2006 Toyota Sienna Reviews

2006 Toyota Sienna LTD AWD from North America

Year of manufacture2006
Engine and transmission  

Summary:

Average, too many factory issues

Faults:

Run flat tires worn out at 40k.

Aluminium rims' paint peeled off in the 3rd year.

Disappointed with the towing capacity. The dealer implied I could tow a fair sized Camper. It's good for 3000lbs total tow.

Siennas with a towing hitch have the hitch sitting very low. Hits the ground or driveway frequently.

General Comments:

Comfortable ride.

Will not consider/recommend a Sienna ever again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 21st August, 2013

2006 Toyota Sienna 3.3 from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 3.3 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired10 kilometres
Most recent distance58000 kilometres
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Nice, but very disappointed with the brakes and tires!!

Faults:

Premature tire wear.

Premature brake wear.

General Comments:

This vehicle is nicely laid out and nice to drive.

I have experience premature wear on tires, had to be replaced at 40,000 km.

Now I am having to replace brakes at 58,000 km. Have never had to replace brakes with such low mileage!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 16th June, 2011

2006 Toyota Sienna LX from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance57000 miles

Summary:

We love it

Faults:

Nothing.

Just changed the front brake pads for the first time, because the brake wear sensors started squeaking horrible (by design to warn the driver).

General Comments:

We love it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th May, 2010

2006 Toyota Sienna All wheel drive from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance45000 miles
Previous carFord Explorer

Summary:

Don't buy it

Faults:

We are now having our third problem with the run flat tires. They are extremely expensive to fix - even if you can find them when you get a flat in the middle of nowhere.

Given our other experiences with this car - replacement of a defective car door for example - combined with the recall, it will be a long time before we look at Toyota again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd February, 2010

16th Oct 2011, 20:31

Comment 11:46 is correct. Toyota and Honda both have been falling in quality like a brick for a decade or more. Modern domestics all offer more reliable vehicles, and far better build quality and sophistication. Kia is good, but you are still sending your money to a foreign company rather than helping our own economy.

6th Jan 2014, 21:29

The Toyota you are complaining about is made in Indiana and designed in California. It is domestic.

2006 Toyota Sienna LE AWD V6 from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired80 miles
Most recent distance44000 miles
Previous carToyota 4Runner

Summary:

Would not purchase another one, considering Kia

Faults:

Run flat tires did not even last for 11,000 miles.

Alloy rims are falling apart and deteriorating.

General Comments:

This is the third Toyota I have owned, and it's not holding up like the prior vehicles. Very poor tire and rims put on this vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th December, 2009

10th Dec 2009, 11:46

Why on Earth would you not consider a much more reliable domestic brand? Toyota has been going down the tube for a decade.

10th Dec 2009, 16:21

If the rims and tires are your only complaint, whats the big deal? That's gonna steer you from Toyota to a KIA? Just buy aftermarket custom rims and tires. It would be the engine or transmission failing that would be a big deal to me!

BTW, check out Consumer Reports and this website as well if you're considering a Sedona, they're not doing so well.

15th Oct 2011, 17:54

Had a Grand Caravan with lots of transmission issues, then I bought a used Honda Odyssey with the thought I would be good for a long time; big mistake I've learned later. At 100k miles, had to change the timing belt, along with water pump, seals, tensioner, cost 1770$, and nearly 20k miles after, we had to change the transmission, 2900$, sold it, and now I have a Sienna. I would have liked to complain about TIRES!, Ahh well!

2006 Toyota Sienna AWD XLE from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance80000 miles
Previous carHonda Odyssey

Summary:

Poor design for a lot of money

Faults:

We have had to change our tires every year. The first run-flats only lasted 1 year. The second set kept blowing out. The third set of tires were not run-flats, but they only lasted one year also. I am now on my fourth set of tires.

General Comments:

I would not buy another van from Toyota.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 12th February, 2009

2006 Toyota Sienna LE AWG from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission Automatic

Summary:

Do not buy a Sienna

Faults:

I have 2006 Sienna AwG, and a run flat tire went out with loud sound at 15k miles.

General Comments:

Local Toyota service told me this is Toyota engineering design issue and cannot be solved even by changing to regular tires - I need to be prepared to replace the tires every 30k miles, regardless what tires I buy. What a BAD design. I wrote here to advise buyers; DO NOT buy a Sienna unless you are prepared to replace new tires every a few K miles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 24th January, 2009

Average review marks: 8.1 / 10, based on 14 reviews