Datsun 200B Reviews from Australia and New Zealand

1978 Datsun 200B Deluxe (Japanese Import) 2.0L SOHC L20B

Year of manufacture1978
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.0L SOHC L20B Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired89000 kilometres
Previous carFord Fairmont

Summary:

Perfection

Faults:

Normal things; heater hose, clutch, ignition coil and transmission.

All of these are normal wear and tear items :) :)

General Comments:

By far the best and most reliable car I have ever owned, my Datsun is a 78 Japanese import 200B Deluxe. The main differences between this and the Australian spec is the Borg Warner transmission, IRS :) :), better suspension, different front end and a much much better interior.

This car is absolutely beautiful and very fast. Take my word, I’ve beaten VN Calais and old V8's; it absolutely hammers and it's stock!!!

I love my Datsun and wouldn't trade anything else for it; in my eyes its the best car ever made :)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th February, 2008

1978 Datsun 200B GL 2L 4 cylinder

Year of manufacture1978
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2L 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired107600 kilometres
Most recent distance197500 kilometres
Previous carVolkswagen Komby

Summary:

It's the best car I have had since my VW Komby

Faults:

Not a lot really besides a flat battery and the brakes needed some minor work. Other than that, the car looks new.

General Comments:

The car is quick reliable and seems to never want to stop. Even when the tyres are a little low, I can get em spinning.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd December, 2007

1977 Datsun 200B 2L petrol

Year of manufacture1977
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2L petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance66000 kilometres
Previous carNissan Pulsar

Summary:

Driving into the ground since 1977!

Faults:

The usual things that wear out have worn out. Diff, clutch, carburetta, starter motor, front suspension are giving me trouble at the moment, but the car still drives reliably.

General Comments:

I got it running from basically a rolling chassis spending about $1000 all up to get it registered, I have driven it for over 60,000 ks and have had very little problems with it. I intend to continue driving it steadily into the ground until it stops.

I have a tow-bar fitted and someone smashed into the back of me while I was stopped in traffic and I drove away with a few small dents on the rear bumper, but the other car had to be towed away. Go the Datto!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th August, 2004

19th May 2005, 07:41

Go the Datsun! I have a 1979 Datsun 200b GX and the thing flies. I have based the paint job on the ford XY GT shaker complete with gt stripes. I love the beast! solid as I only wish they had car clubs for Datsuns. Good work mate!

9th Nov 2005, 17:31

There's an old saying '...200B...a 180B with 20 more mistakes.'

1st Dec 2005, 00:47

Hello All, I have a 1978 Datsun GX, the car is so cool I love the beast, on the highways I have got it up to 180 kph and that is running the standard L20B engine and carburettor. Now I have two the other is for spares because the body is rusted, but the engine is solid. I also have been rammed from behind whilst at a set of lights, I drove off and the other car was towed written off. I love my Datsun and so does the wife. (that’s what counts)

21st Jul 2006, 03:38

I built a Datsun 200b and spent about 15000 bucks. I had to sell due to marriage commitments. I have now had the opportunity to buy it back and I am so happy. They are a great car. They are unstoppable and go forever.

28th Jan 2012, 21:30

Datsun 200B GL Sedan 3spd Auto.

My father owed a 1977 Datsun 200B. He bought it as a new car in 1977, and it finally went away on a tow truck to car haven at the end of 2011. Never exchanged hands, always remained within the one family. The car has always run well, and the motor let us down, had the usual flat battery and had to replace the auto transmission. The car went on and on. Pity the car had to go due to too much rust; the car was becoming unroadworthy, but if the body was better, surely the car would had kept going for many more years... Long live the Datsun 200B!

1970 Datsun 200B A small one

Year of manufacture1970
First year of ownership1992
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission A small one Automatic
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired600000 kilometres
Most recent distance850000 kilometres

Summary:

Sluggish 70's econobox :)

Faults:

The water hose broke and the engine overheated, I fixed the hose and put new radiator fluid in it, really quickly. The engine's head cracked (That was my fault, not the cars)

Other than that only stuff like flat batteries and tires.

General Comments:

Basically, A sluggish 70's econobox (I didn't say they were bad) A good car for someone with not a lot of money and no will to by an old school V8. Not the best looker around, and has a hard time reaching speeds above 90, but otherwise a fine vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th January, 2004

30th Jun 2005, 21:11

I now have two Dato's and both are in good condition. Both are stock and reach max speed of 172Kph. all I have done is clean out the carbie, s. In 10 years of owning them I have spent next to nix. Next project is to put a 13b rotary into one for my son.

10th Jan 2006, 12:28

.. absolutely a decent car mechanically. Parts are cheap and mostly interchangeable with a lot other Dato's/Nissan's keeping the costs down if you get them via wreckers. It's a testament to the original design policy of interchangeability and the engineering in that they still use similar parts today!

15th Jan 2006, 03:58

I agree with the over heating with the L series if you don't put colant in them, as for the 90 as what speed it will do you must be talken about MPH. A DATTO FAN.

9th Oct 2008, 17:30

You can't be serious, my 78 is a beast, it never breaks down after 30 years of loyal service.

Average review marks: 8.3 / 10, based on 4 reviews