Toyota Sequoia Reviews - Page 8 of 10

2002 Toyota Sequoia Limited V8 from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission V8 Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance44000 miles
Previous carToyota Sienna

Summary:

An expensive unreliable vehicle

Faults:

It shakes while driving.

It feels like something is dragging.

It often goes dead when I apply the brakes.

Driving at a speed of 40 or higher will cause the vehicle to shake.

It sounds like something is about to fall from underneath the vehicle while driving it.

General Comments:

We love the comfort and room that the Sequoia affords.

However, as we never know if we will make it to our final destination, this causes us to fell ill at ease.

This car is not very reliable.

I don't feel safe in it at all.

It leaves us wondering what will happen next.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th November, 2003

28th Sep 2006, 15:08

If you vehicle starts shaking at 40 MPH and up, I would look at your wheel balance. I fought with this for sometime before it was finally resolved. Oddly, it took a random trip to Tires Plus to remedy the problem. Apparently there is a special adapter (cone) the fits the aluminum wheels on the Sequoia which most places do not seem to have. Even the tire place that my local Toyota dealer farms their tire work out to didn't have the right part.

Call around and specifically ask if they can balance Toyota Sequoia wheels, while mentioning the problems you have had.

2001 Toyota Sequoia Limited Edition 6 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 6 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 miles
Most recent distance75000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Suburban

Summary:

This vehicle is not worth the sticker price

Faults:

The braking system has been a problem since 12,000 miles. I replace the brakes approximately every 12,000 miles and have continual problems with the braking system. The car actually shakes when I apply the brakes.

In addition, the track warning light goes on and off continually along with the brake lights.

The dealer has not been able to fix the problem.

Lastly, the power window in the rear of the vehicle has not worked since 38,000 miles.

Very unhappy with this vehicle @ 40,000 miles. Would not recommend.

General Comments:

Concerned with safe braking.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th September, 2003

24th Oct 2003, 15:24

Steven.

We bought a Toyota Sequoia in 2001. We also have the same problem that you have been having with the brakes and the Track light and brake light coming on and staying on. We have taken it to the dealership 7 time since we purchased it and it is still going on. We contacted the Lemon Law. Hopefully it will be fixed.

2002 Toyota Sequoia SR5 4.7 iforce V8 from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.7 iforce V8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance10500 miles
Previous carMercedes-Benz M-Class

Summary:

A solid SUV that could benefit from further refinement

Faults:

Transmission replaced under warranty. Shifting is still erratic. Example: slow from 35 mph to 3 mph, then accelerate. There is a delay while the engine revs slightly, and then a lunge forward. It acts like the transmission doesn't know what gear to be in at first, then figures it out.

General Comments:

Uncomfortable front seats; Limited seats said to be better. Superbly spacious and quiet interior. Excellent 3rd row seat. Good ride. Steering too light at highway speeds. Good 4WD off-road. Gas mileage OK; averaging 15-16 mpg on Regular. Stupid Americanized pedal type parking brake and column gear shift. Interior design a bit spartan for the price, but acceptable. Overall, a smart choice in a big SUV.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 11th July, 2003

4th May 2005, 17:39

You don't say whether this vehicle is a 4 wheel drive or 2 wheel drive. That would help.

6th Apr 2006, 12:26

He says in the second paragraph "Good 4WD off-road"

So there's your answer.

2003 Toyota Sequoia Limited 4.7L V8 from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.7L V8 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired400 miles
Most recent distance5600 miles
Previous carToyota Tundra

Summary:

Not worth it so far

Faults:

Vibration in the transmission.

General Comments:

I have had the vehicle (Limited) for a little over 2 months now. The vehicle transmission has a vibration coming through the floor. It is worse at 35 miles an hour and is cyclical. It hums constantly when costing as 35 miles/hour. It is independent of whether you step on the gas or not. It is extremely annoying. I brought it in twice for this issue. The first time (1 week after I picked it up), the mechanic had no clue and nothing was done. The second time (2 months after I picked up), they said it was normal … yeah right. Toyota screwed up and they do not know how to fix it. The dealer said there were no bulletins on the issue, but customers have been complaining. No kidding... As far as I'm concerned, a vehicle with a sticker of $48,000 should be perfect. This is my fourth Toyota and it might be my last if they do not come up with something to fix this.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 4th June, 2003

14th Jun 2003, 17:30

No car, at any cost, should be perfect. Your problem has likely not duplicated itself because it does not exist. In the two times you had the vehicle in the shop, did you ever road test it with the mechanic to isolate the problem? Did you ever ask to test it with a like vehicle to see if it really was common, or just in yours? Did you ever try another dealer to seek a better mechanic? I would suggest making more of an effort to rectify the "problem" before judging the product, since you did pay such a great sum of money for it.

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 34 reviews