Toyota Sequoia Reviews - Page 7 of 10

2002 Toyota Sequoia SR5 4.7L V8 from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.7L V8 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance18600 miles
Previous carFord Explorer

Summary:

Priced to high for the problems

Faults:

I read another review someone wrote and I agree.

My transmission seems to lunge into second and third gear and my brake vibrate something awful.

General Comments:

This car is enjoyable although I have those few troubles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 14th June, 2004

29th Oct 2006, 21:49

Regarding your brakes vibrating, have you considered having the rotors turned? At least take it in and have a qualified mechanic look at the brakes. Most likely the rotors are warped and just need to be turned. This is not an expensive procedure.

2002 Toyota Sequoia Limited 4x4 5.7 from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 5.7 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance52500 miles
Previous carChrysler Town and Country

Summary:

Super SUV!

Faults:

Rear wiper stopped working.

Rear defroster stopped working.

General Comments:

This has been one of the best vehicles I have ever owned.

I have not had it in the shop, but one time in 52500 miles.

Total cost of all repairs has been $35.

The only thing I have done is replaced the tires and changed the oil.

My only complaint is that it lacks a NAV system and is not "plush" enough.

If you want a SUV that eats up the highway with little effort, this is the one.

The only other negative things I have with it are poor gas mileage, and the clock is set too low to be of much use.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th February, 2004

2002 Toyota Sequoia SR5 V8 from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission V8 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance25000 miles
Previous carIsuzu Trooper

Summary:

Not worth the money

Faults:

Transmission went out. It seemed to race or skip gears on occasion. It was so intermittent that it was hard to identify, until the check engine light went on. Dealer replaced transmission.

Brakes went out, vibrating. Brake were replaced by dealer, in June 2003.

Booster was needed for the brakes. Dealer replaced in October 2003.

Driver's side door handle cracked and needed replacement.

In February 2004 new brake pads needed, only six months later and less than 9,000 miles later.

February 2004 check engine light goes on again, problem to be identified.

General Comments:

Third seat is handy and the ride is nice, however, not sure it's worth the money. I would seriously hesitate in buying this car again. Not sure if I got a lemon, just wish it were reliable. This last trip to the dealer makes for the sixth time it has been in the shop.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 6th February, 2004

28th Sep 2004, 22:34

It sounds like your dealer handled all the needed repairs professionally. No car is perfect. I've been in the automotive repair business (not Toyota) for 25 years. You would be amazed at all the issues we see in new vehicles. I will not expose my brand, but I can tell you its European and very far from perfect. The dealer and manufactures responsiveness is what really matters. Owners expectations seem to rise with the ever growing vehicle complexity and price. This is understandable, but not always met. It sounds like you are dealing with relatively minor issues. Trust me, it could be far worse!

2001 Toyota Sequoia Limited 5.7L. V8 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 5.7L. V8 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired30 miles
Most recent distance67000 miles
Previous carToyota 4Runner

Summary:

A poorly designed vehicle with lots of braking problems

Faults:

Front brakes wear out prematurely.

Service brake light comes on intermittantly.

Anti-skid light come on for no reason.

Engine hesitates or almost quits on turns.

General Comments:

Toyota has a service campaign for the brake system, but won't cover after 36,000 miles. This campaign is to improve the brake actuators in the front, which cause warping of the rotors and a severe vibration. The fix is over $2000 to the owner when Toyota refuses to fix this problem. Decreased braking function also occurs because of this problem.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th November, 2003

10th May 2004, 21:20

I bought a 2003 Sequoia and I took my car to the dealer today for the 15,000 miles service. They told me that the front brakes were gone and I had to replace the pads. Is this common on these trucks? Don't you think 15k is nothing for brakes to completely wear?

Let me know what the industry says.

Ernesto J. Marin

emarinl@cs.com.

24th Nov 2004, 00:16

I took my 2001 Sequoia to a dealer for maintenance recently and the service adviser recommended a brake upgrade even thought my Sequoia only has about 16,000 miles on it. He said it would be done at no cost to me, but I didn't have time to do it on that day. I called back later on that day for an appointment to have it done and was told that since my warranty had expired three months ago, I would have to pay for the upgrade myself. The service adviser also said that I might or might not have any problems with the brakes. Any advice?

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 34 reviews