1985 Alfa Romeo 90 sedan 2.5

Summary:

One fantastic car

Faults:

Electrics.

Hydraulic tensioner.

2nd gear crunch (needs good driver).

Power steering rack.

Squeaky brakes.

General Comments:

Has great performance and looks great sounds awesome and has brilliant handling.

A great car for the money.

The best Alfa I have ever driven.

Easy to fix.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th April, 2005

29th Jan 2007, 03:08

I am thinking of buying an alfa 90 and I was wondering about the tranmission. I have taken it for a test drive and noticed the 1st/2nd crunch has anyone had any problems resulting from this?

1985 Alfa Romeo 90 2.5 V6

Summary:

Nicely tuned

Faults:

Needed engine rebuilt, seat adjusters air conditioning, door handles and rear brake calipers not allinged.

General Comments:

Nice car hits 60km per hour in first, 120 in second, and top speed on normal road surface of 226km/h. comfortable seats make driving a pleasure.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th November, 2004

1995 Alfa Romeo 90 inezoine 2.5 V6i

Summary:

A true 80's sports saloon

Faults:

The crunch from first to second .

Not so good shift.

Usual Alfa electrics.

General Comments:

My 90 has full koni suspension and nolothane everywhere so she handles very well.

Jamex intake mods and custom exhaust make the 2.5 sound sweet and gives a little more torque.

All in all, the smoothest V6 I have driven.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 11th June, 2004

4th Nov 2005, 14:52

Are you sure it is not a 1985 (rather than 1995) model year?

1985 Alfa Romeo 90 inezione V6 2.5

Summary:

A real head turner, this car turned me into a rev head!

Faults:

The gears crunch changing into first or second.

Electrical problems.

General Comments:

I bought this car with the knowledge of the Alfa 90's problems, because this car is very powerful, handles brilliantly, looks sporty and has loads of potential.

My car has problems though I am in the process of restoring it and modifying it.

This is a car that I will want to keep for a very long time once I've fixed it.

I love the digital dash, reminds me of the matrix.

Parts can be expensive.

The 90 goes like the clappers.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th January, 2004

1985 Alfa Romeo 90 2.5 injection

Summary:

Absolutely under rated

Faults:

Cam belt de-tensioner oil leak.

Erratic dash electrics.

Electric window switch demons.

Driver's side door magnetic interior light sensor was erratic.

General Comments:

What an absolute joy to drive.

Longreach to Mooloolaba in Queensland, Australia in eleven thoroughly enjoyable hours, and that is a distance of 1200 km.

The transmission is vague and not worthy of such a willing engine. And what an awesome exhaust note.

The balance and agility of this car can only be experienced in a vehicle five times the going price of a 90.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 27th August, 2002

1986 Alfa Romeo 90 V6 2.5i

Faults:

Reverse gear failure, electrics, head gasket failure at 'V', ingnition lock failure, power aerial, radio (branded as Alfa), power steering leak, water pump crack, did I mention electrics?, power seat failure, digital display failure, mysterious and alarming 'all internal and external lighting off' trick at night! Is there enough room left to mention electrics?

General Comments:

Kept me poor for about 3-4 years but I sure enjoyed driving this car. Great engine design and a nice exhaust note. Could hold 1st to 55km, 2nd to 90km and 3rd to 130km before the limiter cut in. Shame about the electrics and the head gasket and the........

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th January, 2000