Vauxhall Insignia Reviews - Page 2 of 5

2010 Vauxhall Insignia CDTi SRi 2.0 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Model year2010
Year of manufacture2010
First year of ownership2012
Most recent year of ownership2012
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo diesel Manual
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Previous carCitroen C5

Summary:

Not bad, looks better than it drives

Faults:

Having bought the car in July 2012, I have found that the gear change in first, second and third is clunky; more of a binding issue, as the gears engage with the drive.

Has anyone else experienced this issue, as the car has only just gone through 40k miles?

In addition, mine pulls left, although it has had the tracking done twice by the dealer!

General Comments:

The car is generally very good, but obviously worried!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 4th December, 2012

2010 Vauxhall Insignia SRi CDTi 160 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Model year2010
Year of manufacture2010
First year of ownership2010
Most recent year of ownership2012
Engine and transmission turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance25000 miles

Summary:

Overrated, with costly repairs

Faults:

Just had a clutch dual mass fly wheel. Have only covered 25,000 miles. Have owned this from new, and never abused it.

New front pads and discs 01/10/2012.

March 2012, new rear disc and pads.

May 2011, had a recall for software, but I believe it was for the power steering pipe to be changed, as they have had some set alight; was on Watchdog, so buy one at your peril.

p.s. The clutch should have been £1600, but is a lease full repair contract, but Vauxhall charged the leasing company.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th October, 2012

10th Oct 2012, 16:47

These have only just been released in Australia under the Opel badge. New clutch and DMF at 25K. Great... think I'll be keeping my Focus for a while yet.

12th Oct 2012, 12:57

Just shows that an ECOTY Award means diddly squat... What a shame, really because the Insignia is a very nice looking car.

10th Nov 2012, 01:31

Unfortunately, the Opel Insignia here in Australia hasn't lost its camber sensitivity that has been commented on by many in the UK, i.e, pulling to the left when releasing the steering wheel in a straight line.

I had a Vauxhall Vectra in England back in 2004, and this car suffered from the camber sensitivity issue, too.

Whilst Opel are free to push their Insignia range as being prestige here in Australia, I don't see any prestige connotations myself, nor will I buying one sometime soon. The driving experience, whilst quick and refined, and far superior to the Vectra, lacks the handling sharpness and driver involvement of a Mazda 6 or Ford Mondeo.

In reality, the Insignia is a rival to Mazda 6, Ford Mondeo, Honda Accord, Hyundai i40 et al.

But what further sullies the case to buy, is the number of clutch and dual mass flywheel failures, brake issues, and an underbonnet fire documented on one example. Vauxhall's responses to such problems is still very, very coy, even dating back to Vectra handbrake failures.

Is this a case of more of the same, despite the Insignia being a demonstrably superior car than the Vectra?

You be the judge.

2009 Vauxhall Insignia SRi 1.8 from UK and Ireland

Model year2009
Year of manufacture2009
First year of ownership2011
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired34000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Vectra

Summary:

Great

Faults:

Computer keeps coming up with an alarm that says A/C off due to engine overheating.

General Comments:

Love it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th May, 2011

2009 Vauxhall Insignia SRi 1.8 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2009
First year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Previous carSAAB 9-3

Faults:

I bought the car in December last year, and have to say I was impressed with it. But after 2 weeks, I could hear a grinding come squeal noise coming from the brakes as I drove. I have taken it into Vauxhall, who said straight away they will change the brake system, as it is a known problem. I will have to wait a week, as they have run out of parts, due to the increase in this problem with other cars. I will keep you all up to date.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 14th January, 2011

2nd Mar 2012, 14:33

Hello. I have a 2012 2.0 CDi SRi Insignia. Took it to Vauxhall. They said they have never seen this before. It could be the brake pads, as they are now made without asbestos. Don't know what to do, as the grinding is getting worse every day, and I've only done 3000 miles. It's driving me mad, as I can now feel it through the pedals. Any ideas?

21st Mar 2013, 22:37

I live in North Cornwall where it is fairly hilly. Allegedly the taxis around here are all on THREE sets of disc pads per year. I used to commute using a Rover SD1 V8 auto. The journey involved a climb to about 300 to 400 feet, then a drop to almost sea level, then another climb. Brake pads would be down to the steel in six months - they are a consumable item!

Way back along I repaired a Telma Retarder brake controller fitted to a stone hauling lorry. The controller had a corroded joint in it. "Wow I'm glad to have that fixed" said the bloke "as without that the brakes only last about a fortnight!"

Note that new cars are put together in a hurry, and it is likely that the brake pad sliders might not be treated with "Coppaslip". A lot of jobs on a new car are actually the responsibility of the dealer.

As to new cars, I can remember a garage getting a brake testing machine when these became part of the MOT (prior to that the brakes were tested on public roads). Several new cars were tried on the testing machine and ALL failed the test! This is because it takes time for the brakes to "bed in".

Where I live, the local Motor Factors supply "Mintex" pads in hologrammed boxes and the pads are very good. Avoid counterfeit parts at all costs.

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 14 reviews