1991 Toyota Corolla Reviews - Page 10 of 10

1991 Toyota Corolla Base 1.6L DOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6L DOHC Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired73000 kilometres
Most recent distance165000 kilometres

Summary:

A cheap reliable compact car

Faults:

The battery died after seven years.

The starter died after seven years.

The timing belt is needed to change after 160,000 kilometers.

The head gasket has oil leak after 160,000 kilometers.

General Comments:

This car came with the most basic accessories.

It doesn't have air conditioning.

Therefore, driving in summer is pretty hot.

With a soft suspension, and thick tires (original 155/80R13) it gives a pretty comfortable ride.

Because of the soft suspension and thick tires, the body roll is quite serious when you turn.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st July, 2002

1991 Toyota Corolla CSi Seca Liftback 1.6 EFI from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 EFI Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired233732 kilometres
Most recent distance252101 kilometres

Summary:

Trustworthy friend

Faults:

Squeaky brakes.

General Comments:

The seats are a little uncomfortable. However this car is unbelievable value. It never breaks down and is still going after 1/4 million kilometres. All the interior parts are easy to replace especially the stereo system. Fuel economy is excellent and running costs are low. I recommend this car to anyone in the market for a cheap Toyota.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th June, 2002

14th Oct 2008, 23:05

Totally. I got myself a seca Csi Limited (my first car). Flippin love it. Add to the 'things that might go wrong list", the alternator usually goes at some point, I just replaced mine, but that's all I've had to replace, and it's got 240000 on the clock. Fuel efficient, it's got some beef in the engine department, well, I have a CAI on mine, so it goes a bit better but yeah, great car.

1991 Toyota Corolla GTi-16 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired99000 miles
Most recent distance106000 miles
Previous carToyota Yaris

Summary:

High Power with full electrics 10ys ago

Faults:

The rear tail lights suffer from water leak.. This is can be easily sorted with 5 minutes work.

General Comments:

This car was produced in two model's early spec and late spec. stick with the late spec. This has extra power in the engine and a better interior.

For it's age and engine size this car is very fast. Beating most 2.0l of today. It need to be revved to gain the extra power.

The whole car is built well, the seats and dash are A1, 11 years later. Just watch for rust on unloved car's under the arches and by the sunroof.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th May, 2002

1991 Toyota Corolla 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired30 miles
Most recent distance204000 miles
Previous carSubaru Wagon

Summary:

A workhorse of a car and very reliable

Faults:

I have not had any significant problems with this car & I have replaced a number of parts that one would expect to wear out after 110,000 miles, like the clutch, brakes, water pump, hoses, etc.

General Comments:

Since 10,000 miles, this car is jerky when first driving it when the engine is cold.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th September, 2001

1991 Toyota Corolla GTS 140 hp from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 140 hp Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired160000 kilometres
Most recent distance160000 kilometres

Summary:

You couldn't be happier if you are on a limited budget

Faults:

Nothing serious at all, but I have only had it a little while.

General Comments:

This is an EXCELLENT, reliable car. It has nice performance features on it too. Overall it is a great car for performance, gas mileage, looks, and even more than any of them is reliability.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th June, 2001

1991 Toyota Corolla SR5 Coupe 1.6L from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6L Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired56000 miles
Most recent distance62000 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

Great car for the money and reliable transporation

Faults:

With low miles at the time of purchase I have only performed normal maintenance. At 60,000 miles I changed the timing belt, drive belts, filters and brakes.

General Comments:

No rust on my car as earlier Toyotas did. Still a solid car for being 10 years old. Still achieving gas mileage close to 36 on the highway. Also the interior is still in good shape.

Most parts such as bumper covers and light replacements are only available at a dealer so costs for repair will be high if an accident does occur.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th January, 2001

1991 Toyota Corolla 1.3i 12v gasoline from Bulgaria

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1999
Engine and transmission 1.3i 12v gasoline Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired75000 kilometres
Most recent distance110000 kilometres
Previous carMazda 323 (1982)

Summary:

An excellent car. Will buy another if I need to

Faults:

I changed the brake discs, and part of the exhaust system.

General Comments:

Small in the back seats and has a little small trunk, but it is an excellent and economical car.

The only thing is that I find the radius of the turns VERY large. But that's all.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st October, 2000

1991 Toyota Corolla All Trac Wagon from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1990
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance176000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Beretta

Summary:

I got my money's worth out of it!

Faults:

Just normal wear and tear items.

General Comments:

I learned to drive a stick on this car and it still has its original clutch!

The car has never not started on me and it has always gotten me where I needed to go.

Even without the all wheel drive engaged it was still great in the snow!

My husband thinks it's hard to service (he does the work himself, oil, etc). But it's still running great!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th September, 2000

1991 Toyota Corolla GTI 16v 1.6 16v petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1991
Engine and transmission 1.6 16v petrol
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10

Faults:

Nothing during my period of ownership. Has now covered 70,000miles of which I have done the last 25,000.

General Comments:

Superb dealers if a little expensive.

Power delivery is a bit peaky but I can't complain about the flat out performance.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th February, 1998

Average review marks: 8.2 / 10, based on 43 reviews