the clock it still can pull 135mph.

Recently Crypton tuned, the guy told me the engine was in better condition than a 5 year old Sierra with 48,000 on it which he had tuned that morning.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th August, 2000

1987 Toyota Celica GT 2.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired98000 miles
Most recent distance110000 miles
Previous carLancia Delta

Summary:

Good sporty comfy car

Faults:

Nothing so far -- well apart from a fuse blowing on the electric aerial.

General Comments:

A good fun drive, reasonably quick for a bog standard auto 2 litre. The back end can be a bit twitchy in the wet even with Dunlop Sports all round.

My other car is a BMW 520i and the Celica is definitely quicker on acceleration (not that the Beemer is slow).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th July, 2000

1987 Toyota Celica GT 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired171639 miles
Most recent distance181745 miles
Previous carFord F100

Summary:

A quick, comfortable ride with excellent space and options

Faults:

Previous owner changed oil only every 20,000 miles. Engine began knocking at 175,000 miles or so. Power steering rack also malfunctioned. Otherwise, excellent car.

General Comments:

I've had this car for almost a year and I absolutely love it. I have had the engine rebuilt and powersteering completely replaced. It is an excellent car made by an excellent company. The engine itself lasted longer than I had expected given its previous treatment. Overall, an exceptional car and I plan to keep this one as well as purchase others.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th March, 2000

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 28 reviews